We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best entertainment director” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Winnebago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best entertainment director”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Recently spent 7 days with my entire family of 19 at the Gran Caribe Real in Cancun. We had a great time being together enjoying the sunshine and just being together. The highlight of our trip was the entertainment director, MAGICC JOHNSON. If it weren't for him, I know that our vacation would not have been nearly as fun. He has the superb personality and an excellent sense of humor. He was without a doubt the main reason we joined in on the pool activities. The hotel made an excellent choice by hiring him. The employees were friendly and helpful. The food was good considering the amount of people they serve and being in a Mexico, where some people have a fear of getting sick. All in all, it was a great time. We as a family, would not suggest going in July - it was really toasty!

Room Tip: Our room was what I expected, however we did ask to be moved since the light on the wall next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado dwest22

Gracias por haber escogido nuestro hotel para relajarse y divertirse estoy muy complacido que se la hayan pasado muy bien,
Que nuestra comida y servicio hayan sido de su agrado, quiere decir que estamos haciendo las cosas bien.
También es muy grato el saber que nuestro colaborador el Sr Magic Johnson tuvo tan grande influencia en sus vacaciones, se lo haremos saber, seguramente le dará mucho gusto.

Muchas gracias nuevamente y esperamos que pronto puedan regresar a disfrutar de nuestras instalaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,333
    1,419
    575
    356
    317
See reviews for
1,502
1,326
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from grancaribe met some lovely people staff was brilliant
Captain jesus hurtadi he was a lovely man always had smile and nothing was too much he made sure everything was ok for us also young lady jessica what a lovely cheerful person she was didnt matter what time of day always had a smile polite lovely person toni who my husband enjoyed every day havin a chat about footy captain you have fab staff
Mike sports and entertainment he was fab cheerful person never walked passed unless he had chat to us the only one who spoke to us well done mike also toEmanuel Santana wow what a lovely person had sime long lovely chats with him when my husband wasnt well he was so helpful thankyou Emanual
The room was lovely cleaned every day well done gran caribe c u again soon

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

we enjoyed a lot this resort. Everyone was friendly, kind and very happy.
we are definitely coming back....thank you very much especially Rolex; Kids Club( Carlos, Cesar, Juana, Andy and Ana) and sports and Entertainment (Mike)......and everyone......excellent Job.
.....................................From ..Jade, Brendan, Sean and Maria.

Room Tip: VIP room very nice with a snack room in the same floor (6 floor) and checking out only for us too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

When we to their they ran out of room so they put us in the room we didn't want. However, they tried their best to switch us the next day. Overall, all the staff members were very pleasant. Everyone works very hard to accommodate our needs. All the kids love Mike Ramon of Sports and Entertainment. He will go out of his way to help. It was very nice to meet Mike Ramon!! He's the best of the best!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada MargaritaD
Estamos muy contentos que haya elegido el Hotel Gran Caribe Real para pasar sus vacaciones y gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir su experiencia, Es una placer saber que miembros de nuestro staff como el chef Ramiro, Roberto, Hipólito y J. Antonio continúan haciendo su mejor esfuerzo por brindar a nuestros huéspedes experiencias inolvidables y superando sus expectativas.

Esperamos poder tener la oportunidad de recibirle nuevamente en futuro cercano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had the wonderful experience of a wedding at this resort. My daughter got married on Aug 6 at the little chapel (Our Lady of Guadalupe) at the Gran Caribe Real. What a marvelous time! I don't think I can say one negative thing about our 5 days spent at this resort. Our room, the wedding itself, the reception on the beach were just fantastic. So organized- we didn't have to worry about a thing. And the actual wedding in the chapel was absolutely beautiful-- can't describe the awe of being in the chapel while looking out at the beautiful beach and ocean.
Also I want to express how awesome the entire staff that we encountered were. Made our stay so enjoyable. Can't wait to go back!
I didn't get to go to the two restaurants that you have to have reservations for so I can't speak of those-- but the other ones I could always find something I like on the menu. I think the breakfasts' were the best for me.
I also did use the treadmill a couple of times in the gym and the staff there were also very nice.
So to sum it up-- i give it a 5 star.... would definitely go back and if you know of someone who wants a destination wedding this is the place to go.
Thanks Gran Caribe Real for a great time...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We enjoyed this resort very much. great poolside service, lots of entertainment.. kid friendly, great kids club! the restaurants were not that varied unless you booked one of the select ones.

Staff were very friendly and very attentive and the room was really nice.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the beach or a side view for the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here back in 2009, my partner is currently there now with her mother. Was one of if not the best hotel ive stayed, very pleasent staff an great service. Loved all the resturants an bar, room were cozy an cleaned regular. Just perfect for your holiday in mexico.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.