We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still royal standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still royal standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thank you Zilara for a fantastic return visit. We visited last 5 years ago for our honeymoon and returned for our wedding anniversary. Delighted to say it was just as good. This place is amazing. The staff... And I have to mention Felipe, Eduardo and Victor especially who were the best. Professional and caring. We were treated so well. The food especially in Asiana, Pelicanos and Spice was fantastic. Rafael on the each is a star too. We can't wait to go back. Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    135
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
77
408
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 10 days at this beautiful resort. Well located just 20 minutes from the airport. We travelled with united airlines and aeroservice pick us at the airport. Check in was ok, with cold towel and a drink. Our room wasńt ready, they offered us a upgrade but we decline it since we already had a premium deluxe oceanview room. We went for diner and by that time our room was ready. We met our concierge Mario, he was excellent and always jovial! Great guy! We accepted to attend to the meeting for the membership. The 90 minutes meeting lasted 4 hours! After talking with four different persons, we decided to sleep on our decision... It looked as it was a good bargain... We did research on the internet and the cost for the flight was double... not good! We looked at hotels which we could exchange our credits, and the ones they showed us wasńt there... They have swich pages during the presentation... not good! So for the cost, we decline the offer... after the all inclusive cost included, it wasńt worth it. So be careful and do the research.
ROOM: perfect in everyway. Not oceanview but oceanfront! Thanks to Leydi, our maid, it was always clean. David, the fridgeman, wasńt that effecient... sometimes our fridge was empty even if we left him a good tip with a note.
HOTEL: spotless and beautiful
BEACH: white sand, many chairs but no umbrella, plenty of cabanas. That wasńt a problem to get one. Frankie was the best waiter, always running in the sand! Marco was very good. The other waiters wereńt efficient, sometimes they never came to see you... but the bar wasńt far. The ocean was great, but with big waves... be careful, even in july. We walked everyday on the beach for 2 hours...
RESTAURANTS: we had diner and lunch at Pelicanos and it was very good. It is nice to eat and see the ocean. Thanks Jesus for great service. We had diner at Asiana twice. Once with the show cooking that was ok. You must reserve for it. Otherwise, you dońt need a reservation to eat upstairs and we found the food even better! We ate 3 times at Maria Marie. Once with reservation... We just show and within 15 minutes had a table... I dońt know what is the big fuss about "you must make reservations 2-3 days in advance"... And the hotel was 90% occupied we were told! Noé was our favourite server! We had breafast , lunch and diner at Spice and it was excellent. Thanks to Luis, a friendly manager, and Erich and Jesus. Always smiling and efficient. We did not try the chef´s plate because it was extra and also you must again reserve in advance but without knowing what would be the theme that night... We did not try Tapas because it is hors d'oeuvre and not a real meal... By the way, men can wear shorts at every restaurant except the chef´s plate! That is a little sad because it takes away the little something about that prestigious hotel... even women were not wearing fancy clothes...
BARS: premium brands all the time. Very good drinks. Miguel was awesome at the lobby bar. Guadelupe was the most wonderful waitress we met! The sport bar 24 hour lounge was lovely...we played pool and ping pong almost everynight. Drinks and food are always available.
SHOWS: We did not see any since they are at 8 pm... If you eat at 5 or 10, then it´s ok. That´s too bad. Same for the different degustation... They are at 5 pm... We only saw the beach party from our balcony when we were getting ready for diner.
COFFEE SHOP: great! We always had a coffee around 4 pm and it was delicious.
OVERALL: great stay! Would recommand it!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall a very nice visit to this potentially awesome hotel, however a few problems along the way prevented this from being the "dream" vacation we had hoped for. (Visited 7/15-7/20/14)

CHECK IN: We had requested early arrival and booked the top category of room (Presidential Suite). We arrived at 2:30 (3:00 pm is check-in) and were told the room we had booked would not be ready for two more hours so they would work on an alternate option. Solomon (a great staff member) provided us with a drink while this was sorted out. The new room was ready at 3:15 and it was beautiful. Top floor, center of hotel with a gorgeous view.

LOBBY: Open-air means incredibly hot and stuffy during this time of year. It was pleasant on some nights when the breeze would help cool it down, but unbearable most days. They need fans in here as it is a beautiful space but vacant most of the day due to the heat and humidity. People seek shelter in the coffee bar, Spice or VIP lounge rather than hang out there.

