We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hyatt Zilara in Cancun was a beautiful hotel with good food, good service and beautiful views.

Before we arrived in Cancun for our honeymoon I contacted the hotel and requested transportation from the airport. I highly recommend booking transportation through the hotel rather than taking a taxi cab. The Hyatt picks you up in a lovely and comfortable Lincoln Navigator with cold water and clean towels to wash off the airport. The only problem we had was the airline changed our flight number, the hotel could not look up the flight to confirm our arrival time and was an hour late. Be sure to double check that the hotel has the right information, or that they will be at the hotel regardless of what the airline changes. After the delay we were taken to the hotel where we checked in with their romance concierge.

The romance concierge apologized for the delay and quickly got us checked in and off to our room. Our room was on the sixth floor and had a beautiful view of the beach. The hotel decorated for our honeymoon with red rose petals, a bottle of champagne and a red velvet cake. This was in addition to the fully stocked fridge, array of beverages and snacks.

The hotel had an array of restaurants including a buffet, coffee shop, fine dining and beach side dining. We had breakfast at the café and the buffet everyday, both wonderful options with delicious choices. I really enjoyed my daily café latte and chocolate croissants. Be sure to try the chocolate ice cream and chocolate covered strawberries at the coffee shop! For lunch we ate everyday at the Pelican Café, where we had the most beautiful view of the beach. Highly recommended! For dinner we tried all of the restaurants, all with amazing food and good service. All of the restaurants have a lobster option for an additional fee. We tried the lobster at Spice, it was about $30 for the upgrade and it was worth it! They brought out a giant tray covered in lobster, shrimp, scallops, salmon and every other type of fish. If we had ordered a dish like that in Las Vegas it would have cost well over $100.00. Be sure to try all of the specialty cocktails and make your way down to the tequila bar on the beach. There is nothing better than trying specialty cocktails with your toes in the sand!
If noting else, the entire trip is worth it just to see the pool area and beaches. The sand is so white and the water is the most beautiful shade of blue. My husband had a blast playing in the waves while I laid on comfortable pool beds and a cocktail. There were more than enough beds and chair for everyone to enjoy. The pools are amazing, so many different areas that you could have your own private pool. If you wanted more of an experience there were plenty of games and other activities to enjoy.

We booked activities through the travel agency located in the lobby. I do not recommend doing this. We enjoyed our activities but we were not given accurate information. We were told it would be a 30 minute drive and aspects of the activity would be optional. It was a two hour drive and activities were not optional. We would have been much happier to have the correct information so we could prepare.

In the end it was an amazing trip and we were sad to leave! We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    203
    73
    21
    22
See reviews for
128
690
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in Hyatt Zilara on march 2014 with my girl friend for 2 weeks and we had a wonderful time.the hotel is great,service great,pool great,food great.we had the room on high floor and the view is wow!!Show every night as well...we search a lot before to choose this hotel and we dont regret,we turned around in cancun to check the other hotels ranked in first places and we found this hotel the best and best beach as well...Dont hesitate guys go go go!

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are the best for amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we have just returned from our honeymoon and had an amazing time at the Hyatt Zilara, the room we had was lovely really spacious and was kept very clean the house keeping did an amazing job. Although we hadn't paid extra we did have an ocean view although it was restricted. when we arrived we were met with water and cold towels and were checked in by the romance concierge, Jonathan checked us in and was in contact throughout the whole holiday he helped us with information about getting around Cancun and recommended trips which we could take,he really made an effort and is an asset to the Hotel.

We ate in all of the restaurants except Chefs plate, our favourite was Spice however the restaurant overlooking the beach was great for Lunch and evening meal its a lovely location. The staff in all the restaurants are really polite and helpful. Asiana was also a really good experience and something completely different to the other restaurants.

