We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, like a home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Villa Italia

Suites Villa Italia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Villa Italia to your Saves list
Suites Villa Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bonampak | SM4, M10, L52-53, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place, like a home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

These are small apartments. The reception and entire staff are super professional and friendly- tip them well, as is the custom here :) great location, with live music you can hear late into the night. Beautiful swimming pool. I've stayed here many times and always have a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our room had a comfy seating area, small outdoor patio, table and chairs/dining area, a decent sized double bedroom, clean bathroom and sparcely equipped kitchenette. Fridge worked, and had a hob (didn't use) Good location for easy airport transfer. Was only there for 1 night so can't comment on beaches or restos on this one. There was a lot of noise coming from a bar with massive outdoor speakers over the road until late, but no noise from other suites in the complex.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our first stop in a tour of Central America, this place was available and seemed fine online. But $50 for a night is more than I would be willing to pay in the UK. The room itself was good, big and had comfy armchairs. The kitchen wasn't wonderfully clean. Overall, good but far too expensive

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Villa Suites Italia. They offer good value, clean and well maintained accommodation in a good location near the Plaza de Las Americas centre and downtown Cancun in general. the 1 bedroom apartment has basic kitchen facilities but the lounge is large with aircon, comfortable seating and dining area. The bedroom is a good size and has a large flat screen TV and free safe. The apartments are mainly used by people working in the area, so the pool is not busy at all and most times we were the only persons poolside. Taxis are 25 pesos anywhere unless it’s raining and the price increases to 30 pesos! If you make sure you have exact money, there will be no arguments!

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

This hotel was a pretty good find since after the Wilma hurricane there were no rooms available on the strip during the Christmas week. Coming from the Main Bus Station, the taxi drivers did not know where this place was since it's so small of a hotel. You will need to tell them it's right next door to the Bonampak Hotel, near the bull ring.

The staff was very nice and helful when we checked in and out. The room has white walls, a white tile floor. The furniture is 60's retro in a lime green and yellow. The bedroom was fairly small - a queen size bed, a TV, a telephone and was airconditioned. The sheets were clean and fresh. The bathroom had a sink and shower. They supplied towels, shampoo and mositurizer. There was plenty of hot water for several people to take showers. However, there were no washcloths. The lamp on the nightstand was not operational and had exposed frayed wires. Also, it would have been nice to have a clock radio.

The living area included a couch, coffee table, a dining table a small kitchen that had a small refrigerator and a microwave, however, there is no stove or dishwasher. The kitchen badly needed to have its counter replaced. There is a second airconditioner for the main living area.

In back, there is a pool but it was drained. It looked like they bought about ten or so new palms to replace ones lost by the hurricane but have not planted them yet. If they fix this, it will be a very nice amenity to the hotel.

There are several nice restaurants in the mall across the street and to the left of the car dealership. We ate at the Italian restaurant. You can find Japanese and Mexican restaurants there also. Right up the street there is a small grocery store. We bought breakfast and lunch items there.

Although it's location is not ideal for going the beach, there are plenty of taxis across the street to take you where you want to go. A taxi ride to Isla Mujeres cost us $50 pesos and to the main bus station is $30 pesos. We got a ride to the airport for $150 pesos.

All in all, it was an OK hotel. However, in our unit there were too many service items that needed to be repaired or replaced. To give the hotel a neutral rating, I would have expected these items to be in order before we got there.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2005

Spring Break 2005
This was absolutely worth $60. However, I felt bad for ripping them off, I feel like we shoudl have paid at least $150/night, and we would have for a few extra nights, but they were booked. The rooms really look exactly like all the pictures you'll find on the internet. They are very cutely decorated, and extremely comfortable. They are extremely large for 2 people. The bedroom with a TV (which we never used) is seperate from the main living area of the room, which has a dining table with tabel settings for 4, a mini-fridge, sink, counter top, leather furniture, and a small balcony. The restroom is arrange in an interesting configuration, but it was adequate. The only problem with any part of our stay was that the plug-ins were no where near the mirrors, so you couldn't curl your hari or anything, which is fine when you're on vacation in Mexico. Just dry it! I didn't notice that there was any bottled water, but we had our own, anyways. The hotel is quite close to the local mall (I believe it is called Plazas las Americas), and within sight of the bull fighting ring; if you go to bed early, you might be bothered by the music, but we never did. This is in a very clean part of downtown, but not really close to a bus stop. I think you'd probably have to walk about ten minutes to the stop, but we took a cab for a dollar or two to the bus stop, then road the bus to the hotel zone. I would much rather stay here than in the hotel zone. A lot of people we met were very jealous when we told them about our deal. This is really just a great place to stay. The staff was very, very nice, especially when we lost our identification and credit cards on the bus and needed to check out a little bit late. They even offered us a ride to the market one day and offered to help us barter for some dishes. This is a place I hope to visit on my honeymoon. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, it's just too bad they don't allow children, because this place would be great for a young family with all the living space.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Suites Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Villa Italia

Address: Avenida Bonampak | SM4, M10, L52-53, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Villa Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Suites Villa Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Villa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.