We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time and a wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 173 hotels in Cancun
san diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great time and a wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this resort from March 22 - March 26th, room 2302, very large room overlooking the pool and sea. We had the mini kitchen with fridge, sink, 2 burner cook top and microwave. Room was large and very clean, (no mold to be found). The noise around the pool area was a little bit loud, but didn't bother us too much. Lots of locals and kids there, it was spring break.
The Pros: The Staff were so good to us. (we did tip often and treated the employees with lots of smiles and respect as they work very hard to please). A HUGE shout out to Manual and Angel at the lobby bar!! Best ice cold beer and popcorn. Lots of shots of tequilla!! :) The snack bar at the adult pool, wonderful. Eddie kept us very happy with wonderful nachos and drinks. The location of the resort is nice and quiet. Buffet food was OK, go early for breakfast to beat the crowds.
The Cons: The only thing we did not like was the whole "receipt" thing. We are at an all-inclusive and wearing a wrist band. But everytime we ordered something, they had to print out a receipt and we had to sign it!! Not too bad at the lobby bar, but there was not a printer at pool and snack bar, so if you ordered something, it took forever because they had to go back to the lobby to the receipt!! I've never had that at any all-inclusive. Management needs to change that.
A MUST DO: Take the ferry to Isla Mujeles, rent a golf cart and go to "Captain Dulche's Beach Club". A great place to eat and hang out at the beach. Seeing the island by golf cart was a blast!!
We would recommend this Hotel to anyone! Yes, the room walls are thin, but most hotels are! Treat the staff with kindess and tips here and there, and you will be treated like Kings and Queens!! I would return and stay at the Holiday Inn Arenas again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    125
    111
    50
    67
See reviews for
123
146
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas. Had an Oceanfront smoking room (only on the balcony). Very clean and the bed was comfortable. Amenities in the room were very good but did not have a fridge in the room, which would have been very welcome.

This is an all inclusive resort, so you have to book the specialty restaurants on arrival. The italian was the best to eat at we found. The buffet food was ok, I would not rave about it, but for the price it satisfied our means. All alcohol was included (except the high end stuff) so we lived on beer, pina coladas and margaritas, yum. The breakfasts were very good, with a chef cooking eggs and omellettes to order. The buffet can get very busy in the morning so I suggest you have breakfast early rather than around 9.00am. I found some of the staff had an attitude problem and if you did not tip them their service was lousy. We are Australians so tipping for us does not come naturally, and I tend to tip for excellent service not just to get a fresh cup of coffee.

The beach area was very clean and there is also an adult pool which was quite relaxing.

This hotel is a 15-20 minute ride to a large shopping mall. Taxis were convenient as well. When you arrive at the airport go to the taxi desk just before you leave the terminal and they will quote you the price to the hotel and if you book a return trip it will work out cheaper buying it this way.

There is a tour desk in the hotel lobby and the prices were on par with other hotels.

This area of Cancun was a lot quieter than further up where all the larger hotel chains are and the beaches are more crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let me start by saying that after reading all the reviews (prior to our trip) I was a little affraid, I didn't know what to expect but we had a wonderful time. My sister and I (both in our late tweenties),stayed at the Holiday Inn from February 26 to March 5, 2013, I have nothing bad to say about this place BUT don't expect to arrived at the resort and party like rock star because this place is nice and quiet, very family oriented.

It was perfect for the two of us, join the day we enjoyed the beach and the pool. At night we will hit the Club (10 mins bus ride, very convenient) with our nice friend Jesus (entertainer on the resort). He sure knows how to show the guest a good time (he's awesome). If you are young and looking for lots of entertainment join the day, I would recommend you stay at the Oasis, because the Holiday Inn, is not a party resort.

The staff were extremely nice and they always make sure you are well look after. I honestly do NOT have anything negative to say about this hotel. We have a nice room with balcony, our housekeeper Nelly was so great. Free internet at all time, which is a plus.

It's not a 5 star hotel but for the price you pay for this all inclusive hotel, you can't ask for anything better then this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

All the personal are very friendly and helpful. From the help desk to the bartenders, every one just want you to have fun. And the food is amazing!!!! The only thing I didn't like at all was when you check out they cut your all inclusive band and you cant consume anything, only if you pay extra, and in any other hotel you can stay and finish your day with out paying extra for it.

