We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MANY THANKS.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MANY THANKS.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a fabulous adults only resort. Very clean, excellent food and beverages, friendly and helpful staff....including Francoco Medina in the Restaurant Spice; Julio the Entertainment Coordinator; Martha Ramirez, Mariana in the spa was amazing, my husband received the best massage of his life and I received an amazing facial. The nightly shows were amazing and we highly recommend this Hyatt to anyone looking for a beautiful place to get away from it all.

Sincerely,
Bill and Doreen Morales

Room Tip: Stay away from the atrium rooms if you like to go to bed early. The nightly shows and band play unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    184
    69
    22
    18
See reviews for
118
647
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Destination wedding could not have been held at a better resort. Everything from staff and facility were 5 stars. All inclusive is the meaning here; no real need to seek anything outside resort. The staff was more than cordial. They sought out opportunities to serve the guests. Rarely had to seek server for food or drinks. Absolutely no attitudes just pleasant experiences from minute one to end. We had a party of 29 and did not here of one complaint. The resort is so beautiful and well kept it feels brand new. They were constantly cleaning; 24/7. Can't say enough about welcome feeling every one on the staff reflected. Well worth the price for an adults only all inclusive service.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view and at least junior suites. The lower middle rooms may get the music and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently returned (Nov. 16-23) for a week stay at this Adult Only resort. Some of the Hyatt staff that stood out included at Spice - Jesus and Laura Morales, Pelicanos - Victor Put, and Maria Marie - Alfredo (?) - server with the same voice as 'tattoo' from the Love Boat. Food was excellent and these above noted staff added to a VERY pleasurable vacation - we will be back!!

Chairs on the beach were not a problem - get up earlier if you want a 'prime' spot by the pool.
WiFi was the best of many resorts we have been to - we will be back!!
Night-time shows were interesting and not too long!!

Thanks to all of the other staff for making this a great vacation!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed this hotel. The room was tremendous! Clean, spacious, and stocked with food and refreshments. The resort was well organized and had everything you want when you go to an all inclusive. The food was average at best, we didn't eat anything bad, but we didn't eat anything extraordinary either. The beach and water were free of seaweed and awesome. All in all, this is a great hotel and you won't be disappointed. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a presidential suite and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My better half and I just came back form 6 days at the Hyatt Zilara. Now keep in mind: this review is based upon our priorities, which were mainly rest, relaxation and pampering. With that in mind, the Hyatt Zilara blew us away! The highlights:

- The hotel is immaculately maintained and cleaned. For how much activity is around, I could hardly find a spec of sand.......a spilled drink........or a marble floor that didn't shine. The patios and pool areas were also spectacularly maintained, picked up, etc. I never saw one piece of trash all week, including the beach area. Amazing.

- Our room was superbly cleaned twice a day. I was amazed at the very clean smell each time we came back -- and not that gross, over-bleached smell.......a pleasant, clean smell that you just take in upon your return. The towels are perfect, the balcony picked up, your bed is perfect, the marble shiny. Incredible.

- The general aura and vibe in the resort just oozed relaxation and comfort. While there were often activities going on (ranging from ceramics to tequila tasting to guacamole classes, etc) and the main lobby bar often used, as an adults-only (very important to us -- we left our teenagers at home!) the entire property was just calm, but fun.

Great example of the above. As guests of the Hyatt, you can use the neighboring property the Grand Caribe (also managed by Real Resorts) for free/included. One night we decided to try their Italian restaurant to change it up (at the suggestion of a couple we met). When we entered the lobby, it felt like the hecticness and energy of the center ring of a 3-ring circus!!! 1 in 3 families had a baby......you had toddlers, tweens and teens running about.........even in the lobby bar the place was packed with loud kids. I love my kids as much as the next parent, but I came to Cancun to relax and "get away from it all"..........so while there was nothing at all wrong with the Grand Caribe, the calm, relaxed, adult atmosphere at the Hyatt Zilara was definitely more to my liking.

- The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Never a frown on their face. From the friendly bartenders, attentive pool/beach staff (clean your glasses, get you drinks, etc) and the fantastic wait staff in the restaurants, we never encountered someone that wasn't ready and willing to ensure our stay was pleasant. There are too many to mention, but two that stood out were Marco from the activities hut (always a big smile......recognized us daily it seemed) and Hector, our favorite waiter at Spice (who was incredibly helpful with a tip about baby turtle releases!).

- The grounds, pool and beach areas were incredible. The sand doesn't feel like sand. It isn't gritty......it's like walking on powdered sugar almost. Even in the hot sun, it wasn't hot (how is that possible?)! You definitely need to get up early (7:00am at the latest) for the good poolside cabanas.........but the beach cabanas are awesome and it's not THAT far to the little beach bar there under Pelicanos.

