We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think I will stay here again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't think I will stay here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank goodness I was not looking for an all inclusive resort and we were just here to sleep. The rooms were a decent size, beds comfortable and the room clean but thats the standard things, its what you expect from a hotel. Its the extras that they truly disappointed me. Firstly they say free Wifi but it never worked unless you were in the lobby. The maid had the A/C so low that the room steamed up and water was literally dripping from the roof and the floor was so slippery. I just did not feel comfortable at this hotel.

On the up side the breakfast was great, really good balance spread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear TinoStar_13,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

We are saddened to read that we have failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our WiFi service and air conditioning system. We regret that your experience was not ideal and sorry for the lapse in service.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    122
    110
    50
    65
See reviews for
121
143
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel totally ruined my trip to Cancun and Mexico. As soon as I arrived things went wrong, staying with a friend and they give us double bed even though we requested twin share. Staff couldn't care less, horrible and rude. Stated they had no soare room. They stated they would give us a trundle bed for room, i argued with them that i had paid for twin share and wanted my money back, only then Transferred to a second room which stank of smoke and mould, sticky and damp, aircon not operating, requesting 3 times to get it fixed. On second day we both came down with severe flu, the dampness and mould in air conditioning the definate reason. Poor service, staff rude and abrasive, breakfast was almost in edible and we ate not fussy eaters. Breakfast was included however on the last day a rude waiter demanded that I pay $35 US for hot breakfast of a fried egg and toast! The only time the staff approached you was when they had their hand out for money.
Place is filthy and unwelcoming. We couldn't sleep as doors banging and yelling by maids, also the location of the hotel is a 10-15 min bus ride from the main strip. We couldn't even relax on gne beach with a drink and put it on our room tab, they refused to give room tabs, hassled every 5 mins to pay up and give tips. Staff rudest I've encountered in Mexico. Overall, do not stay here, don't throw your money away, the hotel should be knocked down as far as I'm concerned! Bad bad bad!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Well-travelled99cont,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.

It is very unfortunate that we have left you with a less than memorable guest experience. I humbly apologize for the issues you had with our staff and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room and in some of our amenities. We are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience you had.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We hope you give us the opportunity to offer you our best attention and quality of service on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Holiday Inn is not within walking distance from any restaurants or shops or Cancun´s commercial area. Rooms are big, clean and nice, view from balconies is beautiful, buffet is very good and plentiful. Small family hotel, convenient and nice to rest and enjoy the beach. However, no service after 10 PM, either in the bar or the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose one that has a balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Cayo, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The service at front desk was great. Friendly and efficient. My stay was well enjoyed!!! I would recommend this place for an all inclusive as they do hv that option available. They have ocean view from the rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although my initial room had a leaking air conditioner and broken room safe, I was quickly moved to the adjoining room and everything was fine from that point on. Very comfortable bed and free WiFi was an added bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Firstly, it is a decent drive and very long walk from where all the action is in Cancun. However the bus runs regularly and if splitting a cab between 4 was only about $6US each so no real problem, just depends what you're wanting out of the stay.

The property itself, clean, comfortable, relatively modern and nicely furnished. The on site store is well stocked and quite well priced compared to the rest of Cancun. Staff were friendly and helpful when I needed to organise a cab. Pool and beach location nice and relaxing. The rooms can be a decent walk from the lobby so keep that in mind if staying with a group, you may end up a long way from one another!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It did not ruin my honey moon but certainly was the only bad experience of it. The beach is not good at all, rooms are just ok and the shower has the purpose of being eco-friendly but is far the worst I have tried in my life, even compared to much cheaper hotels, the pressure is so high that you can not feel the temperature of the water, it is always kind of cold, the only good thing is the location, it is easy to get in a bus and head to a nicer beach. The price is really high if you consider that you are not actually in the nice part of Cancún (it is at begining of the beach strip, 15-20 min from the nice stuff), the poor and indifferent service, ugly pool and beach and old and tired bedroom. Next time I will spend some extra pesos and really enjoy Cancún.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear jjfu,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. I'm deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. I have noted you valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved for improvement and future upgrades.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Cancun.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.