PRESIDENTIAL SUITE: An absolutely spectacular room with an incredible view of the ocean, beach and pool. We did wish the room's amenities had been checked out before our arrival since the DVD player, iPod station and the coffee maker didn't work. Of course we didn't realize this all at once and had to keep addressing these items as they were needed. Housekeeping staff kept the room very clean and well-stocked.

BEACH & POOL AREAS: A gorgeous beach but, as most reviews have mentioned, impossible to get a Pool Area cabana or lounge chair unless you get up at sunrise. The Beach cabanas seem easier to come by, but since we had chosen the top level, we had an assigned Beach cabana at a perfect location (midway between the beach and the pool). Our third day at the resort we noticed someone was in our cabana, but didn't do anything since we had plans for zip-lining that day. Our fourth day we noticed (from our room) that someone was in it again and called the front desk a couple hours before we would be needing it to ask the people to leave before we arrived. As we were heading down to the beach, we noticed the people were still there and went down to reception to mention it again. We were told that we needed to find the beach butler and have them removed. Wandering around in the heat with our towels for 15 mins, we still had no luck finding the beach butler (there is only one), we went back into the lobby and finally found someone who got in contact with the the beach butler. He then paraded us out to the cabana and we awkwardly stood there while he told the hotel guests to vacate. This was both embarrassing and avoidable given our previous conversations with the front desk. 45 minutes later, incredibly hot and sweaty and quite irritated, we finally had our space. Which brings us to...

THE STAFF: Most of the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and greeted us every time we saw them. However, it did appear that certain positions were under-staffed and that other staff were not capable of fulfilling the job descriptions they had. As mentioned above, there needs to be more than one person policing the beach and pool areas and making sure that the guests are looked after. The reception staff needs to be capable of handling requests and informing the appropriate staff members to assist the guests. For this caliber of hotel, guests should not be told to find someone else to help them, especially when that staff member was not assisting another guest. This was not always the case, but it happened enough to be a concern.

RESTAURANTS: On the website, it states that the ONLY restaurant you need to make reservations at is CHEF'S PLATE (only available for the upper level rooms), but upon arrival we found you needed reservations at ASIANA and MARIA MARIE as well. ASIANA's hibachi table was the highlight of our dining experiences at the hotel, but not always available. MARIA MARIE was good, but not worth waiting for the 10 PM reservation as there was only one available during our stay. PELICANO's was nice and always available for a seating. SPICE's omelette bar in the morning was great, but SPICE for dinner was terrible, as it is a buffet and most items were either cold or tasteless.

BARS & COFFEE HOUSE: The on-site coffee house was decent and one of the best places to cool down from the heat of the lobby. The bar on the beach wasn't good as the bartender that worked there during our stay didn't have much personality and was quite slow and detached. We opted to use the staff that roamed the beach to get our drinks rather than deal with him. The Tradewinds swim-up bar was always crowded, but Felipe kept the drinks coming and was a highlight of the trip. He kept notes on his hand of all the drinks and worked extremely hard to get everyone their drinks in a timely manner. Felipe was by far our favorite staff member at the hotel, but he definitely needs help out there. Lobby bar was a nice space and during the evening hours afforded a nice breeze and a comfortable place to relax and listen to the band. 24 hr lounge was also nice and air-conditioned!

The other inconvenience during our stay was that the water was off on our first full day for 12 hours (from 11PM-11AM) and we had to use the facilities at the SPA during that time. We were notified of it before it happened, but it was still an added inconvenience to the trip.

The Hyatt Zilara has a lot of potential, but having read other reviews on this site, it appears that many of our concerns continue to exist even after the General Manager and his assistant consistently repeat the same sentiment. "...be assured the issues you raised have already been communicated to the corresponding departments for the appropriate corrective measures to be taken." Until these issues are addressed, this will continue to be good experience, not the potentially awesome one it should be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Larry E,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your appreciated feedback with us.

We are very sorry to know about the shortcomings you encountered during your recent visit with your suite being delivered late and not being checked thoroughly enough prior to your arrival, the lobby bar not having enough air movement for your taste, the food at Spice for dinner not being to your liking as well as the bar tender at the beach bar not being very friendly and the pool bar being understaffed.

