We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Bad Overall Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Pretty Bad Overall Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've been to Cancun three times in five years now and this hotel was our worst experience of them all. The hotel staff was mostly rude, the food - at all of the restaurants - was mediocre, the wifi often did not work at all, the drinks were watered down, the room was small. There really is not very much to recommend of this place, except maybe that the beach was nice. There are SO many options in Cancun, just stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tiny, even the oceanfront suite which we stayed in, which had the absolute tiniest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,267
    1,385
    562
    350
    306
See reviews for
1,440
1,296
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

About me (us): We were 2 families each with 2 kids (4 & 2). All of us are vegetarians. Booked 2 family suites.

Resort:
When picking the hotel we narrowed down to 3. The biggest selling point was the availability of bunk beds. Our kids do not sleep well in the same bed and we needed them to sleep well for it to be a good vacation for us :).
The checkin process was very simple. We got to the room and room was very clean and the housekeeping kept it clean during our stay of 5 days.
I am very particular about the shower in hotel rooms and this had very good shower compared to other hotels/ resorts I have stayed in. The bathroom had ample space, stocked with towels. Very good water pressure and really hot water. Nothing like a hot shower after a day at the beach/ swim pool.

Restaurants:
There are 2 primary restaurants Albatros & Gaviotas. The food is available almost all day here which is nice because you don't have to stick to a schedule.
A 24 hour snack bar is a good addition depending on what time it is you will get cereal, snacks. There is coffee and alcohol here - 24 hours.

The food was always fresh and the buffet tables were kept clean. The menu changed every night but not by much. They did accommodate with vegetarian requests. Breakfast buffet with made to order omelette station was the best.

The service staff throughout the resort are very friendly and very accommodating. Friday, Saturday & Sunday seem to their busiest and we had to wait for 10 mins to get a table (breakfast, lunch & dinner).

My suggestion would be to stay here Monday thru Friday if you want to avoid crowds.

Beach & pools were clean and the service at these places for drinks was not bad.

One thing we missed was a convenient store nearby. One more gripe I had was the water bottles, it was difficult to find them in the resort and the room service would only give you 4 (330ml) bottles at a time.

Tips:
Take lots of dollar bills for tips. Service staff never asked for tips but where warranted we were generous.
If you are going out, take Pesos, the exchange rate is horrible in the tourist places.

Spa:
We got couple massage and it was ok. It was relaxing but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort was amazing. The food was very good. The drinks were even better. The entertainment staff kept us busy with fun events an they treat you like family. Special shout out to the men Jonny, Charly, Magic, and Mike. And the best bartender Arjmando. Also to the cleaning crew Martin, Louis, and Yoni. Definitely will be back to see my new family!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff was amazing! Mike, jonny, charly, and magic were great for all ages and so much fun! Everyone here made our trip perfect! The bartenders knew how to make every drink we wanted! Arjmando was so friendly. The maid staff kept our room clean and the whole hotel was always clean. I also felt safe the whole time I was here. I recommend this hotel to everyone and all ages! Best resort!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Gran Caribe Real from Dec. 13-20 and had a great time.

The food wasn't the best but it was always possible to find good dishes. We mostly ate at Albatross which had a nice variety of options. The omelette breakfasts were a go-to in the mornings. The Italian and Mexican restaurants are great to try, but the portions are quite large so you have to be prepared. The best meal was definitely the taco lunch at Gaviotas. We relied on the 24-hour bar to supply us with coffee and tea when we wanted something warm to drink.

The entertainment staff were great, especially Charlie. He seemed to always be full of energy and humour and playing volleyball with him was the best. Jonathan, Mike, Magic, and Charlie worked really hard to get everyone around the pool involved in the activities and having fun. The unique aspect of this entertainment staff compared to other resorts is that they never force anybody to participate in any activities. They're always very inviting but never irritating. The evening shows are very impressive when they are being held in the theatre because they tend to have some acrobatic element to them whereas the lobby bar shows were simply dancing.

Our room was on the 4th floor facing the pool. We were a good distance away from the elevator to not be bother by noise from the hallways but we slept with our balcony door open so we could hear the music coming from the weddings on the beach. Ear plugs are a good idea for a light sleeper. The free wi-fi was also a great bonus.

Overall, the staff worked very hard to ensure that everyone was being taken care of and we always received amazing service from the bartenders and the waiters.

We would definitely return to this resort and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ocean front has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A lot of hustling to buy a time share. They call it family or a club. It's a timeshare and hard core Tatics.. Food is bad, only 1 one average sized pool and a kiddie pool and as with all all inclusives cheap drinks.. A lot of little kids. Nothing for teens at all.
I would not return..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Terrible experience at this hotel. Constantly harassed by the hotel sales guy. This guy was keeping an eye on all of our movements and even went so far as to ask our taxi driver where we were going. We felt like we were constantly under surveillance. Attended what was suppose to be a guest orientation meeting and it turned out to be a high pressure sales pitch for their timeshare membership. These guys lied and would say anything to get you to sign their contract. We did an internet search on this hotel and found all kinds of negative comments about the membership program. I wish we would have checked this before booking the room. Stay away from this place and do not use your credit card in Mexico if you can help it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.