We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“I will definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited here on July. It was our honeymoon and we had the best experience. All the restaurants were tasty (my favorite was Mexican), people were nice, and cocktails were great. They have nice swimming pool and beach as well. But what I reallly appreciate about this hotel is that when we realized that we left something really precious to us at the hotel room after we got back, they already knew what we were looking for and were able to ship it to us right away. That precious thing was just a picture that we took at Cancun, and I think they could have easily thrown it away since it looks like a meaningless, random picture to others. I am in love with Hyatt Zilara now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    138
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
82
420
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family of sixteen, yes sixteen, has been frequenting this resort for several years. I do have to say that we always receive the best service and have been very satisfied with other stays here. This trip was about the same, with a few exceptions:
1.) Upon check in the staff seemed utterly confused. There were three of us that showed up prior to the other 13 in our party. Despite this, we waited over and hour to get checked it. When the other 13 in our party showed up, they were checked within minutes. We were shuffled from the Members Area to the front desk for check in and there was little regard to getting us to our room. This was very unpleasant. All that said, half of our parties rooms were ready while the other half had to wait. Unlike previous experiences we were not welcomed with champagne but with a green drink of some kind. Although appetizing, it was one example of the small corners that are being cut. When we did complain to member services about our long check in, they said that we should have checked in there, but they were the ones that shuffled us to the front desk in the first place.
2.) With the change in management, it seems as though the food here is spotty. Many of the menus have changed, most not for the better. Spice, the buffet, is always good and we always had a great experience here. Pellicanos menu has changed and it seems to have changed to meet more the "American" taste buds, which we did not care for. There are some items on the menu that could go away and were not appetizing at all. The lunch menu was more burgers and fries, which was not bad and was a welcomed change. The pizza on the menu is spotty. Some days it was good, other days it was complete indigestible. As for dinner at Pelicanos, the menu has pretty much stayed the same, but several of us has VERY fatty and grisly steaks that were not expecting due to the high level of cuisine. Most of the other restaurants have stayed true but with VERY paired down menus. The only real complaint is with Asiana. If you do not eat at the hibachi, be prepared to have every meal contain curry. On the first night, we all had meals that were so heavy with curry that they were not very good. It seemed as though all of the fare has become more "indian" and falls far from being considered "asian".
3.) The staff was always top notch. With every turn there was someone to help. It does seem that there is a little bit less attentiveness due to the management change. We did have some meals that were not correctly made or items that were forgot. I do blame the size of our party, but generally speaking the staff was great. I do have kudos to give to Soloman and Chuy. Way to go guys.
4.) There do seem to be small corners being cut everywhere. Understandably the bottom line is the goal for any resort, but it was not to the level that we were once accustom to. A couple of prime examples. We did miss the rose petals and red decor in the rooms, that seems to have gone away. Turn down service happened every night but was inconsistent; one night it happened around 9:00 pm where other days the staff was anxious and had it done at 5:00 pm. With that said they left the same "bon-bon" on our pillows every night. We did not eat them because they did not seem very good from the description on the wrapper. We do remember a time when we would get chocolate covered strawberries or chocolates in our room at night. That seems to have gone to the way side. The nightly shows are not what they used to be. We remembered a lavish show for Mexican night were the whole resort went to the ball room for a two hour show. Now the show as less than 45 minutes was not really that stellar. The shows in general were not what they used to be all lasting less than 45 minutes.
5.) It does not seem that things are changing with the times. We did expect that things would be updated with the transition and yes it will take time, it just appears that it may be taking longer than anticipated. The rooms are starting to show their age a bit, specifically within the details. The only thing that seems to be changing with the times is the crowd that the resort is trying to attract. In years past it was a more mellow crowd of older adults. This year we did see a big contingent of younger adults. The resort is definitely catering more to this crowd with the booming music played poolside, the activities focused around the younger crowds, and the beach party dance club(not really our cup of tea).

With all that said, we always enjoy our stay here, but it does seem with the change to the Hyatt system that some corners are being cut. Be that as it may, as members, we will continue to stay but I do believe next year we will seek another resort within the system.

Room Tip: There is not a "bad" room in this resort. All of the rooms face the ocean and that is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This resort was beyond all expectations. The service was wonderful, with the most polite staff I have ever met. All of the rooms faced the gorgeous ocean view. Although we didn't use the liquor in the mini bar, it was a nice amenity. I cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We had the ocean front view. This room was nice, but we would definitely do a swim up next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I cannot recommend this resort more highly. Amazing beach, turquoise water, beautiful pool, and superb dining. The staff are super helpful and friendly. The bed was beyond comfortable. A relaxing and elegant place for the 18 plus crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very excited when my boyfriend and myself booked our very first holiday together in this hotel. We were reading a lot of reviews about hotels in Cancun and Hyatt Zilara was perfect for us.
As it was my boyfriends birthday coming, I've contacted Romance concierge in this hotel to assist me in preparing a nice surprise for him. Mr Escobar, who is in charge of this service, seemed to be very helpful and he send me a lovely email reply that confirmed a complementary cake and charged champagne on his birthday. I was so excited!