The beach and pool are very clean and well kept, the staff who work these areas do an amazing job and are always close by bringing drinks and checking everything is ok, Frankie stood out the most for us he was really attentive and took an interest he remembered our names and made our stay a lot of fun. The only thing which lets this down is the staff from the spa and entertainment trying to promote things everyday. we bought a meal on the beach from a member of the entertainment staff and feel that it wasn't as described and felt let down by this which stopped us buying anything else from around the pool but it didn't ruin the holiday.

We manage to see the night time entertainment a few times during our honeymoon it was really good and all of the performers put on a great show, again the staff who work on the bar are very good and are always making sure all guests have drinks.

the turn down service in the rooms is a lovely touch and sets a relaxing mood for the room, the times which we did use the room service the food was always served hot and within the time stated in the phone call and waiters who deliver it are very friendly even at 3am! the only down side to this is it sometimes took a while for the dishes to be cleared from the box.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Hyatt and Cancun and would recommend it, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobeor82b
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this Resort when it was under a different name and the Resort and Service were outstanding in the past. The Resort itself is still as beautiful as ever. It is sad that I had to drop my rating due to several issues that mostly revolved around Quality of Service. I was told I should receive an e-mail to fill out a survey after our stay, but still waiting for that to come. I wrote a 4 page document of some very specific situations we had the misfortune of having to deal with, that I never would have expected from this resort and we had never had in the past. Not sure what has happened, but hopefully they will correct many of the issues and we will again feel it deserves a 5 for a rating. This was our first visit to the resort since its name change and hoping if we give it a year or two things will improve and again be the great resort it once was. We experiences with Check-in & Check-out, room service, food, cleanliness and several other things. I know the Hyatt is a high quality chain and so was the Royal (Real Club). Could be they are still experience growing/changing pains that is causing the high quality of service we have had in the past, not be there during this recent trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had our wedding here and had a little over forty guest in our party. I have to be honest my new wife planned and worked with the resort all year. All I had to do was show up. We had been to the resort in the past before hyatt took it over and we loved it. I was a little nervous about what changes had occured. I can tell you that I did not notice a single change. The food was great. The service was great. The resort was all around amazing. I could not have asked for a more amazing experience. Not only do we plan on returning but we have about fourth plus people and there friends and family wanting to come with us again soon. Not one person in our group had a complaint. To me that is unheard of for that large a party. Many thanks and props to the staff at hyatt. These people are amazing and make for a wonderful vacation. What's even better is that there are many familiar faces on the staff from our first visit three years ago. That's tells me these people enjoy and appreciate there jobs which they in turn make the guest feel at home. I can not imagine staying at any other location in cancun for a wonderful vacation. The people at hyatt and my wife, friends and family made for a wedding dream come true. Thank you to all. WE WILL BE BACK! Can't wait.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our second time visiting the Hyatt Zilara in the past year. We didn't post a review the first time but felt compelled to do so now. We were not disappointed, the second visit was just as enjoyable as the first. Nothing but world class service, food, accommodations and amenities.

We enjoyed every minute of our vacation from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The staff was friendly, courteous and always willing to assist us. Service was exceptional throughout the entire resort whether you were at one of the bars, eating in one of the restaurants, having a coffee in the coffee house or just hanging out in the 24 hr lounge, you never had to wait to get what you needed.

One of the reasons we returned to the Hyatt was the experience we had with the dining. Once again we were not disappointed with the a la carte restaurants. The menus changed half way through our vacation but we noticed no difference in the quality or selection of items on the menu. We did not eat at the buffet for lunch or supper so cannot comment on the food but breakfast at the buffet had a vast selection of food to choose from. If you get the opportunity to do Chefs Plate it is a pleasurable dining experience with a small group of people.

The rooms are very nice and spacious. All are ocean front and provide a beautiful view of the beach. We had no complaints over the noise level at night in the room. The shows ended early enough and the other guests were very respectful at night when returning to their rooms. The showers were very spacious and there was a huge jet tub in the room. Rooms were cleaned in a timely manner and we had turndown service every night with a bon bon waiting for us on the pillow.

