We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun to your Saves list
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seccion A, lote 3 Km. 8.5, Boulevard Kukulkan, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Just got back from a 4 night stay-had a great time. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was lots of room for the 3 of us. Resort is very clean and the staff very helpful. It is only a short walk down to where all the shops and restaurants are . You can also take a bus for 7 pesos. The pool and beach is great. Very quiet there, so there is not much to do at the hotel besides sunbathe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    182
    65
    40
    27
See reviews for
163
147
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We just returned from a 5 day 4 night stay at the Fiesta Americana Villas. We had a great time while staying there.
We stayed at this hotel because we received a free trip in exchange for attending a timeshare presentation.

The rooms are clean and well maintained except for the mold that we found in the shower. This is to be expected, however, because of how humid the climate is in Cancun.

Because of the other reviews the first thing we checked was the door that connected our room to the next room. We found no security issues to be present and our safe worked just fine too.

Our room was spacious and had a great balcony that overlooked the ocean.

The room was well equipped with a microwave, coffee pot, small fridge, and dishes. There was also a hair dryer and an ironing board.

The hotel staff were all extremely accommodating and polite. Every night we asked the concierge where to eat and they gladly made reservations for us and each place that was recommended was excellent.

While this is definitely not a 5 star resort I felt like it was well maintained and that the staff really wanted to please.

The location of the hotel is great too! It is just a short walk to the "Center" of the hotel zone and all of the nightlife but far enough away that you don't have to visit the crazy part of town if you don't want to.

I would without a doubt stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The location could not be beat
  • Disliked — If you get a studio they only have 2 full size beds and no rooms with Kings
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Fiesta Americana Vacation Club Villas was a hotel that has been converted into units with kitchens for the use by FAVC and Hilton Grand Vacation club members.

Overview:
- The property architecture reflects regional charm, however the building is showing decline due to it’s age (33 years).
- The staff is courteous, attentive and eager to please.
- The on-site restaurant, “The Palapa” is good but not excellent.
- The property is located on prime beach front.

We first visited FAVC in 2000 when the property was mainly a hotel; some of the rooms were in the process of being converted into vacation condos at that time. This is our fourth visit to the property; the most recent in January 2009.

The Property:
The property is indeed old, built roughly around 1976. It was one of the first hotels built as the resort strip was being developed. At that time, the building height of developments was limited to five stories. During our visit in 2008, the building suffered significant plumbing problems; hot water was in short supply. The plumbing system has since been extensively upgraded and the pool is now heated. Our information is that this building is slated to be torn down after Fiesta Americana completes construction on newer developments on the coastline to the south in Chemuyil.

I must confess that we like the quaint and colorful “Hacienda style” architecture of the FAVC and its small size, versus the large sterile ten-story hotels like the Riu and El Presidente’ nearby. We will be sorry to see this building go; it is obvious that rebuilding on this site would be more cost effective than remodeling the old building any further.

The Beach:
The FAVC is located in a prime location on the hotel strip. Rather than it’s beach receive the full brunt of the waves from the Caribbean, it is sheltered around the point defining the bay in Cancun. As a result, the beach is smooth and shallow, with small waves; ideal for children. The beach is situated such that it receives abundant sun during the course of the day. It is humorous to observe the guests at the palatial Riu next door drag their beach chairs over to FAVC property because the huge Riu blocks the sun for most of the day on their beach.

Staff and Service:
Most of the staff having direct customer service speaks English fairly well. We have never encountered any personnel who were not enthusiastic and eager to provide good service. The presence of uniformed security can be seen patrolling the grounds 24/7.

The concierge service is very good and there is a separate “Travel Agency” office from which you can book tours to local attractions such as Xel-Ha, X-Caret, Tulum, Chichen Itza and others.

Restaurants:
When we first visited FAVC in 2000 there were three restaurants on premises; The Palapa (outdoors beach front), a breakfast restaurant and an Italian restaurant. The Palapa now only remains. Some of the same wait staff has been employed there for over 20 years. The evening and breakfast buffets serve a good variety of foods but is a bit expensive. We chose to order from the menu; moderately expensive and moderately good.

The property also houses a small deli/convenience store where you can buy small food items, coffee, sandwiches, and the like. There are ample other restaurant and fast food choices and a small grocery store a short walk from the property on the hotel strip.

Sales office:
The biggest drawback of FAVC is that the company has chosen to use rather high-pressure sales techniques to sell vacation plan memberships. They first buy you breakfast, then gradually ease you into an elaborate sales presentation complete with a “closer” who offers you increasingly provocative deals via “used car salesman” techniques.

This is all completely unnecessary; FAVC is an excellent vacation plan with many flexible options not found in most “timeshare” plans. The parent company (Posadas) enjoys a good international reputation and, as such, has partnered with Hilton so FAVC members have access to Hilton Grand Vacation Club properties in Hawaii and other parts of the world. FAVC would sell itself it the sales staff would back off.

