We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Cancun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punta Cancun
Save
You added Punta Cancun to your Saves list
Boulevard Kukulcan, Cancun, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Brooklyn NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The Jewel of Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed in Unit H-3 at Punta Cancun Towers and had an excellent stay.

H-3 is owned and managed by Diane. She was very approachable and professional and really contributed to making my stay exceptional. The Booking process was simple.

Location and Grounds: Punta Cancun towers is located between the Riu Cancun Resort and the Fiesta Americana resort in a prime area of the Hotel Zone. You can conveniently walk to the clubs and shopping districts within the hotel zone. Bus stops are close to the tower as well. The Punta Cancun security and grounds are superb. The staff was always friendly, attentive and willing to help. The pools and landscape were clean and well maintained. The beach access was good to despite most of the sand taken by the hurricane a few years go. However just a few feet down from the beach access stairs is a great patch of sand to relax and play.

Unit: The unit was on the third floor and offered exceptional ocean views. The unit contains 3 bedrooms. One Master king with bath and shared balcony with living room, One Two Twin bedroom with attached bath and shared balcony with room next door which is a Queen room with bath across the hall. A spacious and bright living and dinning area, kitchen, laundry room and storage room. The unit was exceptionally decorated throughout. The unit is well maintained and offers free calls to the US and wifi throughout.

Experience: Five Star Comfort and security in an awesome location... what more could I ask for. I fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean every night... That was simply wonderful. I highly recommend this complex and unit. Just make sure you leave a week free for me because I plan to return to this fine jewel really soon.

Room Tip: Unit H3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Punta Cancun Condos are in a good location, near restaurants and shopping. You can take the bus just about anywhere in Cancun for $1.00 U.S. The grounds of the Punta Cancun condos are very well cared for and the staff in professional and very courteous. It felt secure and safe. Our condo showed some wear and tear, but who spends much time inside when you are in Cancun? The beach in front of these condos is fairly eroded and there isn't much space to lay in the sun or play games in the sand. The hotel beaches are far nicer, but that is to be expected. I recommend a day trip on the ferry over to Isla Mujeres. It is a quaint island with a lot of nice shops and bars near the beach. You can rent a golf cart and tour the whole island in a few hours (make sure you don't rent your cart on the ferry). We even took a bus trip down to Playa Del Carmen for the day and had a great time. These condos are a good choice for a group of friends who want reasonable accomodations in a central location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The condo is right in the heart of everything and just a short walk from some decent restaurants. The Argentine Steakhouse in the shopping center where Hard Rock Cafe is located is outstanding.

If you're looking for the nightclub/bar scene you'll be pleased that it's only a short walk away. If you're looking for "real" mexican food, though, you'll need to search away from the area. Most of the restaurants are of the American chain variety (Hooters, Outback, Hard Rock, etc.), but there are some decent local options if you look for them. There are a couple of little local joints across the parking lot from Plaza Caracol which is across the street from the condo.

I would highly recommend renting a car regardless of where you're staying in Cancun. Unless you plan on spending your entire stay within a mile of where you're staying, or you plan on hitting the bars heavily every night......rent a car.

Car rentals are cheap in Cancun. I rented a minivan for my boss ($53/day) and a full size car for myself ($25/day). It's about 30 minutes to drive from the airport to the Hotel Zone and the highway is a four lane divided highway all the way through the area. Roads are very well marked and easy to drive.

There are a number of other places within the Hotel Zone (which is about 20 miles long) that are worth a visit and lots of eating and shopping opportunities. Playa del Carmen is only about 45 minutes down the highway (there is a ferry to the island of Cozumel there), and the ferry to Isla Mujeres is only a few minutes from the condo.

Be sure to get accurate driving directions before you get to Cancun. The condo is located between the Fiesta Americana and the Riu, but is not well marked. If you go past Plaza Caracol you've gone too far.

