We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary at Hyatt Zilara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Mt prospect
1 review
“Amazing Anniversary at Hyatt Zilara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Tomorrow is our last day at Hyatt Zilara and we don't want to leave. We will be back for sure!
We would highly recommend this resort. Here are the top 10 things that make this resort amazing!
1) Pool and beach area (beach Cabanas are amazing)
2) Food at all restaurants (delicious, high quality food)
3) Entertainment at night (exceeded our expectations every night)
4) Hotel room (swim up suite is awesome; highly recommend the upgrade)
5) Extra Anniversary touches (bottle of champagne delivered to our room w/ rose petals)
6) Servers are all committed to excellent service (Eloisa especially made our stay very special)
7) All inclusive experience (as many drinks as you would like with very little wait; high quality liquor)
8) Spa services (great massage and full body treatment)
9) Beautiful beach (no shells) and ocean with perfect waves
10) Cancun weather is incredible (90 and sunny; no rain), 20 minutes from airport

Room Tip: Swim up suite is incredible. Highly recommended. The water in the swim up pool (semi-private) is muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Marktack,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us to be part of your anniversary celebration and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are excited to know that we were able exceed your high expectations with the great location, beautiful pool and beach areas, delicious food & beverage offerings, fun entertainment, relaxing spa and of course great service provided by dedicated associates such as Eloisa.

Thank you for recommending us with your great review and we cannot wait to have the privilege of hosting you again at Hyatt Zilara Cancun during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    137
    55
    17
    16
See reviews for
81
416
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here on honeymoon in early July. Originally booked into the Grand Caribe next door but got an upgrade...THANKS!! We moved to the hyatt and were blown away. Luxury from the minute you walk through the door. Our room was large with a gorgeous view from our corner balcony. We were on the third floor. Room had fridge and drinks optics which were all included...literally everything is included here...great toiletries topped up daily, tv with Netflix ect t no extra charge, air con was lovely after a day at the beach.
The pool is beautiful, very large with a number of areas depending on your likes..area close to the music n pool games, a pool bar area which is non stop and great for meeting people, an area which is a bit quieter..honestly was just lovely. We did get a lounger everyday no problem but if you want one right on the water you will need to be up early. This did not bother us as we were happy to be in the quieter cabanas to read ect. There are also cool face clothes and extra sunscreen available by the pool.
The service here is unreal, waiting staff are exceptional. Drinks by the pool were delivered constant once you ordered your first drink. Order some of the crushed ice cocktails like the mango tango
and the superman which are so delicious.
The restaurants are great. We found spice and pelicanos the best options. Omar our waiter was excellent. We went for lovely meal in Maria Marie which was great and our waiter Noe was great also. The coffee house was lovely for lunch during the day for ices coffees. Tony makes the best.
The bar has music every night which means you really don't need to leave the hotel. Bar staff make great drinks. San and Victor made me the best cocktails.
This really was a special treat for us..a luxury adult only experience which we would love to do all over again. We loved it and would recommend to anyone.
Ps. Do the xenotes day trip..brilliant

Room Tip: Maybe not above the bar as it might get noisy. Swim up rooms on first floor looked class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mwray87,

Thank you very much for sharing this detailed and truly wonderful review about your recent stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun with us and all other TA reviewers.

It was a true honor to have you as our guests and we are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic honeymoon while enjoying the beautiful suite with luxurious amenities, beautiful pool area where you were able to partake in the fun activities or relax, delicious food & beverage offerings as well as great service provided by our dedicated associates.

Thank you very much for recognizing Omar, Noe, Tony, San and Victor for their great efforts and personalized service and be assured we will share your motivating words with them and all our valued associates. They will surely be proud to know they assisted in making this once in a lifetime vacation truly memorable.

We sincerely appreciate you recommending us with your friends and family and cannot wait to host you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All inclusive, adult only. Wonderful options on the beach for shade! Every room has an ocean view but upgrade to a corner room if you want a wider view of the beach.Before you go, sign up for the 2 restaurants that take reservations. One is for a 6 course meal and the other Italian. Both are worth it! Room service, 24/7 is great. My over 18 year old kids ordered salmon and spinach and a hamburger at 2 AM. They had a ball!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear JanisPleasantvi... G,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you and your family at Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for taking your valuable time to write this review.

