We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Upgrade Decision We Have Ever Made!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best Upgrade Decision We Have Ever Made!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited Cancun for a cousin's wedding and we originally booked at the hotel next door (Real Properties) for a cousin's wedding. When we arrived the lobby was completely filled with children (3-4 bus loads). When I asked the concierge if the children we leaving he indicated that they were leaving for a tour and would be back for the rest of the week. At that moment we decided to see if it was possible to upgrade to the Hyatt Zilara property. Luckily there were openings and we jumped on the chance. From the time we arrived until the time we departed we had an absolutely amazing experience. We stayed on a room on the 3rd floor that was oceanfront and had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool. The room was very large, had a 2 person jacuzzi in the room and a walkout balcony to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The bathroom was very large also. The resort offers daily cleaning services as well as turn down service. They whole experience was like having a cruise on land. There were activities (volleyball, yoga classes and etc.) and events (shows at night)throughout the day. A number of restaurants to choose from for all meals (be aware some of the restaurants (Chefs Plate and Asiana) require reservations and try to make them at the beginning of your stay to ensure you can get seating). There were a variety of cuisines and we did not have one bad meal at the resort. The main annoyance was that resort guests would "reserve" cabanas and seats. A number of times when we came out after breakfast all of the chairs and cabanas were taken by upside down tables, sunscreen bottles, books and etc. But once you found a spot, there were constant personnel walking past taking drink orders and checking up to see if you needed anything. Due to the warm temperatures and the high humidity many days the pool was the same temperature as the air. It was uncomfortable at times but the ocean wasn't much better. A couple of times we went to the hotel next door to visit the children attending the wedding and it was absolute chaos. Drunk teenagers everywhere and loud music. We were very glad we upgraded and we would highly recommend this resort to someone looking to get away for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with an Oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    133
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
76
404
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for two weeks at the beginning of July 2014. we fully enjoyed the holiday and the hotel was fantastic. although this is said a few improvements would make this hotel better.
As stated in other reviews the rooms are big and very well appointed. The air conditioning is not good in the rooms, but the ceiling fan is ok (although there is no speed settings, only on/off. The maid staff are brilliant and the rooms are always clean and tidy. Try to avoid rooms around 218 as these rooms are positioned above the mini bar and can get very noisy. The noise mainly comes from a band that is set up on a night. Personally we found the band quite bad with a very loud base noise. Although the band could do with a number of sound checks, there was other shows featured in the hotel including dancers an performing art acts. Although these were great to watch they were only on in the early evenings and easily missed.
The bar staff are great you could not ask for better people and highly trained. The drinks provided in the hotel were at a very high standard, personally I can recommend the cocktails and the Scooby doo shots! As well as the bar staff the pool and beach waiters are exceptional.
The food in the hotel couldn't be better, although this doesn't apply to all as we didn't eat in all the restaurants provided in the hotel. Peliconas (a restaurant in the hotel) was closed for the first week for renovation, due to this there was many large noises which could be heard from rooms around 218. Room service is exceptional with a very good menu available 24/7.
The pool was very nice but nothing to rave about as you have to get up at 5am to get a nice lounger because the pool man/cleaner had been tipped by other guests to keep them until they arrive leaving them unavailable for the other guests.
The pool itself is not deep about 3.5 feet which in itself is good BUT turns into a hot bath by 10.30 am, also I'm not use to pool staff putting chemicals in the pool when I'm in it . as the result of this we used the sea to cool down. the sea and the beach is very beautiful and the sand is just like the pictures. Although this is said you are not allowed in the sea before 9am. we understand this to be a rule since there is no life guard on duty. But as this is an adult only hotel I don't see why this is an issue (I am not going to go as deep as the titanic) when the life guards are on duty they don't pay any attention any way. This was a realisation of ours when many people were taken off their feet by the waves and the life guards would sit without moving.
With the hotel being an adult only hotel this provided a quiet atmosphere (as there was no screaming kids and arrogant Russians) but also allowing adult pool parties. perfect for a group chat and drink and getting to know and enjoy the holiday with new people. The swim up bar was a very social area were we met a great bunch of people from different countries such as the US, Canada and Ireland. We give many thanks to our friends from Toronto, Canada for leaving a present for me and my husband. You know who you are!
Although I have mentioned bad points about this hotel don't let this sway you against the hotel. We have had an amazing time and looking forward to return to this hotel next year which is unusual for me and my husband as we don't normally stay at the same place twice!
The management only acknowledges staff if the names are placed on trip advisor. They do not accept good reviews and comments of staff by word of mouth (we found this unacceptable that good staff were only recognised if the names were placed on this website and not by comments made to management) Although this is said we appreciated the staff so much that we would like to give thanks to all the people below for making our holiday one of the best we have had. we would appreciate if the management would reward these members of staff appropriately.
A very great thank you to: DAYSI....GLADILOPI.....HECTOR....ALFREDO.....ROBERTO.... IVON.....ROMAN..... TONY.......ZEPEDA.......SOLAMAN.

