We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just a place to sleep for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alux Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alux Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alux Cancun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Uxmal #21, Cancun SM23 MZA 3, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
St. Paul/ Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's just a place to sleep for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The room was nice and spacious but dont plan on having to charge anything because there was only 2 electrical outlets in the room and one was taken by the TV. The bathroom was decent. The beds were ok. We were given a room on the fourth floor without an elevator. It is a good location to the bus depot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
23
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As others have indicated, it's not somewhere to stay for a typical Cancun beach vacation, but as it is just a few meters from the ADO bus station, it's great for travelers who are just in town to catch a bus or plane out. We had a room with a window and it was fine--no mosquitoes and sufficiently air-conditioned, even if the unit was rather noisy. We didn't hear much traffic outside, and our window faced over an empty and quiet side-street. There is a supermarket and several restaurants close by. The Zona Hotelera, which includes a few public beaches, is an easy, but several kilmometers long, walk away for the more adventurous. If I need to fly in and out of Cancun, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have been using this hotel for over 15 years during my travels. It is clean, cheap,location for travelers perfect, and nice staff. The price is right. Some rooms have no windows, but when all you want is rest it is fine. I now live in Cozumel and still use the Alux when I have an early flight, late arriving flight, or a medical appointment in Cancun. This is not a hotel just for a tourist's vacation.

Have never had a problem with the AC ot hot water.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I needed a hotel for one night before my departure from Cancun airport. I got a good rate via GalaHotels.com, paying around €23 for a room with a double bed (hard mattress), air conditioning (cooled well but rather noisy), and cable TV (few English stations). The spacious bathroom had towels, bathmat, soap, shampoo, and the water in the shower was nice and hot. There was no breakfast included.

There was quite a bit of audible traffic noise in the street outside, but it didn't prevent me from falling asleep.There is no elevator and my room was on the third floor, which was a bit tough to carry up all my heavy baggage.

There was free cold purified water available on every floor. The two receptionists I met were both friendly. Check-out time was 1:00 pm and there was a little room where I could leave my baggage after checking out. The hotel was conveniently located just a couple minutes walk from the ADO bus station, which has frequent buses to the airport as well as everywhere else you would want to go. There are little supermarkets right across the street from Alux Hotel.

I would recommend this low-budget hotel for a short stay in Cancun when practicality is the most important priority.

Room Tip: I had a room on the street side, which was rather noisy. You might want to request one on the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is only good for a night and a really brief stay in Cancun, because it is right next to the bus station. Don't plan for a hot shower - water was hot only one day in four - who knows the next day of hot water may have been another 10 days away ?
The magnetic card for the door kept on decoding day after day - first guess is they failed to change the batteries of the door, or postponed the activity altogether.
Is also one of the few places where credit cards are not accepted and for some reason this has to be yelled at the guests. But, as I said - if you arrive late at night and leave early next morning, might be a reasonable solution.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporativo H, Gerente at Hotel Alux Cancun, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We checked every single shower in the hotel (32 of them) after reading your review. We got hot water from each one. The magnetic cards code change everyday as a protection in case the key is lost. All the guests have to do is to request that the key be activated again.
It is not the guests fault that at the moment we do not accept credit cards. We do inform the guests about this when they arrive and in the case of the reservations, we inform them in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a stopover before getting a bus from the ADO bus station in Cancun which is a 5 minute walk.

We wanted to have a room with a double bed, but were told one wasn't available so we ended up with a room with two double beds which was 35 USD so the price was fine.

Our room was a good size and the shower room was a clean with hot water. There was an air conditioning unit, TV and free wifi.

There is a road outside the hotel is really busy and because of this we did struggle to sleep a bit. We were told that breakfast was served at 7.30, but when we asked about it in the morning they said it wouldn't be until 8am so we just checked out as we needed to get a bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night. Our room has a good size, clean and has air conditioned, pillows are comfortable but the bed is slightly hard, small television but has an English channel. Our bathroom has a hot shower. The receptionist is helpful.This hotel don’t have an elevator we were assigned in the 4th floor it’s okay for us because we’re still young. Lots of nearby restaurant, grocery store and ADO bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alux Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux Cancun

Address: Av Uxmal #21, Cancun SM23 MZA 3, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alux Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Alux Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alux Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.