We are thrilled to know you had a perfect vacation experience while enjoying especially the delicious dining options and beautiful beach.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Cancun!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the pleasure of coming back to The Hyatt Zilara after 3 years (not previously owned by Hyatt). We are Gold members and were happy to see that Hyatt has worked out some of the kinks that we read about when they first took over. This was not a romance visit, but we had a group of 8 people, 3 couples and 2 singles.

First the staff - let me commend the incredible service by Julio, San, Moses and Ivan (aka Canelo) at the Lobby Bar. They really made our visit since we spent a great deal of time there. Their humor and professionalism was awesome. They are at your service and deserve every tip we left them. Chuy in Spice was a man in love with his job - made us laugh and at our service consistently. Rafael at the pool came to our rescue to clean our sunglasses daily and to make us reservations at the Spa. Fredy (and the chef whose name escapes me) were amazing. That was the best meal yet at Chef's Plate and Fredy made it very special by taking pictures of our large group of 8. Guadelupe serving us drinks at our swim up couldn't have been a more gracious and humble person. She was at our service and never expected anything but to serve us and make it our best trip ever. She is the type that would give the same level of service and caring weather we tripped her or not. She should be promoted (but we would hate to lose her by the swim up). Our housekeeper Daira I think worked her butt off every day for us and she was so incredibly gracious when we gave her tips throughout the week. I know tipping isn't required here, but we get great pleasure from it.

Second Entertainment - the entertainment was just right. Although keep in mind the bands stop at 10 pm. Which was ok by us since some rooms are close and some people are there to rest too. The shows in the lobby bar were really good 8-9ish - then the band plays 9-10ish. The parties on the beach (mexican/caribbean night) were very good - except the show was not that great on one of the nights, but the food and beauty of being on the beach and the band and dancing were great.

Third Logistics and Repairs - They could use some help here. My sisters room had a water leak and they had to change rooms mid-trip. But, they gave her an equivalent room and beautifully cleaned all of her clothes complimentary for free since they damaged by the water leak. Another couple we traveled with had a room where the air conditioning did not work and they spent the first night in a 90+ degree room - not fun. But the hotel switched them to another room the next day and it was all good after that.

Two of us has swim ups and we found some glass shattered on our deck (from a room on an upper floor) and some glass in the pool that we cleaned up without anyone getting hurt. We called the pool staff, but no one came to investigate. We are pretty patient, tolerant people and we know that things in Mexico take time, but that should have been top on their list.
They do need to vacuum the pool swim ups more frequently and some of the tile work/grout work around the swim ups could use some cleaning...however, once you see the view, somehow you forget about the little things.

Finally food and quality - Amazing, amazing, amazing. I cannot say enough about the food. We went everywhere, Pelicano's, Spice, Marie Marie's, Asiana and Chef's Plate and Tapas and we really think the food is a little bit better than previous stays. At least Spice and Chef's Plate definitely are.

You cannot get better service. This hotel is great for romance, but beware that sounds travel. If there is a big group like ours, noise travels into the rooms so bring ear plugs or go to a cabana to nap.

One suggestion - reserving Cabanas and chairs - they are hard to come by especially in hot summer months... and guests do get out early to reserve them. The hotel should tell guests that if they are not occupied after 2 hours, then the contents will be removed and sent to lost and found. Many people reserve them and don't show up until noon, or leave them at noon, and then leave their stuff there and you don't know they are available. Maybe also a sign or something to say when it is vacant so the staff can clean them up and make them available to other guests without guessing.

Finally - love the fact it is adult only...please don't ever change this.

Thank you so much for an incredibly amazing stay....we WILL be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Joanne V,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us once again the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing you detailed review with us.

We are sorry to read about the maintenance issues 2 members of your party experienced and to read about the lack of follow up you perceived after reporting glass in the swim up pool.