- The available drinks at the bar were awesome. Mid to top shelf spirits available - we had Don Julio margaritas 90% of the time (side note: I tried to order a Don Julio margarita at the Grand Caribe and got a confused look -- had to settle for more second rate tequila).

- The food was good. Did it blow me away compared to fine dining options at home? No. But for an all-inclusive resort, even an expensive one, I was satisfied. One recommendation I would have would be to order an extra appetizer and entree in order to try out more things at once to find what fits your taste. Most of the portions are on the small side anyway.......and you will find some favorites that you can go back to and be very happy with. One hint: definitely try the teppanaki (i.e. Benihanas table cooking) dinner at Asiana. It's a great show with lively chefs........but you have to make reservations. Either try them in advance, or at worst, make a reservation your first day there.

We will certainly be back at some point for a nice anniversary or other big special occasion!

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the middle on floors 2-4 -- you have more noise from the lobby. Try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuero, tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The beauty, excellent service, well appointed rooms, and all other facets of this beautiful resort have pretty well been covered and our experience mirrors that of the other 5 star reviews so I won't be redundant.

I would like to recognize several staffers who absolutely put the experience over the top for us. I have visited Mexico as a tourist over 50 times and this was my 5th visit to Cancun, although the last was 20 years ago. Nothing prepared me for how well-run, how efficient, how beautiful, and how customer service-oriented our stay was. We actually never left the property as we felt no need and our priority was a romantic and relaxing stay.

We were checked in by our "Romance Concierge" (you gotta love it), Mr. Yunuen Escobar, who bent over backwards to accommodate our every need. When was the last time a hotel asked you what type of pillows you'd like (available in generous supply), what fragrance you'd like in your candle diffuser, and what night would you like your honeymoon suite decorated? There were so many little things carried out here that show how seriously Hyatt takes customer service in the Mexican hospitality industry. Staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming, each one addressing us with a smile or greeting as we were served or even just passed them on the property.

Hector Zepeda, in Spice, Tkuri, Ivan, Guadalupe, and Gianny in bar service (pool and lobby bars), were all stand outs but I cannot find fault with a single employee during our stay. All were attentive, friendly, and the charming hand-over-heart gesture that they make when greeting guests was so lovely.

This is probably the best food I've ever encountered in a Mexican hotel and I'm fairly picky. A disadvantage was that the Spice lobby location was closed for renovation during the first 4 days of our stay and they served, instead, in the ballroom, which was nice with plenty of offerings, but lacked in atmosphere. Hector's stellar service, however, more than made up for the convention-type setting and we were able to enjoy the restaurant location on our last day. We enjoyed having so many dining options - even a 24 hour snack bar - and tried them all.
We had in-suite service on our last day and it was surprisingly prompt, well presented and tasty.

The all-inclusive could have been so disappointing with limited offerings or other restrictions that I've seen in other properties, but everything was first rate. There were no hidden exceptions or skimping on quality. Even the mini-bar and well-stocked liquor cabinet in our room was included and the only option that we were upcharged for, understandably, was in Asiana for lobster and well worth the reasonable extra fee.

We will definitely be back and applaud management and staff for a job VERY well done. I think this may be the benchmark for all upscale Mexican resorts as Hyatt is most assuredly doing it right and this speaks volumes about the level of training they've taken the time to provide to staff.

I really have no negative comments to share other than the techno music that was played around the pool starting late morning. Part of the "problem" for us was that we were sitting near the palapa where the speakers were (which we were so content with that we declined to move to another area). I don't mean to nitpick but it was only a disappointment as the earlier morning music was so pleasing and relaxing and when it switched over it felt more like German disco than a gorgeous beach setting.

One last note is that we definitely enjoyed the adults-only policy. We are parents and love traveling with our family AND really enjoyed being in an environment where we could focus on our own daily interests and relaxation. Muy bien hecho, Hyatt Zilara y gracias por todo!

Room Tip: While the lower floors offer walk-out pool and some privacy, I preferred the higher floor which offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from another amazing holiday in Mexico and the hotel was fab! Last time we stayed it was The Royal so was a little concerned it may have changed since The Hyatt took over. Everything was perfect! Big shout out and thank you to Juan the man, Fedensio & Uriel the best bar men about and Juan for his tricks and entertainment, he gave us such a laugh also the lovely ladies Eliose, Muriel & Guadalupe. All of the staff are so friendly & helpful. Rooms are lush, food was great. Be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.