FAVC members spend “points” rather than hold ownership of a specific time at a specific property as in most standard timeshares. This allows the members to book smaller or larger accommodations for flexible amounts of time at any of the FAVC or Hilton resorts. There are scant few FAVC or Hilton vacation plans available in the timeshare resale market because the plan is of such high quality.

Overall, we rate the FAVC in Cancun 4 stars (rather than 5) because the age of the property and the perception that the sales staff feels they need to use high-pressure sales techniques to promote FAVC.

  • Liked — Initial visit in 2000
  • Disliked — The building sadly is aging
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

I loved this hotel for our family. It was a 3rd floor unit facing the ocean, only about 20 feet from the shoreline. There was a huge deck with 4 lounge chairs and two small chairs. We walked out of our room, down the stairs, and we were at the pool. It could not have been a better located unit.

We booked out 3 BR 2 BATH unit through Hilton Grand Vacation Club. It was my first trip to Cancun, where I met my daughter & family for 5 days. There were 5 of us, including 2 small children, and there was ampll space for all plus more. There were 2 bedroom just inside the entry, one double-double and the other a king. Through the kitchen/dining/living area was a master suite with king, facing the ocean. In this suite were a jacuzzi tub looking out on the beach as well as walk in shower and two vanities. It's showing it's age, but is impeccably clean and is a well-located, Mexico inspired, well run property, we felt it was perfect for our family.

We ate all breakfasts, some lunches, and couple of dinners in the room. The dining table allowed lots of space for us to enjoy meals together. We took the bus almost everywhere, except home from Wal-Mart where we did our grocery shopping ($12.00). Cable TV had only a few English channels, but the kids seemed to enjoy Scooby-do in Spanish.

Dinner in the Palapa restaurant on site was quite nice, but closed when it's raining. We walked to several nice restaurants for seafood and Italian dinners. Prices are high, so some days we had lunch out and tacos in the room for dinners.

The pretty architecture and U-shaped buildings in bright color that contrasted beautifully with the azure sea really made us feel like we were in Meciso. The gawdy while monstrosity next door would have been in Miami or Greece, we felt blessed to have been where we were.

  • Liked — Being on the ocean front and huge deck.
  • Disliked — Noisy next door neighbors - security took immediate care of situation.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

This hotel will fit the needs of MANY HGVC travelers but it is important to know the assets and downsides of this property. First you cant help byt notice this property is absolutely dwarfed by the opulent 500 room RIU, Palace etc. all inclusive properties that have engulfed the Cancun Hotel strip. This would be fine unless you wanted to wow your new bride or impress guests. Our rooms was spacious with tile floors though-out. The rooms have been upgraded with granite counters but some of the workmanship (cabinets, fixtures) is really shoddy. Housekeeping was below average. I can only speak for the two beds in our room but they were flat terrible and terribly flat. It took a couple days at home and a lot of exercise to get my back right again. Still I would return because...Reasonable distance to entertainment and great food. Bubba Gump, Margaritaville, Hooters and a host of local establishments are several blocks to 3 miles away. Most will tell you don’t miss the nearby Coco Bongo show. Buffet at the hotel was good in the am. Nice winding pool (cold) but no Jacuzzi. Great conciers and front desk. I may see how much my points can buy at RCI properties next time but again, we were not displeased. At the end of the rainy season, our stay took so few points it was a great value. Enjoy your trip!

  • Liked — Location, Beach
  • Disliked — Beds and shoddy craftsmanship
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Just returned from a week stay at the Fiesta Americana Vacation Club Cancun. We used our HGVC points. We had a 2 bedroom plus suite on the 4th floor. There are a total of 5 floors at the resort. Checking in was smooth and we were in our room within 5 minutes.

We had some issues with the room. In the master bath, the shower flow was limited. It appeared that calcium deposits prevented the water from free flowing. Also the water never got hot. It wasn’t even warm. The toilet had a very slow leak around the base. I got occasional whiffs of what I think is sewage in the master bedroom. The toilet room was also position in such a way that your face is literally 10 inches away from the wall. Very weird setup. The balcony off the master had an awesome view. However I did not spend too much time out there because of ants. The beds were bit hard, but I found it to be comfortable. None of us had any trouble sleeping on the beds. A/C worked great. The rooms were kept cool. The kitchen had all the things needed to cook a small meal.

After unpacking, we decided to go out to dinner. When we left the room, we noticed that the door would not lock. We called the front desk and waited 20 minutes for the maintenance person to show up. He tried replacing the electronic lock, however it still would not work. After 1 and 1/2 hours, he still could not fix the lock. So much for a nice meal for the first night. Starving, we decided to order room service and that took another 35 minutes. The food was yucky and did not taste good. Oh well, at least we weren’t hungry anymore. When we were almost done eating, the maintenance person finally fixed the lock after trying to replace 3 or 4 other locks that he had brought from somewhere else. Not a good way to start your vacation.

