We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Second.....Cannot Wait to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved Every Second.....Cannot Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary at The Hyatt Zilara in June. We booked this vacation when the hotel was The Royal. The Royal was highly recommended by family and friends, however we almost rescheduled with another resort when the Trip Advisor rating went from #6 to #62. I am so glad we didn't! This resort is absolutely stunning.....pictures really do not do it justice. We had private transfer from the airport to the resort. We were greeted and promptly put in a cool SUV with cold towels and bottled water. Twenty short minutes later, we arrived in Paradise. From the moment we stepped out of the SUV, we were warmly greeted by the staff and walked over to the Romance Concierge, Escobar. He was so very helpful, arranging two spa appointments and taking care of any special needs we had. We were so fortunate, our Swim-Up Suite was available, so no waiting until 3 PM to get into our room. Escobar walked us to our room and was sweet enough to offer to take our photo outside our door. Small touches make a big difference.

Our Swim-Up Suite was spacious, clean, and well stocked with toiletries, hangers, and mini bar. Our view was amazing. I was a little concerns with being on the 1st floor, however, we had an amazing view of the beach and turquoise water. Our room was cleaned twice a day. Always spotless.

We had breakfast every morning at Spice. Daniel was our server on our 1st day. He was so amazing that we asked for his section every morning. He knew exactly what we wanted before we even sat down, and a few mornings, our drinks and some food were waiting for us. He is a Gem!! Love Daniel!! He is an asset! Dinner and lunch were mainly spent at Pellicano's. We loved having lunch/dinner outside with a perfect view of the ocean. Omar won us over on Day 1. Requested him every day. Absolutely no complaints with the food. It was very good.

All drinks were excellent and I believe we tried them all!!!! Swim-up bar was excellent!! Pool service to our Swim-Up Suite was hit and miss. Moises kept them coming all day the 1st and 4th day. Wendy and Elosia kept them coming on days 2 and 5. We saw the guys with the frozen treats at the main pool, but they never came to our swim-up pool. We had a guy come by twice during our 7 day stay to clean our sunglasses. These guys mainly stayed at the main pool and didn't come to suites 101-108. It's a small thing, but with it being our first time there and having read all about this awesome service, I was a bit disappointed. In the grand scheme of things, it certainly didn't ruin our trip.

On our last day, we were waiting for our private transfer back to the airport and reality in the 24 hour lounge. Elosia saw us in there and she came in to give us goodbye hugs!! How sweet! The staff really are friendly and helpful and work their butts off. Tips are included, but we tipped everyone who helped us. They are well deserved.

Special thanks to Escobar, Omar, Daniel, Wendy, Elosia, and Tammy in the spa. Enjoyed every second of it and we will be back. Highly recommend this Resort to everyone....you will NOT be disappointed!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    163
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
106
517
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were excellent, so polite and really helpful. The room was clean and housekeeping was really good. The air con in our room was situated so that it blew over the bed and into our faces, had to shut it off as this was really annoying. The Spice restaurant offered a wide selection for buffet breakfast and lunch but the evening buffet was disappointing. The Asiana restaurant was very good but the menu was limited, especially if you don't like spicy food. Pelicano's restaurant was ok, again menu was limited. The Chef's Plate was extremely disappointing. This is an eight course set menu with very little food. Wish we had been told that we would be dining with a party of Mexicans who were celebrating a birthday as they took over the table; they even demanded that the chef change the chicken dish to beef, which we though was really rude. There was no cocktail menu so didn't know what was available. The entertainment was good and is held in the lobby which has no air conditioning or ceiling fans which made it impossible to stay and watch as it was just too hot. The pool isn't cleaned regularly as on a number of occasions we found plastic cups, straws, things floating on the water and there was a constant film on the top of the water. This was our sixth time but the first at this hotel, sadly we won't be going back

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a great vacation. The hotel, pool, and beach are extremely clean and well kept. All of the employees are excellent. The food was very good, portions a little small but still excellent. In room bar stocked everyday it was just excellent. Two people that treated us exceptionally were Marco on the beach, he was excellent. While Marco was working I never had an empty cup, and he was just a pleasant person to have around. Also, Hector at the buffet what a great guy, and excellent at his job simply great service. The location was wonderful almost a secluded feeling. Didn't have to wait on line for anything and it was just terrible to have to come back home after such a wonderful vacation

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All Inclusive for a very nominal price. Really loved our babymoon vacation. We are vegetarian and the chefs of the restaurants in the hotel were nice enough to cater to our needs. Service was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I went to Hyatt Zilara Cancun for my three year anniversary. Best time ever. Hotel was clean and service far exceeded my expectations. One employee who stood out was Hector Zepeda. We were eating at Spice restaurant ; the best buffet and when my glass was empty he came with a refill before my straw got the last sip. When I was done with my plate he removed it quickly. Always asking if we were ok. Exceptional employee at an exceptional place. You'll be crazy to go anywhere else.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kevin C,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for the celebration of your 3rd wedding anniversary and for taking your time to share your comments with us.

We are thrilled to know that we were able to exceed your expectations with the well-kept facilities and especially excellent service.

Thank you very much for complimenting Hector on his dedication and personalized service and be assured we will recognize him accordingly. He will certainly be proud he was able to influence your experience so positively.

