We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to just relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New All Inclusive Hotels
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
New York City, New York
1 review
“A great place to just relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's an awesome place to chill, have a few drinks and go to the beach. If you want to do some actual activity, they have a great staff, Julio Liz, one of the activity staff there is awesome. He build a plan for us that was a great workout and also not too much hard that we would be able to relax. All in all the hotel is a great place to relax and recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room to upgrade, bargain a little bit, they might give you a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    220
    77
    21
    25
See reviews for
144
756
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was the 5th time at the Hyatt Zilara and it's not the last, when I reached there with my husband most of the staff ran to greet us with opened hands they are so wonderful people and it's them that make this hotel number one, the hotel itself is very clean and not crowded even thought it was all booked the food is very good and the shows at night are so amazing pool is heated and the beach clean and just wonderful to look at the beautiful blue and turquoise color.Special thanks to Jamie the head bartender always asked us if everything was ok, the wonderful staff Guadaloppe,Wendy, Jesus at spice,and the cleaning lady in the room Gricelda such a wonderful lady kept our room clean,Ivan at the pool such a wonderful man always kept our glasses clean ,thanks to all the staff that made our week a week to remember and thanks to them the Hyatt is the number one hotel I will be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were able to spend a week at the Hyatt Zilara the week of January 18th. We were very impressed! After seven years of trips to all-inclusives (five in Playa, one in Cabo,
one in Punta Cana) we think the service at this resort was the best. The
people that work here are simply very eager to help make sure you trip is
delightful and the property is terrific. I think we've stayed at places
with more dramatic settings and better food, but all around, this was really
one of the best.

Pros:
* Great beach -- miles and miles in either direction; very swimable.
* Awesome pool and beach service
* Comfortable beds/clean rooms
* NEVER felt crowded
* Good food (again, not the best we've had, but extremely good -- you can
tell they try!)
* More booze options than I've ever thought possible
* The shows are fun! First time we actually ever went to a show, and they
made it so convenient. They are very talented and worth the one hour.
* The service was beyond reproach. The employees here are genuine and they
truly seem to want to make sure your vacation is remarkable. Pretty
amazing.
* The buffet and restaurants NEVER felt crowded.
* The coffee shop was an awesome treat throughout the day!

Cons:
* The "cabana issue" on the beach and at the pool. (Read the other
reviews.) We are early risers, and never had an issue, but it is a point of
stress. There has got to be a better way? Also, more shade in general is
needed at the beach - umbrellas or palapas need to be added.
* The rooms above the lobby area are noisy. It's 8pm right now and I'm
listening to the music blaring. Headphones will be on soon. The noise
continues until 10:30 each night.
* Put a couple more snack options in the room? Chips and peanuts were a little repetitive.
*Only a couple of "fine dining" options. We are foodies, but there was
enough variety to keep us happy. We did the buffet a couple nights, which
was simple but very good.

A shout-out to a few stand outs:
Like we said, the service was probably the BEST we have experienced in all
the years we've been doing a winter trip to an all inclusive. But, there
were a few people that stood out. We do this only because I think this
place pays attention to how their employees are doing. We want to call them
out.

* Alejandro and Alan in the coffee shop. Always welcoming us with a smile.
Thanks for all the triple-espresso/chocolate milks and chocolate milk
shakes.
* Daniel and Hector in the buffet. Very attentive and pleasant!
* Ivan seemed to always be seating us with a smile at the buffet in the morning and
Pelicanos for lunch.
* The awesome hostess at Tapas/Maria Marrie's on the three nights we went
there!
* The beach bartender with the name La Cruz (sorry, missed the full name).
Always happy and eager to make the drink the best! Awesome cucumber gin and tonic!

Room Tip: Higher the floor and further away from the center (above the lobby) the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall the Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an outstanding property with top-notch all-inclusive perks and a staff that is dedicated to your satisfaction. Everyone is warm and friendly and from the moment you arrive in the grand lobby you know you are in for a treat. I will start with the hotel room we booked... Jr Ocean Suite #136. If you can request this room you will absolutely be floored with the uninhibited view of the ocean from your bed! See the pictures I have attached for more detail. Basically this room is the closest you can get to the ocean from the property and is quiet and less than 20 steps from the sand. The room is clean, large, quiet, and the minifridge is kept stocked 24/7. But the view is breathtaking from the in suite hot tub, from the bed, or the balcony. Order room service and enjoy the sunrise... incredible!

Second, the food at the hotel is above average but not great. Everyone is doing their best and you can tell but the details just aren't there. Asiana is a good attempt at a Jap Steak House but lacks the proper flavors for Asian cuisine and the Tapas bar really leaves you wanting more (literally). Marie Marie is excellent, absolutely excellent, and the Hanger Steak is cooked perfectly every time... order two as soon as you sit down. Spice is the buffet spot in the resort and is excellent for breakfast, but just ok for lunch and dinner. Pelicano's is the grill by the Ocean/Pool and everything on the menu that is GRILLED is awesome.. skip everything else. The food was a bit of disappointment overall but for a weekend trip, it wasn't a deal breaker.

