We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Exton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a very friendly hotel with a staff that made you feel at home. It was extremely clean and comfortable. All of the staff was attentive and helped in any way possible. The food was good and varied. It made me feel like it was a home away from home!

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet and good for sleeping and relaxing. It was a good place to rest before venturing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    142
    130
    51
    67
See reviews for
136
164
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Located on the northern leg of the Cancun beach strip (Along Blvd Kukulkan) this is a decent, clean hotel ideal for the value traveler. It is right on the beach however, the beach is relatively thin and does not compare to the wide, beautiful beach starting north from Playa Delfines at the southern end of the Hotel strip. It has two basic, unheated pools with no swim-up bar. Facilities, food were very average but well maintained. At an all-inclusive price closer to $1,000 Canadian...this was the non-glamorous alternative to the 4 & 5 star resorts prices in the $1,300-$1,600 per person and up range. Service was decent...but as suggested by some other reviewers...was much better when fueled with lots of those $1 U.S. tips!! :-) I traveled with a buddy and we both felt that we got good value from this hotel and enjoyed our stay. But we'd both chose a more glamorous hotel if returning with our girlfriends...

Room Tip: We had the pool-beach view and were completely satisfied with the size, cleanliness and service for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only one short night here for contiki but so glad we got to try it out. Spacious rooms awwwwesome shower. On a beautiful intimate beachfront. Free wifi. Comfy beds cute lil balcony. Ask for a room facing the oceanfrony. Massage/beauty ladies out by the beach, really really good and affordable. Other side of town centre -not the airport side. I wish i could stay longer! Would absolutly come back

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night on points and dollars for AI...the hotel is clean, the rooms are a little 'white"....drab...for my taste, but the shower was hot!! And the water pressure was good. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was super nice...from the parking attendant to the front desk. The drinks were good. The food: I am not picky. However, I was disappointed. While the food is plentiful and good...it has zero flavor. Again, I would not hesitate to stay here again, however, I would not take AI.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Holiday Inn Arenas February 8-15, 2015. In short we enjoyed our stay and recommend this all inclusive resort.
Now some details; There are two 4-story buildings located on the beach about 20 minutes from the airport. There are 2 pools. The main restaurant is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. There are 2 a la carts; an Italian restaurant and a patio grill. They are open 2 nights a week. The food was good and plentiful. Twice the buffet moved to a theater room where they presented a musical show. The entertainers were very professional and the costumes were quite good. There are bars located by the large pool and the lobby. Hotel staff are also taking orders and delivering drinks to guests at the beach and pool. There is a snack bar beside the small pool (hamburgers, fries, pizza, etc.). There are some weeds in the ocean in front of the hotel, but the swimming area is free of weeds. The beach is very nice, you can walk in either direction for about ½ hour before you have to turn around. The hotel is very clean, which is why we chose it in the first place. Staff are constantly cleaning, it is obvious the hotel is serious about cleanliness. The staff is very friendly and attentive. There are bus stops right outside the hotel, busses come every couple of minutes and a bus ride is $1.

Room Tip: Ocean and Pool views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed there Feb 2nd to Feb 10th, we loved it. The staff can't do enough for you, the desk people need a little work on their customer service as they are your first impression of the hotel. The food got a bid boring but their was always lots of it. The staff work very hard at making your vacation enjoyable. If i could say anything negative about the room it would be the shower pressure, very low. But if they cleaned the shower heads with CLR they could get the build up out and it would be better. If you are looking for the big hotel experience go to the big hotel names. This is excately what you pay for and We LOVED it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After some years without the opportunity to take vacation time the opportunity to rest some days arise when my wife was programmed to attend a medical symposium at Cancun, we searched an found so many unknown hotels and prices that we decided to select Holiday Inn due the standard quality the chain has.

Not a great idea, the Hotel infrastructure is not in the comfort level we expected, the rooms are not really noise isolated, the furniture need to be upgraded and some important things must be considered to improve the guest experience (towels, bed's clothing and pillows, PLEASE),

In a beach hotel with such a beautiful place & the brand name, there should be a better way to provide much more comfortable and pleasant stay; hope they do something to improve.

It seems there is a real opportunity to make this hotel shine and take advantage of the brand and location.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ricardo d,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the noise, bedding amenities and quality of furniture. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.