We are sad to read that you feel the comments received by our valued guests are not followed up appropriately, but would like to assure you that even though some changes are not visible immediately we take our valued guests concerns very seriously and all issues are being addressed appropriately.

Thank you for also pointing out some of the highlights from your stay, such as your beautiful suite, with amazing view, delicious dining options and great service provided by many of our associates, especially Solomon and Felipe.
We will most certainly share your kind words with them and I am sure they will feel motivated to continue with the great work they are doing.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your comments and suggestions to our attention and we are very much looking forward to having the privilege of welcoming you very soon in order to provide you with the excellent vacation experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely beautiful all inclusive hotel for anyone seeking the Cancun area. The beach, rooms, balconies, views, pool, spa are just amazing. I would of given 5 Star but there were a few little things that just couldn't cut it to have 5 instead of 4. Nothing that would change my mind to recommend this all inclusive hotel though.

PROS:

Beach: The Beach is absolutely amazing.

Rooms: We were in an Oceanfront Corner Suite with a larger corner balcony. Loved the Balcony and the views I got to absorb daily on this balcony. I felt the room was a decent size and comfortable. (see Cons - for one room issue)

Pool: Pool was large and spread out, never felt crowded even tho the resort was 85% full. Great views of the Ocean from the pool and pool bar.

Staff: The staff was very accommodating and friendly (except Cons day 1) We would especially like to give a shout out to Yunuen Escobar Venegas - he took great care of us by email before we arrived and during our arrival and stay. He went over and beyond to make our stay worry free!

FOOD: I have no complaints about food. Everything we tried was really good. Not amazing, but VERY good. I liked Spice for lunch to have lots of options as a buffet, we went to Chef Plate which is a great dining experience. We went to Maria Maria two times since we are in Mexico we like to eat Mexican food! We did go to the Japanese restaurant, but was not impressed. Just not my cup of tea. We tried all the other places too and had good experiences.

SPA: We went to the spa everyday, and had treatments 3 of the days. We loved the spa! Steam room, Jacuzzi and cold pludge. The women that worked there very helpful. All our treatments were professional and great.

CONS:
Our check in was disappointing, we arrived late after a delayed flight tired and hot. The girl who checked us in did not even crack a smile. And we were never offered a drink or even water. I read how there is a welcome drink when you arrive. We did not get that service. They made us sign a form that they are not responsible for lost items in the safe deposit box. I never had to do that anywhere I have stayed? Who else could get in there but the person with the master key?

ROOMS: Room to warm. The temp never got below 23C - 73 degrees. It was REALLY hot during July and this was just too warm for me. I like my AC cranked up. There was a fan in the room that helped but it was very noisy. I heard others on TI mentioned the air issue so I was prepared knowing this was going to be a problem for me.

Jacuzzi tub water was rust color when it came out....so we did not use it.

POOL: There is more than enough space but for some reason you can never get a pool cabana. They are all taken before 7am and most of them no one even shows up to use, but they left a shoe or book or what ever. This has been mentioned on TI and is a very annoying issue the resort must deal with. There is always cabanas available on the beach.

DINING: the main pool dining and swim up bar was disappointing they were Closed the first 3 days and drilling and construction going on. I have a pet peeve as a past travel agent that people should be forewarned about things like this. I go away to get away from neighbors leaf blowers and banging in their garages so I don't want to spend $$$ to go to a resort to hear construction. Just a courtesy email to guest coming would be nice to let them know.

ALL IN ALL it was a great trip and I recommend picking this all inclusive hotel for a Cancun vacation!!

Room Tip: Room 732 Corner Ocean front Suite was a amazing! If you want quite request the spa side of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Seektravel,

It has been a true pleasure to welcome you to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we sincerely appreciate your willingness to share your kind words with us.

We are truly sad to read about the shortcoming during your check in process with the front desk associate not being friendly and no welcome drink being offered, the ac in your suite not cooling down to the desired temperature, the water from the Jacuzzi having a rusty color, pool cabanas being reserved early in the mornings and Pelicanos being closed for 3 days during your stay and some noise from the preventive maintenance interrupting your tranquility.

Thank you very much for bringing these concerns to our attention and be assured the corresponding department heads will follow up appropriately in order to continue enhancing our services.

