We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Lyons, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Zilara is a beautiful resort with a very nice beach. The food was excellent. The staff was very warm and gracious. Special thanks to Sergio for his terrific service at the pool bar. We loved every minute.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    163
    65
    19
    17
See reviews for
105
522
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Such an amazing place made special by the staff from Luis and the spice team especially the breakfast egg ladies, thewaiters in the restaurants and on the beach Marco, Eduardo, Roberto, Jesus and Guadeloupe thank you so much for looking after us so well!! Andrea and the front of house staff thanks for all the useful tips!to the staff who kept this the cleanest place we have stayed in. We loved everything the towel animals in the rooms,the food, the service, the rooms, the views. The first holiday where we felt we had left work behind and were relaxed from the minute we arrived. All the restaurants served lovely food and plenty of choice but the Chefs plate was disappointing we dressed up as required prepared for a romantic dinner to discover it was a shared table for 16 with endless comments from the waiter and enforced group photos! Our evening was saved by the good company but we would not repeat this experience fortunately the other restaurants are all a pleasure to dine in. see you all again next year thank you

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the upper floors for fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Came for our 19th year anniversary, our room was beautiful and roomy. Turn down service was awesome so was the room service. We love the decor around the resort, the ambience was very romantic every night. I like to review places where I vacation so I took notes this is what I remember:

-Very corporate welcome, would recommend a warmer welcome.
-Lock out twice from room (key card not working)
-Spa service horrible/pricy/ really bummed out this was a big part of my vacation but I only went once because it was so horrible. Would recommend taking some pointers from Live Aqua Spa.
-Between lunch hour and dinner hour no where to eat. It's ok to have dress code in restaurants but Pelicanos should be more laid back or there should be a place you can eat without dress codes, too many rules we are here on vacation not a board meeting.
-No eating at the swim up bar even worse no eating around pool area! I thought this was an adult resort!
-Eloisa pool attended was great, brought drinks fast, remember our names and would seek us out to make sure we were being waited on.
-swim up bar closes before pool closes (huh)
-service around resort for the most part was very corporate
-edgar went out of his way to sit us after being told it's a 30 min wait at pelicanos
-Omar great waiter at pelicanos, we call him the "why not man" made us unwind when we were being diet freaks " 2 margaritas and 2 chocolate cakes WHY NOT your on vacation"
-hector and Eric at spice, awesome waiters stand out in service
-Vicente and tony at cafe and 23 hr lounge were excellent and hospitable made me feel like I was at home
-Shirley (troll) kept looking for reasons not to serve us, caught her making faces at customers behind their backs. Attitude problem, chip on shoulder.
Over all, we had a good time but would not stay here again, would like a more personable and warmer place where I can truly experience Mexico and their culture staying at an American resort took that away. Just saying...

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having just spent a week at Hyatt Zilara was an experience well worth it if you like the Cancun action. All rooms above the third floor and better above the 5th are ocean front with great views of the coast, the beach and the ocean. We came back to Cancun after touring the hotel years ago and wanted to see if the "ROYAL" level was still there. Selections of food were good, the beach was great and supply of beach chairs abundant. Of course you had the jerks that put their towels out early at the pools only to mosey down when they feel like it:for this I put the blame on the hotel...then again, what hotel wants to say no to its patrons. All restaurants were above average and the service was key especially at Pelicanos and the Chefs Table.
We've spent the last few years down on the Riviera Maya and usually are resorts that have comfortable spacious grounds; that's what we didn't like at Zilara. Unless you want to venture out to venues or tours, your whole vacation there is like being in the same house for a week. No room to wander except for long walks on the beach and you find yourself repeating restaurants and bars. This is all a matter of taste.
Want to experience the action of Cancun; Zilara is a great place to stay. It does have a different variety of people than south on the Riviera Maya. I would recommend it to anyone but would not return.

Room Tip: demand something above the 5th floor and at the opposite side of the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear WOWFACTORVACA,

It was a great pleasure to host you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun during your recent vacation and we appreciate you taking your time to share your comments with us.

While we are sorry to read that the grounds were not spacious enough for your taste we are very pleased to know that you very much enjoyed the beautiful suite, great view, gorgeous beach and great service.

Thank you very much for recommending us and we sincerely hope we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently, and loved every minute of it.
The room, the staff, the view, the restaurants, the beach were just superb.
The bartenders especially made our holiday - Juan, Viktor, Eliseo, Julio, Fedencio xx
Can't wait to return. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are amazing. More expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Claire S,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for taking your time to share this short, but truly positive review with us.

We are excited to know that you enjoyed every minute of your recent stay and were especially fond of your beautiful suite with gorgeous view, upscale restaurants, beautiful beach and excellent service.

Thank you very much for recognizing Juan, Victor, Eliseo, Julio y Fidencio for their great efforts and we are certain they will be proud to know they assisted in making this a wonderful vacation.