Great spot, great facilities, and great value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Punta Cancun is a beautiful condo complex in the hotel zone. We found it through vrbo.com and the owner Andy could not have been any friendlier or helpful. He even has a property manager who lives in Cancun that can help you with anything you may need. Andy's condo was on the second floor with a beautiful view of the caribbean sea. The bedrooms were spacious and clean and the living room and kitchen were comfy and state of the art. The security staff were all very friendly. The gym there is a perfect size with new machines and the pools are warm with plenty of chairs. There is easy access to the beach and "party zone". We rented a car for a few days, but it's not necessary as you can take the bus everywhere for cheap. We love staying in condos when we travel now...big rooms, late check-outs and kitchens to cook and prepare anything you need/want. If you're thinking of going to Cancun, definitely check this place out. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This is a lovely complex of new condo's owned by private owners. We located our condo on the site: www.homeaway.com. Several units are listed there. It is a gated/guarded complex with security guards on duty 24/7/365. We felt totally safe. We stayed in unit "G-1".
We are 50+ and were celebrating an anniversay. We traveled with our daughter & son-in-law (celebrating his 30th birthday) and their two girls ages 11 months and 9 yrs old. The ground floor unit was ideal, especially with the baby. We shopped at Wal-Mart for groceries (great prices) and only ate out a few times. It was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. We loved having separate bed and bathrooms, and then having a common area to hang out in. There are 3 great pools, a full service spa and a nice gym to work out in. The complex is close to everything and you can walk or ride the bus to most destinations if you want. Taxis are also readily available.
We've been to Mexico several times and stayed in a variety of places and enjoyed them all. I did think the food in the restaurants was on the "high" side. The fresh fish and seafood was excellent but the "American" dishes were just so-so. Also there has been quite a bit of beach erosion in the area but that didn't bother us; it was much nicer to sit around the infinity pool and watch the ocean rather than swim in it. I would definately recommend this to anyone considering a relaxing retreat!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

Just got back from a week at Punta Cancun Condos. I have been to Cancun/Playa Del Carmen 7 times in the last five years and this is my favorite place we have stayed. We stayed in unit G4 and booked thru VRBO. The complex is only a few years old and everything looks fresh and new. The furnishings were very modern but comfortable. The kitchen was a little small, but perfectly fine for a vacation when you aren't spending much time there. We did miss having a dishwasher.

The complex has a few unique things. They have 3 pools. For a small condo complex it has lots of swimming options. There is the heated infinity pool, a cooler plunge pool with a waterfall and built in loungers, and an afternoon pool on the street side of the complex. This was probably put in because the shadow of the buildings covers the beach side pool area around 2 p.m.

The complex has it's own spa on site. We used the spa a few times. They had a kid's package for $50 that included a manicure, pedicure, and 25 minute massage. My daughter thought that was fantastic, her first massage. There was a jacuzzi in the spa as well as one outside. The one outside was warm the first few days and then we could never get it warm the last few days. We asked the security guards to warm it up but either it was broken or they didn't understand our Spanglish.

I have never seen a place with so many elevators, we never had to wait. We pretty much felt like we had two private elevators to our unit. It was not crowded in the complex at all. It seemed like maybe some people live there full time. We always had plenty of chairs to chose from by the pool.

One downside to this place is the beach erosion. I was told by several people that this area of Cancun had one of the prettiest beaches at one time. But it is completely gone in front of the complex, the waves pretty much go up to the wall. There is some beach in front of the Riu right next door, but it is pretty crowded. We are more of a pool family anyway, but it was a bit of a bummer to walk down there and have nothing.

So overall it would say it is an excellent place to stay. We had three bedrooms, one king and two with two double beds in each. So lots of space. It was easy to have breakfast at home and even come up for lunch, but then we did fun dinners out most nights. There are lots of eating and shopping places directly across the street. So if you needed gum or sunscreen, it was extremely easy.

  • Liked — the pools and the modern decor of the condo unit, and the price $1500/week
  • Disliked — lack of beach
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

Our whole family, 11 of us stayed at the Punta Cancun the 15th to the 21st and had a wonderful time, The condo we stayed in was beautiful, we were on the forth floor and had a nice view of the ocean. The pool was an infinity pool that hung right over the beach. OH the beach was so nice, the sand so soft and it never got hot even on the hottest days. They have nice cabanas on the beach and longers also. Just a few steps away there is a resturant where you can buy alcohol drinks and sodas and also food. You can walk to shopping and resturants in a few minutes, and the bus stop is very close to the condo if you need to go to town or wal-mart. There is a small store down the street if you need just a few things. The women who manages the condo (Olga) is very nice and helpful, she met us right at the gate when we got there the first day and showed us to our condo. The next time we plan a big family get together we will definitely come back here.

  • Liked — Beautifil beach and pool
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Punta Cancun Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.