We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$327 off room rate
Ranked #47 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Wichita, KS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This being our first time to Cancun, I had some concerns about staying in an all inclusive hotel, but it was completely worth it. The hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be staying here again when we come back. The thing I really liked about this hotel was that it catered to all different types of travelers. They have the water park and lots of activities for the kids and families, they have all kinds of crazy games and music around the main pool for the party crowd, and there were plenty of loungers and sunbeds on the beach which was more quiet for those seeking some relaxation.

Check in went fairly smoothly, there was a line but it went quickly and we got drink service while waiting in line which was nice. Even though the hotel was completely booked we got the exact room we reserved with a much better view than I could have imagined. The whole hotel was very well kept and you could constantly see people cleaning. One word of warning, after we checked-in someone from the hotel invited us to a reception to go over the all inclusive benefits and we assumed this was standard practice, but it turned into a timeshare presentation which was not very pleasant and not worth the 500 peso hotel credit.

The food was much better than I expected and we were able to eat at all of the restaurants available. Here is a review of each place:

Gaviotas - Breakfast and Lunch buffets were decent, but the best thing about this place is that it is right next to the pool and there is no dress code other than no wet clothes and shoes, so it was very convenient to eat breakfast here before hitting up the pool. Also they offer ala carte service for dinner which was very good and they happen to have a Mariachi band playing the night we ate dinner there and it was really cool.

Albatros - This is the second buffet style restaurant that is located just above Gaviotas. The food selection was very similar, but the service was much better. Overall the food was very good and they switched up their menu daily so you could always get a variety of dishes.

Sunset Grill - All of the food we ate here was extremely good, only downside was that at lunch it is right next to the kids pool so it can get a little loud with kids yelling and running around and at dinner we usually had to wait at least 10 minutes to get a table, but the food made it totally worth it.

Sushi Grill - This was my favorite place to go for dinner, they have a large variety of sushi/sashimi that is fresh and really good. They also offer some stir fry entrees that were also very good. It's a very cool setting at night with a view of the ocean and sitting next to the lit up pool.

Marias - I would suggest making reservations for here as soon as you get checked in because we had to wait a few days before we could get reservations. We were a bit worried about them being strict about the dress code as I only had sandals with me, but there were people in there wearing tank tops and shorts so I didn't feel so bad. The atmosphere is very cool and feels like you are eating at a upscale restaurant. All of the food was very good and the service was exceptional.

Room Service - it was always very good and fast, the person taking the orders didn't speak very good english, but we always got what we ordered.

Snack Bar - I would avoid this place at all costs. This is the one located behind the front desk and the food always looked like it had been sitting out all day. If you need a late night snack I would advise ordering a sandwich from room service and keeping it in the fridge. Also a note to parents, they have several liquor dispensers and draft beer and it's right next to the kid's club and anytime we went by there I didn't see any hotel employees monitoring this area so that might be something to keep in mind if you are traveling with older kids.

Drink service - For the most part the drinks were all good and so was the service and if you tip a little bit it certainly helps especially at the pool and beach. Many times it would take a long time to get another drink, but if you tip them they are more incline to come back to you quicker and remember your drinks.

Only bad thing I say about this hotel is that like others have mentioned the rooms aren't always real quiet with noises from the hallway and the loud music played during the day at the main pool. Also if you want to get a lounger next to the pool or under one of the palapas you have to get up pretty early to reserve one.

Tips: Don't exchange money at the front desk as the rate they give you is not very good compared to other places. Experience the Mexican Show on Saturday nights, the Mariachi music was very entertaining and the Mexican buffet was very good. Make sure you bargain with the vendors that set up by the pool every night, we were able to get some better deals from them compared to some of the other shops in the Hotel zone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,440
    1,491
    611
    363
    325
See reviews for
1,594
1,393
49
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks with our 3 young children and mother in law. Check in was an absolute nightmare, the line ups were long, and slow moving. It was the worst ending to a long day with the kids. After that things got better! The staff were always very friendly, and would go out of their way to make our vacation awesome.
The room was very small for our size of family, and even though they had bunk beds, we were cramped for storage and overall living space. No microwave for heating baby bottles, and kinda hard to get them to give you more than 2 bottles of water at a time. It was clean, and the staff was very good at getting in there to clean while we were out.
The food was good, although after 2 weeks of the same places, we were done. Not a lot of variety for fruit. Mostly watermelon, canteloupe, and honey dew. I didn't see a berry the whole time we were there!!
Went to the gym there every day for spin classes, and Daniel Trevino (the gym instructor) was awesome. Very helpful, and an awesome athlete!! I had never done a spin class before, and he got me hooked in the 2 weeks I was there!
Overall, very nice vacation. Would've liked more space, more storage, and better check in and check out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for the past few years and it just seem like it gets better as each year goes by. Anybody writing a bad review does not know how to rate hotels. The front desk staff were great. Especially Jonathon. The entertainment staff were the best. Paco, Miguel, Andrea, Beyonce were the best. Linda from the front lobby bar was great at keeping your drinks full. I did get a massage and it was the best massage ever. I fully recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Found this hotel too have excellent service for anything you wanted, but the down side is that the pool is too small for the size of the hotel..lots of kids.....buffet did not have alot of choices....everything else was excellent..never saw any bugs, the area around this resort is real commercial, so it seems like your not in the caribbean..great price....would only go back for a cheap price..because of the pool and buffet....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The service and hospitality is fantastic. The staff @ Gran Caribe work day and night to continually provide service to their guest. We had a King Jr. Suite overlooking the lagoon and saw beautiful sunsets from our balcony. The room was spotless and maid service was exceptional. On our first night a smoke alarm went off in another room @ 3am. We called the desk and someone fixed it in a matter of minutes! The pool is great. Staff walks around offering you drinks, books, ice cold hand towels & fresh fruit and veggies. Everyday Oscar would clean my sunglasses! We were most impressed with the activities staff. Javier, Andrea, Dani and the rest of the team were very friendly and happy all the time! They invited us to all activities ie: Pool Volley Ball, horseshoes ect... you could choose to participate or not. They did not push. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is in walking distance of Margaritaville and shopping. A 5 minute bus ride to La Isla Mall & 5 minutes to the Party Zone where all the clubs are. We cannot find anything negative to say about this resort. It is family friendly and offers something for people of all ages. Some tips: The drinks are good but not strong. This is understandable because the bar opens at 9am! Bring plenty of $1 for tipping. It is sometimes difficult to get small American bills. Though tipping is not required, it is appreciated and we were happy to give. It was sad saying goodbye to all that made our stay so comfortable. We would absolutely stay at any of the Real Resorts again. Thank you so much. Monica & Gary- Toms River, NJ

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I went on holiday to cancun for my sisters wedding who was staying at le blanc spa there was abot 15 of us at the hotel, and right from the off it went pete tong... the reception staff were useless our rooms were all messed up and they tried making us pay for an upgrade to go stay at the hotel next door, throughout the holiday we found them rude and not very helpful at all. we then had to wait over an hour for our rooms to be resolved and after travelling for nearly 15hours this was the last thing we needed!
Needless to say it only got better from here the hotels location was fantastic the bar staff including Linda were legends, although we didnt get the room we had booked is was spacious and always clean. During the day the sports and entertainment crew were fantastic to name a few, paco jerry miguel beyonce and carlos kept us entertained all day and night, even when it rained for 3 days in a row they definately made our holiday. We have definately made some true friends and would recommend this hotel as it accomodates from all ages.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

awesome resort! amazing food! great staff! Miguel is the man! had a amazing time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.