Please be assured that these issues have already been addressed and the corresponding corrective measures have been taking.

In regards to the beach cabanas please know that we have already implemented a new system in order to assure the comfort of all our valued guests.

We are very happy to read that despite these areas of opportunity you were able to enjoy your vacation at its fullest and that you especially enjoyed the fun activities and entertaining evening shows, improved dining options and great service.

We truly appreciate you mentioning so many of our valued associates and would like to assure you that we will share your great comments with every single one of them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaufman, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been timeshare holders of this resort for 9 years and since the Hyatt bought them out we saw several changes and not all for the best. Although the staff is excellent in every way, they have reduced the number of waitresses and bartenders, so it's now longer waits for drinks around the pool and at the bar. There was also an issue with getting a poolside bed. If you get up to early and leave your stuff on the bed they take it. There needs to be a set time, like 6 am so everyone has a chance to get one if they want to get up early and get it. There was also a an issue with our room and the couple we took with us, we booked 4 months in advance for a king sized bed and when we got there both of us had rooms with double beds. This was the first time EVER that we heard complaints from other guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional!! Everyone has an ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear kellydee1961,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your honest feedback with us.

We are very sorry to read that you perceived the number waiters and bartenders to be reduced, that you did not initially receive the bed type you requested and that you felt the cabanas by the pool were not always available.

Please be assured that the concerns you raised have already been addressed with the corresponding departments and the appropriate corrective measures have been taking in order to not repeat these types of situations in the future and to assure all our valued guests’ satisfaction.

We are however very pleased to read that you did not allow for these areas of opportunity to affect your overall experience and that you had another wonderful vacation while enjoying especially the personalized service provided by all our appreciated associates.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we cannot wait to host you again in the near future and to make sure you have the perfect vacation you deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel. Solomon was a great help and saw to our needs. The night manger Enrique Brizuela was tremendous and made for a great trip, thanks. The swim up rooms are fantastic. Our room was 104. Facing the ocean, the swim up rooms on the left are quietist . The middle rooms by the main pool would be more active. With room service , a premium stocked mini bar and swim up pool there is no need to leave the room. Skip duty free coming this hotel. None of the pictures do the hotel justice, it is much better than it photographs. One or two people brought their "16" year olds , how selfish of the parents. A great place for romance and relaxation . The food was great, the ground spotless and service nonstop. Will be back in late September to watch the turtles hatch.

Room Tip: Get a swim up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear tiburonel,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your kind review with us.

We are very happy to know that you had a truly relaxing and romantic vacation and that you very much enjoyed your beautiful suite, fully stocked mini bar, well-kept facilities as well as great service provided by dedicated associates such as Solomon and Enrique Brizuela.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in September and hopefully we will be able to live the truly amazing experience of hatching sea turtles together with you.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The service at this hotel is wonderful! The staff was so nice and attentive. I was thoroughly impressed. The view is amazing! The water is so blue it's almost blinding. We enjoyed eating at all the restaurants. Spice was good for breakfast. Pelicanos was great for lunch. I would recommend booking upon arrival for Chefs Plate, Maria Marie, and Asiana. We were unable to eat at Asiana due to a short stay. Chefs Plate was by far our best meal. Please know men are expected to wear pants and closed toe shoes at Chefs Plate. It's a fine dining experience. It was SO GOOD! If I had one recommendation, it would be the hotel might want to consider a separate area for listening to music and dancing. We enjoyed the music and entertainment in the lobby and bar area. Some nights we wish it could have lasted a little longer, but it's understandable with rooms directly above. We had an AWESOME time! We can't wait to return! Thank you so much for sharing paradise with us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear TN4VT,

Thank you very much for allowing us to be part of your well-deserved vacation and for sharing your wonderful experience.

We are pleased to know that you very much enjoyed the delicious dining options, gorgeous views and that you found our associates to be very attentive to your needs.

Thank you also for sharing your suggestion in regards to the separate area for listening to music and dancing and be assured that we will take this into consideration.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we cannot wait to have the privilege of hosting you again at Hyatt Zilara Cancun in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.