We very much appreciate you recommending us and cannot wait to host you again during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

my husband and i came to hyatt zilara for our honeymoon august 12-25th.
we were apprehensive due to negative reviews as when we booked it was still the royal and had been highly recommended to us by well travelled friends.
It was our second visit to cancun but our first stay at hyatt zilara so we were unable to compare it to the royal. however we were not disappointed.
the hotel is beautiful and the foods great.
the staff at hyatt zilara are simply outstanding...particularly hector at spice who would always have a smile and make us feel so welcome. he would go above and beyond for us. i must say that he is an absolute credit to the hotel! other staff to mention include diaz and luis at spice, miguel at the pool bar, rapheal, ivan and guadelope at the poolside and omar at pelicanos.
we had a fantastic stay at hyatt zilara and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear carla m,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege to welcome you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your honeymoon and for sharing your truly positive review with us.

We are excited to know you had an excellent experience while enjoying the hotel’s beautiful facilities, delicious dining options and excellent service.

Thank you very much for recognizing our valued associates such as Hector, Diaz, Luis, Miguel, Raphael, Ivan, Guadalupe and Omar for their dedication and be assured we will share your kind words with them. They will certainly be proud to know they were able to make this once-in-a-lifetime vacation extra special for you.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have to be honest, our last stay here was as the Royal and I slightly concerned regarding potential changes. Nevertheless, we stayed for the week of August 18. Upon arrival we were immediately registered and despite the fact it was before check in - we were immediately checked in with a very nice refreshment beverage. The weather was hot as hades during our stay- but then again it is August. The resort is located about 20 minutes from the airport- so short trip to the hotel.

THE ROOM:
Originally we booked the Ocean view Jr suite- I'm not sure this is the correct title, when we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the presidential suite at an amazing price located on the 8th floor. The room stayed warm due to the heat outside- and yes they came immediately to check it after they inquired how we liked our room. And not to look a gift horse in the mouth we took it. What an amazing view! had the most incredible time at the Hyatt Zilara. To begin with, the resort is absolutely breath taking. There is not a bad room here. Each room has a stock bar/mini refig. with daily restocking.

THE BEACH:
The beaches are cleaned nightly leaving it in pristine condition the next day. This is by far the most beautiful hotel we have ever been to and the service is incredible. I did find it frustrating that many would bring towels to aly them out in the chairs and cabanas and then disappear.
The Pool; Huge with lots of room to move swim and enjoy yourself. There is a great swim up bar, but honestly the pool side service was excellent.

STAFF:
The most amazing part of this trip and with our previous trips are the amazing staff. They are the most lively and upbeat people we have ever met and we truly miss all of the friends we made at this resort. Gabriel Ugalde- you are truly a wonderful person. He booked our meals, arranged for the boat ride around the island and checked on us our entire visit. Moises at the pool services was phenomenal and who he is as a person was so sweet. Hugo, Hullio, Hector, Luis and so many others that I apologize that I haven't remembered your names.
Please tip the staff- they work long hard hours to provide the quality service that the Zilara offers.

FOOD:
There is a wide variety of food fares offered here, so one should be able to find what makes them happy.
Pelicanos" The beach front outside restaurant is amazing. We had several lunches as well as dinners here. The food excellent. The steak was a good as any I have eaten (with the exception of Frankie and Johnny- in New York). The service over the top.
Spice is a great place to grab breakfast or lunch. The menu has changed to offer a different flare every night.
The Chef's table was over the top amazing. And chef- I'm sorry I had a great opportunity to eat dinner with you ( and then can't recall your name- I think I'm getting old). Was a wonderful experience. The kitchen was pristine!
Marie Marie- Is a fantastic Mexican restaurant that offered a great dinner and as always the service excellent. During our meal we were able to enjoy great live music.
The Chef's Plate was amazing the night we ate dinner. We sat at a large long table that afford us the opportunity to meet others at the resort. Many courses are served and all were flawlessly made, executed and served.
Asiana: Unfortunately we were unable to attend the tapenyaki show. The menu has changed from our last visit and I must be honest, liked the old menu better.
The coffee shop a great place to grab a cup of coffee and chat. They also offer ice cream, pastries, shakes and In the evening chocolate dipped strawberries to name a few things.
Bars: There is a 24 hr bar/ snack area that is great to drop into for a quick snack, drink or enjoy a game of pool or ping pong. The lobby bar seems to always have a nice breeze blowing through for a great place to relax and mingle.
The Spa; Yes no vacation is complete unless you have a massage.Terry was professional, friendly and gave a great massage. The facility as well as the workout equipment clean and honestly lovely.
I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: You won't find a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Twennerrn2,

Thank you very much for allowing us once again the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for taking your time to share this detailed and truly positive review with us.

We are excited to know that despite your initial concerns you had another fabulous vacation with us while enjoying your upgraded suite, beautiful pool and beach area, relaxing spa, updated gym and especially the personalized service provided by our associates.

Please be assured we will share your kind words with all our associates, especially Gabriel, Moises, Hugo, Julio, Hector, Luis and Terri, and are certain they will be proud to have influenced your stay so positively.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.