Loraine. Bob xxx

Room Tip: floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited the hyatt zilara in may and loved every second of it !
The staff where fab and couldn't do enough for you !
The food was brilliant lots of choice and the quality was fab too ! ....
We also spent the most special day of our lifes here as we got married was very impressed how laid back it was ...However probably could have had a little bit more contact with me whilst my stay as it's not something you do everyday so it's nice to be in the loop .
The hotel was stunning ! Lovley to look at and very clean ! Brilliant location right on the beach ! Couldn't have ask for anymore ! Wish we could go here every year !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sad that our trip was ended. Really enjoyed the Resort where in nothing went wrong and enjoyed every bit of our time. I went with my wife for the first time to Zilara after a lot of research and reading the reviews and we were very happy at the end. Great facilities, Excellent room, Delicious food in all the restaurants, Great beaches, Pools, Spas and very nice Beach.
All the restaurants are top notch and we tried and enjoyed multiple meals and drinks and all the restaurants are good except the SPICE. Peliconas, Asiana, Tapas and Maria maria were all great. The coffee house also offered good coffee and smoothies.
We enjoyed the Gym and Zumba dance and thy have a very good Tennis court and had a very good time playing some tennis with MOTTO, the pro. He was very nice and friendly and taught me some basics on the back hand and we played a Set of Tennis, I really enjoyed the chat between the points and very entertaining and fun. He made you sweat and dont miss his lessons.
All the waiters are good and courteous and help you chose the right choice. All the other staff are good as well. We also enjoyed the para-sailing and it was fun.
Over all great experience and will be going back next year.

Johnny,
Washington DC

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Johnny N,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your vacation and for writing this wonderful review.

We are very happy to read that you had a truly excellent vacation experience while enjoying the great facilities, luxurious suites, delicious dining with Spice being your least favorite, beautiful pool and beach area, fun activities and great service provided by our dedicated associates, such as Mauro the tennis pro.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to having the privilege of hosting you again next year!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Rachel & Gail from Scotland

I have just returned from the Hyatt Zilara with my sister , having spent 14 days here , I wanted to mention the following staff members who made our holiday the best ever .
Nava at the beach & lobby bar , he was soo attentive & knowledgable on various drinks and made us some fantastic cocktails and shots, a truly lovely and friendly guy who is an absolute asset to the hotel.
Evian at the entertainment was also a lovely guy who was very friendly and made everyone feel welcome.
Victor and Ivan at the lobby bar, Frankie the waiter, Miriam , Guadalupe Moises beach bar , Raphael , German, bellboy , Enrique the night manager and lots of others.
The rooms were beautiful and the view was to die for. I will be returning to the hotel in October due to the above members of staff who made this holiday so memorable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Rachel & Gail,

Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your amazing experience with us.

We are excited to read that you truly enjoyed the beautiful suite, gorgeous view and especially the excellent service received by our associates.