The resort is centrally located. The resort is located to the west of the giant RIU Hotel complex. A 3 to 5 minute walk east takes you to a small shopping mall with Starbucks inside. Free Wi-Fi at Starbucks. FAVC does not offer Wi-Fi. Everything else is a easy bus ride away. If you are going downtown (west) to Walmart or Mercado 28 (flea market area), take the #2 bus. Simply walk out to the street and flag down the bus. The street in front of FAVC is a one way street. If you tell the driver where you are going, they will let you know when to get off. It costs 6.50 pesos/ person. (about 65 cents) You can take the bus to all the malls nearby. Don’t miss Plaza La Isla. There is an Avis car rental store in front of FAVC if you want to rent a car.

We ate at the resort restaurant a couple of times. For $22 a person, they will grill a meat of your choice and it comes with tasty side dishes and a buffet salad bar with good seafood ceviche. A good value at $22. The rest of the food was so so.

We used the Entertainment Plus Card and definitely got our money’s worth (2 x 1). Casa Maguey’s food was tasty, but nothing special. Planet Hollywood probably offered the best value. Great location inside Plaza La Isla and the food was always fresh and warm. Carlos ‘n Charlie, well I’m never going back there again..... just not for me and my family. More of a drinking place.

There is really no beach at the FAVC, but the view can’t be beat. There are several palapas near the water, where wait staff will bring you drinks. $2.50 for soda and $6.50 for cocktail drinks. If you want a nice beach, it is a few minutes walk west of FAVC. The pool was nice and the Jacuzzi was mostly luke warm. The jacuzzi wasn't too busy when I was there.

We played bingo one day at the pool and won 3 free drink tickets :-). The activities director had a really good attitude. He kept the kids and adults entertained.

The gym was free and offered weights, 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 stair climber and 1 bike machine. The gym was rarely busy. There is a laundry room on each floor near the elevators. 3 washers and 3 dryers. Bring your own detergent.

Staff was cordial and friendly. Believe it or not, the best exchange rate I found was at the resort front desk. It offered 10.99 pesos for one US dollar.

At this point, I have not decided if I would go back to the FAVC again. I kind of have mixed feelings about the resort.

In case you are planning on going in September / October, we had frequent showers and couple major down pours. We had 2 to 3 days of good weather while we were there.

  • Liked — The spacious room and the view.
  • Disliked — The quality of the maintenance done on the room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

My husband spent a week in early September 2008 at the Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun. We booked this using our Hilton Grand Vacations Club points.
First and foremost - if you are a HGVC owner, do not for a moment think that the accommodations will be comparable to other HGVC resorts. This is an older timeshare resort and not to the same high standards as the Hilton resorts. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we did not set our expecations too high. The hotel met our needs and was just ok - EXCEPT that we had a security problem - see below under "the bad".

THE GOOD -
We arrived early (about 11 am) and were prepared to have to wait to check in. Fortunately they had our room ready and were able to check in immediately. The room was clean, quiet and had two queen beds. The room was cleaned and towels replaced daily. Sheets were changed halfway through the week. There was a color tv with many cable channels (including about a half-dozen english channels). Our studio had a small 'kitchenette' with sink, small refrigerator, dishes, microwave, and coffee maker. The lobby and pool area are kind of nice, but nothing too fancy. When we did have a problem with security, staff members addressed the problem promptly.

THE BAD-
After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I was concerned about burglaries that others had reported. Immediately after entering our room for the first time, we checked the door to the adjoining room which was supposed to be locked off. We found that the door was NOT LOCKED - there was a PIECE OF PAPER JAMMED IN THE LOCK SO ANYONE FROM THE ADJOINING ROOM COULD HAVE ENTERED OUR ROOM! We immediately notified security who we had just seen down the hall as we were walking to the room. They promptly came out, saw the problem and contacted maintenance. The lock appeared to have been messed with more than once and maintenance couldn't repair it. A maintenance person ended up putting 4 screws into the door jamb to prevent someone from entering from the adjoining room. A few minutes later as we were preparing to head out to eat, we found that the safe in our room did not work. We called security again, who came to the room and had maintenance install a new safe. They were very prompt about this.

THANK YOU TO THOSE WHO WROTE REVIEW IN TRIP ADVISOR ABOUT THEIR SECURITY PROBLEMS! If we didn't know about this ahead of time, it is likely that we would have been ripped off within a couple hours of arriving since our room was not secure and there was no working safe to stash our valuables. That would have ruined our trip! Later in the week, my husband talked to the hotel manager about the security issue - the manager had not been informed of our security problems - makes me wonder if it's just bad communication or if security is in on this scam.

The hotel is older and the rooms could use some refreshing. The beds were very hard. The restaurant isn't very good - in fact it's pretty lame. We ate there twice in the first couple days, but never again after that. I ordered an omelete with spinach and mushroomS, but got one with cauliflower, carrots and brocolli (looked liked leftover veggies from the previous night's dinner). There are better options elsewhere.

  • Liked — Decent location
  • Disliked — Security is TERRIBLE!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun

Address: Seccion A, lote 3 Km. 8.5, Boulevard Kukulkan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#44 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun
Fiesta Americana Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Vacation Club Cancun
Cancun Fiesta Americana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.