The day before his birthday I reconfirmed with Mr Escobar that the champagne and the cake will be delivered to the hotel restaurant that we booked for the evening. NOTHING HAPPENED!!!!!!! I could't believe it!!! I was so disappointed as I organised everything well in advance!!!

The swimming pool is filthy with grime all around the edge as if it's never been cleaned.You do expect more from this expensive hotel!!

Do not recommend Hyatt Zilara in Cancun if you want to spend a nice holiday, especially if you have a special occasion to celebrate, as you might not get anything you asked for!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tijana012,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your comments with us.

We are truly bewildered to read about the disappointment you experienced with the surprise for your boyfriend’s birthday and that you felt the pool requires additional upkeep.

Please accept our sincerest apologies and be assured that we have communicated your concerns to the corresponding department heads to avoid these kinds of situations in the future and to assure all our valued guests have the truly special and memorable vacation experience they deserve.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us the privilege of hosting you again in the near future in order to provide you with the perfect stay you deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt prospect
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tomorrow is our last day at Hyatt Zilara and we don't want to leave. We will be back for sure!
We would highly recommend this resort. Here are the top 10 things that make this resort amazing!
1) Pool and beach area (beach Cabanas are amazing)
2) Food at all restaurants (delicious, high quality food)
3) Entertainment at night (exceeded our expectations every night)
4) Hotel room (swim up suite is awesome; highly recommend the upgrade)
5) Extra Anniversary touches (bottle of champagne delivered to our room w/ rose petals)
6) Servers are all committed to excellent service (Eloisa especially made our stay very special)
7) All inclusive experience (as many drinks as you would like with very little wait; high quality liquor)
8) Spa services (great massage and full body treatment)
9) Beautiful beach (no shells) and ocean with perfect waves
10) Cancun weather is incredible (90 and sunny; no rain), 20 minutes from airport

Room Tip: Swim up suite is incredible. Highly recommended. The water in the swim up pool (semi-private) is muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Marktack,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us to be part of your anniversary celebration and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are excited to know that we were able exceed your high expectations with the great location, beautiful pool and beach areas, delicious food & beverage offerings, fun entertainment, relaxing spa and of course great service provided by dedicated associates such as Eloisa.

Thank you for recommending us with your great review and we cannot wait to have the privilege of hosting you again at Hyatt Zilara Cancun during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here on honeymoon in early July. Originally booked into the Grand Caribe next door but got an upgrade...THANKS!! We moved to the hyatt and were blown away. Luxury from the minute you walk through the door. Our room was large with a gorgeous view from our corner balcony. We were on the third floor. Room had fridge and drinks optics which were all included...literally everything is included here...great toiletries topped up daily, tv with Netflix ect t no extra charge, air con was lovely after a day at the beach.
The pool is beautiful, very large with a number of areas depending on your likes..area close to the music n pool games, a pool bar area which is non stop and great for meeting people, an area which is a bit quieter..honestly was just lovely. We did get a lounger everyday no problem but if you want one right on the water you will need to be up early. This did not bother us as we were happy to be in the quieter cabanas to read ect. There are also cool face clothes and extra sunscreen available by the pool.
The service here is unreal, waiting staff are exceptional. Drinks by the pool were delivered constant once you ordered your first drink. Order some of the crushed ice cocktails like the mango tango
and the superman which are so delicious.
The restaurants are great. We found spice and pelicanos the best options. Omar our waiter was excellent. We went for lovely meal in Maria Marie which was great and our waiter Noe was great also. The coffee house was lovely for lunch during the day for ices coffees. Tony makes the best.
The bar has music every night which means you really don't need to leave the hotel. Bar staff make great drinks. San and Victor made me the best cocktails.
This really was a special treat for us..a luxury adult only experience which we would love to do all over again. We loved it and would recommend to anyone.
Ps. Do the xenotes day trip..brilliant

Room Tip: Maybe not above the bar as it might get noisy. Swim up rooms on first floor looked class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mwray87,

Thank you very much for sharing this detailed and truly wonderful review about your recent stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun with us and all other TA reviewers.

It was a true honor to have you as our guests and we are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic honeymoon while enjoying the beautiful suite with luxurious amenities, beautiful pool area where you were able to partake in the fun activities or relax, delicious food & beverage offerings as well as great service provided by our dedicated associates.

Thank you very much for recognizing Omar, Noe, Tony, San and Victor for their great efforts and personalized service and be assured we will share your motivating words with them and all our valued associates. They will surely be proud to know they assisted in making this once in a lifetime vacation truly memorable.

We sincerely appreciate you recommending us with your friends and family and cannot wait to host you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.