We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, though not for Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #95 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, though not for Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel however it doesn't compare to other hotels in Cancun, nor to other Holiday Inn's around the world. The staff were friendly and service was fast at the front desk, rooms refreshed well daily and we weren't at all disturbed.

The only lack of service was that the room service was confusing as it doesn't run all day/night and swaps from the buffet to pool bar etc. though they don't run on time so for a few hours of the day there was nowhere to eat within the hotel.

The location is not very good as it is not in the centre of Cancun and the beach is quite murky with seaweed, unlike the other end of Cancun where they are crystal blue.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to be away from the action or are looking for a short, cheap stay. It's a good hotel however nothing special for Cancun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    136
    117
    50
    67
See reviews for
130
152
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank goodness I was not looking for an all inclusive resort and we were just here to sleep. The rooms were a decent size, beds comfortable and the room clean but thats the standard things, its what you expect from a hotel. Its the extras that they truly disappointed me. Firstly they say free Wifi but it never worked unless you were in the lobby. The maid had the A/C so low that the room steamed up and water was literally dripping from the roof and the floor was so slippery. I just did not feel comfortable at this hotel.

On the up side the breakfast was great, really good balance spread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear TinoStar_13,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

We are saddened to read that we have failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our WiFi service and air conditioning system. We regret that your experience was not ideal and sorry for the lapse in service.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel totally ruined my trip to Cancun and Mexico. As soon as I arrived things went wrong, staying with a friend and they give us double bed even though we requested twin share. Staff couldn't care less, horrible and rude. Stated they had no soare room. They stated they would give us a trundle bed for room, i argued with them that i had paid for twin share and wanted my money back, only then Transferred to a second room which stank of smoke and mould, sticky and damp, aircon not operating, requesting 3 times to get it fixed. On second day we both came down with severe flu, the dampness and mould in air conditioning the definate reason. Poor service, staff rude and abrasive, breakfast was almost in edible and we ate not fussy eaters. Breakfast was included however on the last day a rude waiter demanded that I pay $35 US for hot breakfast of a fried egg and toast! The only time the staff approached you was when they had their hand out for money.
Place is filthy and unwelcoming. We couldn't sleep as doors banging and yelling by maids, also the location of the hotel is a 10-15 min bus ride from the main strip. We couldn't even relax on gne beach with a drink and put it on our room tab, they refused to give room tabs, hassled every 5 mins to pay up and give tips. Staff rudest I've encountered in Mexico. Overall, do not stay here, don't throw your money away, the hotel should be knocked down as far as I'm concerned! Bad bad bad!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Well-travelled99cont,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.

It is very unfortunate that we have left you with a less than memorable guest experience. I humbly apologize for the issues you had with our staff and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room and in some of our amenities. We are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience you had.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We hope you give us the opportunity to offer you our best attention and quality of service on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Holiday Inn is not within walking distance from any restaurants or shops or Cancun´s commercial area. Rooms are big, clean and nice, view from balconies is beautiful, buffet is very good and plentiful. Small family hotel, convenient and nice to rest and enjoy the beach. However, no service after 10 PM, either in the bar or the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose one that has a balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Cayo, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The service at front desk was great. Friendly and efficient. My stay was well enjoyed!!! I would recommend this place for an all inclusive as they do hv that option available. They have ocean view from the rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although my initial room had a leaking air conditioner and broken room safe, I was quickly moved to the adjoining room and everything was fine from that point on. Very comfortable bed and free WiFi was an added bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Firstly, it is a decent drive and very long walk from where all the action is in Cancun. However the bus runs regularly and if splitting a cab between 4 was only about $6US each so no real problem, just depends what you're wanting out of the stay.

The property itself, clean, comfortable, relatively modern and nicely furnished. The on site store is well stocked and quite well priced compared to the rest of Cancun. Staff were friendly and helpful when I needed to organise a cab. Pool and beach location nice and relaxing. The rooms can be a decent walk from the lobby so keep that in mind if staying with a group, you may end up a long way from one another!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.