We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, low key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blv. Kukulcan km 4 Zona Hotelera | Calle del Pescador Lote D-83, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value, low key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

If you're looking to spend a few days in Cancun, enjoying its magnificent beaches but avoiding the overwhelming paraphernalia of eyesore international resort monsters, including their Orlando-esque restaurants and malls, then this hotel is a great value for you. It's located at Km 4 of Boulevard Kukulcan, which means you are a quick hop on a bus away from the city center, as you are from some of the popular beaches further south in the Zona Hotelera. But if you don't want to travel, you are a few meters from Boulevard Kukulcan, across from which there's an "public entrance" to the beach and the dock with ferries to Isla Mujeres. Excellent location for that. There are few restaurants in the area, and some supermarkets. You can also have dinner at the hotel restaurant.
The hotel is not fancy, but very comfortable and relaxing. The pool is big, with some deck chairs and the marina just behind you. Breakfast is served under a huge palapa, where you can sip coffee while you enjoy the view of the yachts and the lush tropical garden. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and include a room safe, cable TV, and aircon. The staff is very friendly, both at the front desk and the restaurant. I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    93
    56
    43
    39
See reviews for
56
88
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is a suprisingly pleasant hotel with, clean, adequately spacious rooms, really nice gardens surrounding the pool, a nice palapa-style restaurant for breakfast (with good WiFi), and friendly staff.

Our room was very nice with large french windows opening onto a private patio with a path leading to the pool through the garden. However there are other rooms which seem to only have a small window (described in other reviews).

The area is quiet with no noise or light at night. The beds are firm which is how I like them. We didn't use the air conditioning (mentioned as noisy in other reviews), so no comment there.

Obviously this isn't a 5-star hotel, and a few details could be improved (stained mirror in the bathroom, ceiling in need of painting) but overall it's great value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed here after arriving on 10pm flight. Got rental car and headed from airport north through hotel zona, knowing it was on southbound side. Make a "returno" around the Holiday Inn as you're leaving the strip and it's past the OXXO on a small side street - I didn't see any signs on main road. Room was basic, and the floors were incredibly slippery for some reason. The bathroom was large and nice, one plus. Had breakfast in the morning that was OK, but other than a small (but nice) pool, not much to do here on property. I doubt I'd stay again as it's far from the airport and I'm looking to head south anyway once I get to Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Great little place!!‎ -
I'm a Southwest Airlines flight attendant. I fly for a living and travel constantly. For work, we stay in 4 star hotels but in my off time, i like to spend less $. this is a great place for the money. clean, yes, clean, food was really good, and off the obnoxious strip of party hotels. the buildings are only 3 floors high (i think?) and there are many buildings. A/C worked, shower was strong, just cute all the way around. the atrium/walkways were very exotic garden of palm trees, greenery and leaves. small pool but who's staying at the pool? the hotel faces the Lagoon side but across the street, can access many public beaches. closer to downtown rather than the airport side but a quick bus stop on the Kulkukan street. I recommend. ignore the bad reviews. the staff friendly. all english speakers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We got a great rate on hotwire for this hotel. We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The room are simple, clean and spacious. The rate included continental breakfast which was OK but they should ask a few more bucks and include the full breakfast instead. The pool area is very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only inconvenient is that there is no beach access near by. It is a great place for stopover a night or two. We would go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

It's pretty good. The rooms were clean, decent, they have a nice swimmingpool, the staff is nice...it's just Cancun that sucks !

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Blv. Kukulcan km 4 Zona Hotelera | Calle del Pescador Lote D-83, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Hotel And Yacht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.