While we are truly sorry to know about the inconveniences you experienced we are very happy to know you did not allow for these areas of opportunity to affect your overall stay and that you still very much enjoyed your vacation, especially the great beach and pool area, beautiful suites with gorgeous views, relaxing spa and delicious dining.

Thank you also for recognizing our dedicated associates for the excellent service they provide, especially Yunuen Escobar who assisted in making your stay truly memorable.

We sincerely appreciate you recommending us to fellow travelers and are very much looking forward to hosting you again during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After coming to this resort every year we were a bit nervous about the change. We arrived back home last night after a 5 day stay and it was even better than years passed!! We had 3 couples and 2 18 y/o boys in our group and it was awesome with stuff for all of us. All 3 couples used the spa (as we usually do) my husband and I had Veronica and Maricarmen as our massage therapist and they were wonderful!! We kept there names so we can request them again. Our favorite bartender in the lobby was Uriel. We love seeing him there again and again every year. He always has great drink suggestions. The pool bar was Felipe this time and he was great at keeping up with the very high demand at that bar, it was always busy. There is a new menu for Maria Marie and thank goodness!! We did not like the previous French cuisine but the new menu was awesome. Asiana was our dinner for our last night. We eat hibachi and sushi a LOT at home and have never had a chef as good as Alex was! We were so shocked! I really hope he is there on our next visit. One of our guys got a cut on his leg and had to get medical attention from Mary. I am a nurse so I went with him and she took excellent care of him. I really love knowing that if something happens they are prepared right there in the resort to take care of it. I'm sure I will think of something more later but I'm sad to be home and can't wait to go back. Thank you so much Hyatt Zilara for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Nurserea,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun year after year for your well-deserved vacation and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are excited to know that we were able to exceed your high expectations with our relaxing spa, great first aid services, fun and delicious dining experiences at Asiana and the improved menu at Maria Marie.

Thank you very much for taking your time to mention some of our excellent employees, such as Veronica, Maricarmen, Uriel, Felipe, Alex and Mary, recognizing their professionalism and personalized service. They will surely be proud to know they were able to enhance your vacation experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your loyalty and we cannot wait to welcome you back home next year.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Cancun for a cousin's wedding and we originally booked at the hotel next door (Real Properties) for a cousin's wedding. When we arrived the lobby was completely filled with children (3-4 bus loads). When I asked the concierge if the children we leaving he indicated that they were leaving for a tour and would be back for the rest of the week. At that moment we decided to see if it was possible to upgrade to the Hyatt Zilara property. Luckily there were openings and we jumped on the chance. From the time we arrived until the time we departed we had an absolutely amazing experience. We stayed on a room on the 3rd floor that was oceanfront and had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool. The room was very large, had a 2 person jacuzzi in the room and a walkout balcony to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The bathroom was very large also. The resort offers daily cleaning services as well as turn down service. They whole experience was like having a cruise on land. There were activities (volleyball, yoga classes and etc.) and events (shows at night)throughout the day. A number of restaurants to choose from for all meals (be aware some of the restaurants (Chefs Plate and Asiana) require reservations and try to make them at the beginning of your stay to ensure you can get seating). There were a variety of cuisines and we did not have one bad meal at the resort. The main annoyance was that resort guests would "reserve" cabanas and seats. A number of times when we came out after breakfast all of the chairs and cabanas were taken by upside down tables, sunscreen bottles, books and etc. But once you found a spot, there were constant personnel walking past taking drink orders and checking up to see if you needed anything. Due to the warm temperatures and the high humidity many days the pool was the same temperature as the air. It was uncomfortable at times but the ocean wasn't much better. A couple of times we went to the hotel next door to visit the children attending the wedding and it was absolute chaos. Drunk teenagers everywhere and loud music. We were very glad we upgraded and we would highly recommend this resort to someone looking to get away for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with an Oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trvlchic5,

First of all we would like you to know that it was a true privilege to host you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your cousin’s wedding and we truly appreciate you taking your time to write this review.

We are excited to know that you were very happy with your decision to upgrade to our resort and that you truly enjoyed the luxurious suites, gorgeous views, fun day and night time activities and shows as well as the delicious dining options available.