We really enjoyed our family vacation at the Hyatt Zilara. Thanks to all the staff that made this a memorable vacation. Feliz Navidad

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hyatt Zilara in Cancun was a wonderful resort, but it is definitely for a certain type of vacation.

My group of four 20-year-old guys was scheduled to go to the Hyatt Ziva/Zilara in Rose Hall, but the hotel was not 100% open by our departure date. After spending a lot of time working with customer service, Hyatt moved us and paid for the difference in flights.

We arrived at the hotel after a sweet limo ride from Feraltar (cancun-airport.net, only $10 more than Hyatt Transportation) and were immediately greeted with towels and tea. We were moved to check-in and asked if we wanted anything real to drink. We ordered up a round of shots and Don Julio was quickly brought to us.

After check-in we headed up to our room and threw our stuff down. We didn’t wait for our baggage to arrive, but it seems it arrived very quickly. We headed out on a tour and fell in love with the property. We were quick to notice the liquor at the bars. Grey Goose, JD, JW Black Label, Don Julio, and many others were in stock and ready to be poured. There was the main bar, the swim-up bar, booze in the 24 hour lounge, the beach bar, and in room cabinet. Plus you could order any drink via room service, it just took a little while.

The beach and pool areas were terrific and clean, but beach butler service was a little slow. The pool butlers were on top of everything and always had a smile. All of the staff was wonderful and would easily go out of their way to help you. Marcelo (concierge for Platinum/Diamond members), Guadalupe (Bar/ drink server), Jose de la Cruz (Bartender), and Rocio (front desk) were outstanding. They had to be pretty good if we remember their names. The spa area, specifically sauna, was used by one of our guys repeatedly and he loved it. It seemed to be a great after workout place. The entire resort seemed to have plenty of space, as the hotel was 98% full and there was always a place to sit.

The food was good, but it was the same thing at every restaurant just covered in a different sauce. I did truly enjoy the food though, so this not a complaint just an observation. Feeding 4 carnivores for a week can be tough, but we were very pleased overall. Room service took about 30 minutes each time, and out of the restaurants Asiana’s was the best. Pelicano’s was good for dinner, but a little subpar for lunch. It would be nice if the chicken wings in the lounge were kept there all the time, as they were very good.

The rooms were great and plenty of room, and bathrooms are big enough to spend the night in- if needed. Showers were nice, but there is a super awkward window that looks from the room into the shower. This made for a super awkward moment when we first discovered it, but wasn’t too big a deal in practice. The double bathtub takes up a decent amount of room that would be nice to have in the double bed rooms, but isn’t really a huge issue.

The one show we saw at night was good. It was acrobatic and entertaining, but kind of short at only 40 minutes. They began at 8. Other activities at the hotel were not publicized well, so a lot of things were missed. It would be nice if they gave a little “compass” of the day’s activities, especially tequila tastings.

Our main issue with the hotel is not the hotel’s fault at all, but is something to keep in mind. This hotel is entirely built around couples. This would be a great place for honeymoon or with your spouse, but is by no means made for a group of four guys.

Overall I would recommend it, but maybe not for single people. Thanks again to the staff for a great week, and hopefully we can make it out to Hyatt in Jamaica.

Room Tip: All are ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Max W,

It was an honor to host you and your friends at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review with us.

We are sorry to read you felt the resort was catering more to couples, that you found the evening shows to be quite short and that the activities were not advertised clearly enough.

We are however happy to know that you did not allow for this to affect your overall experience and that you still had a great vacation while enjoying the high quality food & beverage offerings, relaxing hydro therapy area, comfortable suite and great service.

Thank you for recognizing our valued associates, such as Marcelo, Guadalupe, Jose and Rocio, for their personalized service; they will surely be proud to know they were able to positively influence your experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.