We truly appreciate you recognizing our valued associates such Nava, Evian, Victor, Ivan, Frankie, Miriam, Guadalupe, Moises, Raphael, German and Enrique for their dedication and personalized service provided and will most certainly share your motivating words with every single one of them.
They will most certainly be proud to know that they positively influenced your vacation experience and have earned your appreciated loyalty.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to pamper you again during your next visit in October.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I want to start by saying that we had a great time during our 7 day stay at Hyatt Zilara. We stayed in room 401, premium ocean front deluxe suite with wrap around balcony. The toilet ran almost all the time, but it seemed to work ok. It was a beautiful room but was not what I signed up for. When I booked it, the description included premium liquors but when I got there, it was the same liquors that all other rooms got. Our friends were in a swim up room, so we got to compare our liquors with theirs and they definitely had a higher grade of liquor. Don't bother with the premium ocean front deluxe room, either get the swim up room or forget it. It is not worth the money. From now on, I will always print off the web page description of the room and take it with me because the front desk just shrugged when I complained about the low grade liquors. Another thing that you need to know is that the cabanas around the pool are first come first served, however, I got up at 6am to claim one of the cabanas only to find that none were available even at that early hour. The pool boys may be able to find you one if you tip heavy, however that is not always certain. If the towel is still rolled up on the cabana bed then you can claim it as yours, but even then I was scolded by someone who had supposedly put his bag on the cabana bed early that morning, only to find out that on that day a new rule was imposed (unbeknown to the guests) that no cabanas could be claimed prior to 7am and all property got confiscated by security that morning. What a mess. Hyatt needs to just charge for the cabanas by the pool for the day so that guests can prebook them.
Raphael by the pool was the best! He was a beach butler who made sure that guests were having a good time. He got us a cabana one day only to feel the wrath of a guest who thought she had already claimed it. Raphael made peace with her. What a diplomat he is!! The food was 8/10 for me but my "hard to please husband" gave it a lower rating. He is vey hard to please to take that with a grain of salt. A word of advice, the day you check in, go ahead and make reservations at Marie Marie and the Asiana restaurants otherwise you will never get to eat there. We did not know this and so we never got to eat at either of these restaurants. The alcohol flows freely there anywhere in the hotel. The waiters and all of the staff were extremely friendly and respectful! The cabanas on the ocean are great but caution regarding the sun on the beach.....even in the shade you can get a horrible sunburn. Wear tons of 70+, because that is all that will work down on the beach, even in the shade of a cabana!!! We got stuck in the hotel elevator once and it was so hot that I thought my husband would have a stroke due to his anger and the intense heat. After about 5 mins they rescued us so it was not that bad. Caution, when the elevator is overloaded is when it will get stuck, so ride by yourself whenever possible. The nightly entertainment was OK but after a couple of nights, it all seemed the same. We did the wine tasting and tequila tasting and both of those were fun. The pools are 8/10 but the main pool gets too hot by the end of the day. The swim up pools are cooler and more refreshing. The spa was OK but not great. Needs a few more touches of finesse. The north end of the hotel is loud. The music is like night club music and is relentless. The south end of the hotel property is quieter and no music. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room on the south end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear oualumni,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun during your recent vacation and for sharing this detailed and honest review with us.

We are truly sorry to read that you felt disappointed with the Premium Liqour selection in your suite, the WC running constantly, that the dining was not entirely to your taste and that you did not get to try all of the upscale dining options, that you found the spa and entertainment could be improved as well as the system for the beach cabanas and especially that you got stuck in the elevator for a few minutes.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for these areas of opportunity and please be assured that we have already communicated your comments and suggestions to the corresponding department for the appropriate follow up.

We are however pleased to read that you did not allow for this to affect your overall stay and your still had a great vacation while you enjoyed especially the great service received by Raphael.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back in the near future in order to provide you with the perfect experience we aim to provide to all our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time in Cancun. We have previously been to The Royal Playa Del Carmen twice before. While we find the Playa to be more intimate and friendly, we were very happy with Cancun. The layout of the resort is perfect as most rooms have a beachfront view with large balconies over-looking the pools and large sandy beach. The rooms are large with very comfortable beds and your own spa/tub. Tile floors thru-out, very clean, and two-person shower. We are Real Club members, but found the club concierge to be useless. Had to go "above their heads" to Marcelo Peon who got us what we needed. Quite a difference from the Playa Del Carmen where Yali Perez (Real Club Concierge) took care of every little detail we asked for. Found the rest of the staff at Cancun to be friendly and helpful. Shout-out to Eduardo at the swim up bar, Tony in Coffee House, Miguel at the Lobby Bar, Jasmine (hostess), all the staff at the Spice restaurant as well as our room (Olivea) and mini-bar attendant (Dave).

Room Tip: Get an Ocean-Front room! Many are, but some are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Douglas273,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun once again for your recent vacation and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us.

While we are sorry to read that the Real Club Concierge was not as helpful as you are accustomed, we are very happy to know that Marcelo Peon was able to assist you with all your needs as well as Eduardo, Tony, Miguel, Jasmine, Olivia and Dave.

Please be assured that we will share your kind words with them and I am certain they will feel truly motivated to continue in providing great service to all our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your loyalty and we cannot wait to host you again during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.