We are very sorry to read about the lack of beach cabanas you experienced as well as the pool being too warm for your liking due to the heat.
Be assured your concerns have already been addressed with the corresponding departments for the appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for two weeks at the beginning of July 2014. we fully enjoyed the holiday and the hotel was fantastic. although this is said a few improvements would make this hotel better.
As stated in other reviews the rooms are big and very well appointed. The air conditioning is not good in the rooms, but the ceiling fan is ok (although there is no speed settings, only on/off. The maid staff are brilliant and the rooms are always clean and tidy. Try to avoid rooms around 218 as these rooms are positioned above the mini bar and can get very noisy. The noise mainly comes from a band that is set up on a night. Personally we found the band quite bad with a very loud base noise. Although the band could do with a number of sound checks, there was other shows featured in the hotel including dancers an performing art acts. Although these were great to watch they were only on in the early evenings and easily missed.
The bar staff are great you could not ask for better people and highly trained. The drinks provided in the hotel were at a very high standard, personally I can recommend the cocktails and the Scooby doo shots! As well as the bar staff the pool and beach waiters are exceptional.
The food in the hotel couldn't be better, although this doesn't apply to all as we didn't eat in all the restaurants provided in the hotel. Peliconas (a restaurant in the hotel) was closed for the first week for renovation, due to this there was many large noises which could be heard from rooms around 218. Room service is exceptional with a very good menu available 24/7.
The pool was very nice but nothing to rave about as you have to get up at 5am to get a nice lounger because the pool man/cleaner had been tipped by other guests to keep them until they arrive leaving them unavailable for the other guests.
The pool itself is not deep about 3.5 feet which in itself is good BUT turns into a hot bath by 10.30 am, also I'm not use to pool staff putting chemicals in the pool when I'm in it . as the result of this we used the sea to cool down. the sea and the beach is very beautiful and the sand is just like the pictures. Although this is said you are not allowed in the sea before 9am. we understand this to be a rule since there is no life guard on duty. But as this is an adult only hotel I don't see why this is an issue (I am not going to go as deep as the titanic) when the life guards are on duty they don't pay any attention any way. This was a realisation of ours when many people were taken off their feet by the waves and the life guards would sit without moving.
With the hotel being an adult only hotel this provided a quiet atmosphere (as there was no screaming kids and arrogant Russians) but also allowing adult pool parties. perfect for a group chat and drink and getting to know and enjoy the holiday with new people. The swim up bar was a very social area were we met a great bunch of people from different countries such as the US, Canada and Ireland. We give many thanks to our friends from Toronto, Canada for leaving a present for me and my husband. You know who you are!
Although I have mentioned bad points about this hotel don't let this sway you against the hotel. We have had an amazing time and looking forward to return to this hotel next year which is unusual for me and my husband as we don't normally stay at the same place twice!
The management only acknowledges staff if the names are placed on trip advisor. They do not accept good reviews and comments of staff by word of mouth (we found this unacceptable that good staff were only recognised if the names were placed on this website and not by comments made to management) Although this is said we appreciated the staff so much that we would like to give thanks to all the people below for making our holiday one of the best we have had. we would appreciate if the management would reward these members of staff appropriately.
A very great thank you to: DAYSI....GLADILOPI.....HECTOR....ALFREDO.....ROBERTO.... IVON.....ROMAN..... TONY.......ZEPEDA.......SOLAMAN.

Loraine. Bob xxx

Room Tip: floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Loraine. Bob xxx,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing this detailed review with us.

We are truly sorry to read about the areas of opportunity you encountered with the air conditioning in your suite not functioning correctly, the live music not being to your liking, the pool being quite warm towards the end of the day as well as the life guard by the beach not being attentive enough.

Please be assured that these concerns have already been raised with the corresponding departments for their review and immediate follow up.

We are however very pleased to know that you did not allow for these areas of opportunity to affect your overall stay and that you truly enjoyed your overall stay with delicious food & beverage offerings, comfortable suites, great views and wonderful service provided by our dedicated associates.

We always very much appreciate our guests recognizing our valued associates through any media and will most certainly make sure to share your kind words with every single one of them, especially Daysi, Guadalupe, Hector, Alfredo, Roberto, Ivan, Roman, Tony; Zepeda and Solomon.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back next year.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.