We very much appreciate you recommending us and cannot wait to welcome you back during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary at The Hyatt Zilara in June. We booked this vacation when the hotel was The Royal. The Royal was highly recommended by family and friends, however we almost rescheduled with another resort when the Trip Advisor rating went from #6 to #62. I am so glad we didn't! This resort is absolutely stunning.....pictures really do not do it justice. We had private transfer from the airport to the resort. We were greeted and promptly put in a cool SUV with cold towels and bottled water. Twenty short minutes later, we arrived in Paradise. From the moment we stepped out of the SUV, we were warmly greeted by the staff and walked over to the Romance Concierge, Escobar. He was so very helpful, arranging two spa appointments and taking care of any special needs we had. We were so fortunate, our Swim-Up Suite was available, so no waiting until 3 PM to get into our room. Escobar walked us to our room and was sweet enough to offer to take our photo outside our door. Small touches make a big difference.

Our Swim-Up Suite was spacious, clean, and well stocked with toiletries, hangers, and mini bar. Our view was amazing. I was a little concerns with being on the 1st floor, however, we had an amazing view of the beach and turquoise water. Our room was cleaned twice a day. Always spotless.

We had breakfast every morning at Spice. Daniel was our server on our 1st day. He was so amazing that we asked for his section every morning. He knew exactly what we wanted before we even sat down, and a few mornings, our drinks and some food were waiting for us. He is a Gem!! Love Daniel!! He is an asset! Dinner and lunch were mainly spent at Pellicano's. We loved having lunch/dinner outside with a perfect view of the ocean. Omar won us over on Day 1. Requested him every day. Absolutely no complaints with the food. It was very good.

All drinks were excellent and I believe we tried them all!!!! Swim-up bar was excellent!! Pool service to our Swim-Up Suite was hit and miss. Moises kept them coming all day the 1st and 4th day. Wendy and Elosia kept them coming on days 2 and 5. We saw the guys with the frozen treats at the main pool, but they never came to our swim-up pool. We had a guy come by twice during our 7 day stay to clean our sunglasses. These guys mainly stayed at the main pool and didn't come to suites 101-108. It's a small thing, but with it being our first time there and having read all about this awesome service, I was a bit disappointed. In the grand scheme of things, it certainly didn't ruin our trip.

On our last day, we were waiting for our private transfer back to the airport and reality in the 24 hour lounge. Elosia saw us in there and she came in to give us goodbye hugs!! How sweet! The staff really are friendly and helpful and work their butts off. Tips are included, but we tipped everyone who helped us. They are well deserved.

Special thanks to Escobar, Omar, Daniel, Wendy, Elosia, and Tammy in the spa. Enjoyed every second of it and we will be back. Highly recommend this Resort to everyone....you will NOT be disappointed!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear larba1999,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun despite your initial concerns and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

While we are truly sorry to read that the pool side service did not always provide the service close to your Swim Up’s pool, we are truly excited to know you had a fantastic 15th anniversary celebration, as you were enjoying your beautiful suite with luxurious amenities, amazing view and excellent service provided by our associates.

We appreciate you taking your time to recognize Escobar, Daniel, Omar, Moises, Wendy, Guadalupe and Tammy for their dedication and personalized service and be assured we will share your kind words with them. They will certainly be proud to know they were able to assist in making this celebration truly special.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were excellent, so polite and really helpful. The room was clean and housekeeping was really good. The air con in our room was situated so that it blew over the bed and into our faces, had to shut it off as this was really annoying. The Spice restaurant offered a wide selection for buffet breakfast and lunch but the evening buffet was disappointing. The Asiana restaurant was very good but the menu was limited, especially if you don't like spicy food. Pelicano's restaurant was ok, again menu was limited. The Chef's Plate was extremely disappointing. This is an eight course set menu with very little food. Wish we had been told that we would be dining with a party of Mexicans who were celebrating a birthday as they took over the table; they even demanded that the chef change the chicken dish to beef, which we though was really rude. There was no cocktail menu so didn't know what was available. The entertainment was good and is held in the lobby which has no air conditioning or ceiling fans which made it impossible to stay and watch as it was just too hot. The pool isn't cleaned regularly as on a number of occasions we found plastic cups, straws, things floating on the water and there was a constant film on the top of the water. This was our sixth time but the first at this hotel, sadly we won't be going back

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear marciah469,

Thank you very much for allowing us once again the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your honest review with us.

We are truly sorry to read that we were unable to meet your high expectations during this most recent visit and that you felt especially disappointed with the reduced menu options, the air conditioning in your suite, the heat in the lobby the area and that you found the pool to be less clean than during previous visits.

Please be assured that your comments and concerns will be taking very seriously and we have already communicated them to the corresponding department heads for the appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you for your appreciated feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to host you in order to provide you with the excellent experience you have come to expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.