We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family-oriented all inclusive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family-oriented all inclusive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived at the GCR on August 10th and departed on August 16th. The Gran Caribe is mid-size in comparison to other all-inclusives in Cancun. The facilities seemed to be mostly geared towards families with small children. There are 2 pools which are somewhat small but still accommodating. There is a pirate ship and water slides for children, which my 6 year old son enjoyed very much. There is also an Oki club where kids can play video games and they do activities to keep the children entertained ranging from puppet shows, dancing, face-painting. The entire staff at Gran Caribe Real was extremely cordial and attentive. The food was very good, some of the best I've had at all inclusives. We ate at the Sunset Grill and Il Pescatore both were very good. They also have a snack bar which was very popular where nachos, hotdogs and burgers are always available. The cleaning staff does an excellent job of maintaining the rooms clean and stocked with shampoo and other supplies. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would consider revisiting the Gran Caribe Real in a few years or if there is a good deal offered.

Room Tip: If you want a nicer room you'll have to pay for it. We got the economy Jr. Family Suite and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Laura H903,

Muchas gracias por sus amables comentarios y por haber escogido el Hotel Gran Caribe Real para pasar unos días de descanso y diversión,

Efectivamente como somos un hotel familiar tenemos varias actividades así como instalaciones, para que los pequeños de las familias tengan unas vacaciones muy divertidas,

Estoy muy complacido que la comida, limpieza y toda su estancia haya sido de su completa satisfacción, quiere decir que estamos haciendo las cosas bien y me llena de orgullo.

Esperamos su pronta visita para reiterarle la calidad de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,317
    1,413
    574
    356
    316
See reviews for
1,494
1,319
48
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEMPHIS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We just returned from your property last month.
This was our fourth time. We loved our Jr Ocean Front
Suite. We could sit on the balcony see everything several beautiful weddings.
The water is beautiful.
The suite large, bedding great, coffee pot , drinks furnished everyday.
Our room was very nice, clean, the shower was big enough for several people.
We were able to get reservations in the Italian and Mexican restaurants. Food best in
the Italian restaurant.
Buffet food was good, choice of almost anything. If you couldn't find something to enjoy
it was their fault or a picky eater.
The children's area great, pool, pirate ship with water slides and miniature golf.
A outdoor restaurant right at the children's area.
Beach chairs everywhere. Entertainment good.
The spa is wonderful. I have had two massages with Marisela. She is very good.
I highly recommend the spa. The best massage I have ever had.
Buses run every few minutes to take you anywhere.
A bus stop right out the door.
Free Wi-Fi
All the employees very friendly, make your trip enjoyable.
We highly recommend this hotel, hope to return soon.
We made reservations for our daughter and friend to come Nov 2014, knowing
They will love it as much as we do.
July 2014

Room Tip: We love the Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado James W,

Muchas gracias por haberse hospedado con nosotros y por escribir su fantástica experiencia en nuestras instalaciones,

Estoy muy complacido que haya sido de su agrado la suite así como el servicio de todos nuestros colaboradores y nuestra comida.
Efectivamente siendo un hotel familiar tenemos varias actividades para los niños al igual que instalaciones para que se diviertan, que bueno que cumplimos con el objetivo de que sus vacaciones fueran de descanso y diversión.

Muchísimas gracias por recomendarnos y esperamos su pronta visita para reiterarles nuestra calidez y buen servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a 2 star hotel. I stayed at Gran Caribe Junior Family Suite from Aug 11-Aug 15. This was actually my second time to Mexico. I convinced my parents and siblings to join me on this vacation. Let me start with the drinks being so nasty. You literally have to ask the bartender to put some extra patron in the mojito as it tastes just like lemonade with mint. I was so disappointed with the drinks at this place. As for the food the menu seems to be the same at all the restaurants. The gravitas was okay and Albatross is buffet style I guess I only like breakfast time at these restaurants. The other restaurants seemed to be the same menu just different names. Honestly, I try my best to see the bright side of everything but this has been one of the worst vacations in my life. By the way I took my 7 yr. old daughter and she was sooo bored at the children care center. She was so happy to see me when I picked her up. Entertainment sucks. The shows were so wacky. The only one I enjoyed was Mexican night just because they had real mariachis. Overall I felt like they didn't care about providing service to your as in entertainment. There is no club at the hotel. No music etc. I would go on with the list of things. The only good thing was that the bus stop to downtown is steps away get on the R-2 and it will take you to all the stores so you could buy souvenirs. I guess I thought that this hotel would be more like the Dream's Punta Cana, DR service.

Room Tip: Do your research before coming here. You will thank me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnebago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Recently spent 7 days with my entire family of 19 at the Gran Caribe Real in Cancun. We had a great time being together enjoying the sunshine and just being together. The highlight of our trip was the entertainment director, MAGICC JOHNSON. If it weren't for him, I know that our vacation would not have been nearly as fun. He has the superb personality and an excellent sense of humor. He was without a doubt the main reason we joined in on the pool activities. The hotel made an excellent choice by hiring him. The employees were friendly and helpful. The food was good considering the amount of people they serve and being in a Mexico, where some people have a fear of getting sick. All in all, it was a great time. We as a family, would not suggest going in July - it was really toasty!

Room Tip: Our room was what I expected, however we did ask to be moved since the light on the wall next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado dwest22

Gracias por haber escogido nuestro hotel para relajarse y divertirse estoy muy complacido que se la hayan pasado muy bien,
Que nuestra comida y servicio hayan sido de su agrado, quiere decir que estamos haciendo las cosas bien.
También es muy grato el saber que nuestro colaborador el Sr Magic Johnson tuvo tan grande influencia en sus vacaciones, se lo haremos saber, seguramente le dará mucho gusto.

Muchas gracias nuevamente y esperamos que pronto puedan regresar a disfrutar de nuestras instalaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from grancaribe met some lovely people staff was brilliant
Captain jesus hurtadi he was a lovely man always had smile and nothing was too much he made sure everything was ok for us also young lady jessica what a lovely cheerful person she was didnt matter what time of day always had a smile polite lovely person toni who my husband enjoyed every day havin a chat about footy captain you have fab staff
Mike sports and entertainment he was fab cheerful person never walked passed unless he had chat to us the only one who spoke to us well done mike also toEmanuel Santana wow what a lovely person had sime long lovely chats with him when my husband wasnt well he was so helpful thankyou Emanual
The room was lovely cleaned every day well done gran caribe c u again soon

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

we enjoyed a lot this resort. Everyone was friendly, kind and very happy.
we are definitely coming back....thank you very much especially Rolex; Kids Club( Carlos, Cesar, Juana, Andy and Ana) and sports and Entertainment (Mike)......and everyone......excellent Job.
.....................................From ..Jade, Brendan, Sean and Maria.

Room Tip: VIP room very nice with a snack room in the same floor (6 floor) and checking out only for us too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

When we to their they ran out of room so they put us in the room we didn't want. However, they tried their best to switch us the next day. Overall, all the staff members were very pleasant. Everyone works very hard to accommodate our needs. All the kids love Mike Ramon of Sports and Entertainment. He will go out of his way to help. It was very nice to meet Mike Ramon!! He's the best of the best!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada MargaritaD
Estamos muy contentos que haya elegido el Hotel Gran Caribe Real para pasar sus vacaciones y gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir su experiencia, Es una placer saber que miembros de nuestro staff como el chef Ramiro, Roberto, Hipólito y J. Antonio continúan haciendo su mejor esfuerzo por brindar a nuestros huéspedes experiencias inolvidables y superando sus expectativas.

Esperamos poder tener la oportunidad de recibirle nuevamente en futuro cercano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.