Finally the hotel itself is very clean and spacious. The gym/spa facility is well kept but not very large... again not a deal breaker for us but if I was staying longer and was planning to work out it would have been. The lobby hosts a performance every night at 8pm. Schedule your dinner wisely so you can attend the show which lasts between 30-45 mins and is actually quite good all things considered for a free hotel show. The Coffee Bar and Game Room are clean well stocked 24 hours, and a ton of fun with your group or strangers (Jenga is always fun).

The hotel has earned my return trip dollars in the future for sure but with a little more effort regarding the food, the upgrading/cleaning of the massive (nice!) pool, and more regular poolside beverage service this hotel would be the best of the best in Cancun.

Now the not so good... the beach cabana's are typically reserved or not available if you arrive on the beach after 10am. Beach butlers are very friendly but hard to find to figure out which chairs are available and which ones arent as everyone seemingly just leaves beach towels to claim a seat they may or may not utilize. Room #136 is the best room in the whole property but the tub is very very slow to fill with hot water and we noticed on two occassions the water changed color to a light brown... we never got IN the top after two failed attempts to use it.

Overall very happy with hotel and would gladly return. More pictures available on Flickr Jazer540

Room Tip: Room 136 is best in the entire hotel - Jr. Ocean Suite --- don't spend more money for the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First off let me say that this wasn't our first time to Cancun or traveling, so we had a lot to compare for the price. The price point is perfect for what you get at this resort.

From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we were treated with such professional friendly hard working staff.

Roxana Mota checked us in with a smile and was very informative about the resort and information we requested.

Our maid staff which was Olga Garcia did an Excellent job even when we were in the room. She was very efficient and precise in placing everything perfect in the room. She even decorated the bed with rose petals and swans.

The beach Butler Fernando Antunez was amazing and friendly, we spent a lot of time talking with him about the hotel and weather beach and economy. He provided excellent service and is very hard working to please you in any way you requested.

Our pool waiters Catalino, Miriam, and Daysi were pleasant smiling and very quick with service.

We felt so welcome in our swim up pool, it was heaven on earth.

Our couples massage was no less that perfect and professional. my husband and I were treated by Carmen and Sam.

The restaurants had great food and the buffet had great food as well.

The beach was clean and had private cabanas and beach butlers.
The pools were amazing as well
The hotel was clean
the nightly entertainment was fun for everyone.

What an amazing staff throughout this resort. we will return again in the near future.

Thank you for an amazing vacation Zilara Staff. we wish you health and happiness

The Fotis'

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are amazing for the upgrade price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My fiance and I went to the Hyatt Zialra in December 2014 to go over our wedding details with Diana as we are getting married there in November 2015. It was the second time we have been but the first since the change of name from 'The Royal' and we were not disappointed, the service we received from the very start to the final day was AMAZING!!! It was nice to see that they have added a few more cabanas to the beach and also that the rooms were now non-smoking. All of the rooms have amazing views of he beach, ocean and especially the sun rise!.We highly recommend doing a bit of pampering whilst at the Hyatt Zilara, we visited The Spa on several occasions, Mariel, Josephina, Mari Carmen and Luz ensured that we left feeling completely relaxed and refreshed. When we weren't in the The Spa we spent most of our days in a cabana on the beach being waited on hand and foot by the wonderful beach staff whilst Eduardo was mixing our cocktails (if you love tequila he's the man to see). But the man of the hour was Rafi, he really went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed and more! He gave us loads of recommendations from romantic dinners on the beach to great activities during the day. Rafi's customer service was second to none, he really should be an ambassador for the hotel! We cannot wait to go back in November 2015 for our big day!!!

Room Tip: The Swim-up Rooms are amazing! Rooms on the higher floors provide a better view of the Beach, Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went with a group of my friends and had a wonderful time. The pros: Great pool area overlooking the amazing beach. (Also, there are lifeguards on this beach that take their job seriously) All rooms are oceanfront. The service and friendliness of the staff is by far the best I have ever experienced in Cancun or anywhere else I have ever been for that matter. It all started with our concierge Escobar taking care of our group. He was fantastic and full of information to make our stay even better at the Hyatt Zilara. At the pool, Francisco and Marcos spoiled us by always making sure we had water/drinks. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. At check in, we got to pick the kind of pillows we wanted. The nightly entertainment was also very good and never lasted over an hour. Cons: The only cons for me, and honestly it might be a pro for others, was that pool activities were really limited. I am in my 50's but would have loved someone bringing some life into the pool area (and, or beach area) with volleyball games, etc. Also, the music was terrible. In the mornings it was songs from the 50's and 60's, mid-morning the music was just okay and more of a pop music variety and the afternoon music was nasty. It featured singers like Nikki Minaj and her foul mouth. The same songs were repeated over and over again. That is easily fixed and the one time I complained about music, they immediately changed it. This truly is a wonderful place to stay though and I enjoyed the food at all of the restaurants. Also, the spa staff was very good and the facilities included a sauna, steam room, plunge pool, 2 large indoor Jacuzzis and one outdoor one. There were also some other specialized pools that were for specific muscle groups but I did not use any of these. This whole area can be used free of charge anytime during its open hours. I also found the fitness area to be very adequate. The wi-fi worked well in most locations and there was no additional charge for that either. We were a group of five women and we felt safe and taken care of at this resort at all times. We all enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.