We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but unprepared for foreigners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Cancun Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Cancun Centro to your Saves list
Suites Cancun Centro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alcatraces 32, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap but unprepared for foreigners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have booked a room over the internet, and when we arrived they didn't have the record of our purchase, because apparently they were not checking email that often. So, they made us pay the price of one night in cash, saying that they will refund it once they found the email confirmation. Which they did, two days later. We changed the room twice, first had mosquitoes and the window was made of those glass stripes in metal brackets that can be tilted - but has gaps for mosquitoes to get in. The second room in the back building had some moldy smell. Third one on ground floor was finally OK. The staff was friendly though, but only one guy spoke reasonable English. The location was to our liking though, right at that square where the locals come every weekend to have fun.

Room Tip: The ground floor to the right at the end facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Price is not high, but I would choose the hostel near by over this one if I know the condition.

We arrived on New Year's Eve at around 3pm, the guy checked us in with no problem.
They have four floors but there are no elevators, so we have to carry our own luggages. Luckily we do not have many.
When we found the room, they haven't finished cleaning yet, blankets and pillows on the floor.
It's about 10min walking from bus terminal, 5min walk to the main street.

Room Tip: Didn't find restaurant.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel.The location was one of the good things, distance walk from the ADO bus station, from Walmart, Burger King and restaurants . There is a park right in front of the hotel. The hotel itself was clean and we got towels change.At first I thought it was a little too behind the ADO bus station which I had to take but after walking around discover all the different ways to get around down town. There is wifi which was something good for us.There is a nice pool but it was a little dirty when we tried using it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights before we went on to Playa del Carmen. There were only two reviews posted, and I kind of knew what we were in for, but the location and price convinced me to try it for a couple of nights.

First the positives: It sits right on a little park which is popular with local people. There are stands and carts which sell food and sodas/beer. There's also a lovely church a step away. It's extremely close to lots of restaurants (Perico's is fun and a 2 minute walk away) and to Mercado 28. We were also able to walk (about 5 minutes) to the Chedraui to get donuts and pastries for breakfast one morning; the next we ate at a small restaurant right off the square.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff was pleasant. We had the two bedroom suite, which was large and we had an extra bed brought into the living area at a small extra charge. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding and towels clean.

The negatives: The suite was on the third level which wasn't ideal, although the flights weren't high. Both bedrooms had an airconditioner, but in one there were no control buttons, so it went from hot to freezing. It was also very noisy. The second one was fine. There was no air conditioner in the living area, although there is an overhead fan. There is wireless internet access, but it's slow. The tvs in the rooms were set high on the wall with no remotes, although we didin't ask for one so they might have them. Plates, cups and flatware were fine, but the hotplate and any pots we saw were kind of old and battered, although the hotplate worked fine.

I think this would be fine for one or two nights again, but taking individual rooms and checking them out before settling in. There is a pretty pool, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Cancun Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Cancun Centro

Address: Calle Alcatraces 32, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites Cancun Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suites Cancun Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Cancun Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.