Room Tip: Choose one that is far from the elevators, because every time that is in your floor you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Outdated. Room was small. Bathroom smelled bad. Pretty clean. Nice view of the pool but very noisy at night when they show cartoons on the wall over the pool, with volume cranked way up. Go figure. Lobby always very crowded. Bar disappointing and pricey. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Nortguy,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is with regret to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit due to the condition of the room that were given. I have taken note of your feedback and this will be used to consider improvements needed at our facility.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and leaving a review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a budget hotel, there’s nothing luxurious about it so do not expect much. I have stayed here 3 times but I won’t be staying here ever again. The reason is the way I was treated by the front desk people, also some food and mold issues.
I was going to write an average review until I got sick. On our second day my wife and I came down with some severe flu. I thought it was the mold in our second room (#1308). I still think that room had something to do with our illness. (The first room was right by the pool & way too noisy, we made it clear when we made the reservation we wanted a room in a quiet area – specifically told Chantal at the front desk when we checked in and she assured us that the room was in a quiet area when in fact it was right above the DJ and next to the pool. She was anything but customer-focused.) At this place being a Priority Club member means absolutely nothing.
We were supposed to stay 8 nights, the first 5 were all inclusive followed by 2 nights of non-inclusive and the last night once again all inclusive. On the second night we got very ill and stayed in bed for 2 days, barely ate anything but soup, saw the doctor (he came to the room from outside) who gave us antibiotics and flu medicine. On the sixth day and $300 dollars later (doctor/medicine bill) our all inclusive ran out. Room service menu was limited to 3 items: fruit plate, quesadillas or a burger which was terrible to say the least. It was literally a piece of super salty meat with bread filler on a bun.
After two days of pure bed rest, antibiotics, cough & flu medicine we were not getting better. That’s when we realized that the musty smell from our room could be further exacerbating our illness so we changed to a third room. The third room did smell much better (not musty) but there was significant mold in the shower that gave us the creeps.
We continued to feel bad and decided to go home early in order to get better. We left the hotel one day early losing out on one prepaid night but did not care because we felt so ill and uncomfortable at this hotel.
During the check out processes neither Chantal nor Adrian asked us how was our stay nor did they give us a smile. Chantal commented that we were supposed to leave the next day. She did not inquire about why were chose to leave early. I was in a very bad shape as we were checking out, feeling like I was about to pass out. They did not offer even water or anything. In fact my sugar levels were probably low so I asked for a can of 7-up from the lobby bar because the gift shop was closed. The charge was $4 USD.
When we checked out we got a whopping bill of close to $60 USD for long distance charges. Before calling our airline to change the date on our return reservation I spoke with Adrian at the front desk to verify the charge for dialing a toll free number from our room & was told the charge would be 4.50 pesos per call. When we got our hotel bill we were charged as if the calls we made to our airline were long distance international calls, by the minute. Apparently, if you call a toll-free number within Mexico the charge is 4.50 pesos per call, but if the toll-free number terminates in the USA it is considered an international call. I was feeling too ill at that point to fight the charges. We just wanted the heck out of there. We later learned if you dial an international toll free call from a pay phone there is no charge.
On a positive note, we did receive good attention from Tatiana at the front desk, who helped us coordinate the room changes. Also, Adriana our housekeeper when we were in room 1308 provided very good service.
We went on this trip to this property with what we thought were realistic expectations. We knew the hotel was more towards a three-star than a four-star level but our getting sick, having to change rooms twice combined with several bad-apples at the front desk has led me to write this less than glowing review.
This entire experience has left a very bad taste in my mouth about the entire chain of Holiday Inns. The sub-standard accommodations and lack of customer-focus of the staff when compared to other brands (Marriott, Hilton, Starwood) is staggering. I have been a Priority Club member for over fifteen years. What is the benefit of accumulating points during the year as I travel for work if there are no quality properties on which to redeem my points for a well-deserved vacation?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tropiczul,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so I have sent you a private message.

I look forward to hear back from you and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ask the staff in the lobby....They have always good suggestions.
The restaurant is really nice and all the merchandise were good made,with tasty,...and we can
eat all what we desire...and we can have a good wine too "Shiraz of Chile".
The personal was on the top at any time.

Room Tip: With view to the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd Kukulcan Manzana, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#94 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.