We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best family trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family of 3 (me, husband and our 6 year old) stayed here from Apr 24- May 1. This is our 4th time in Cancun and we've stayed at different resorts each time.

The service is amazing, they do anything to make you happy, reservations weren't a problem at all we could've eaten at both Maria's and Ilpescatore more than once but one time was good enough. Drinks are good, but they don't make them very strong so just ask for an extra shot if you're like me :)
The resort really caters to kids, our son loved the water park, miniture golf and all the kid shows! They have nuggets, pizza, hambergers, hotdogs and fries at all they restaurants (just have to ask for them) . Room service was great for a little pick me up in the AM, I got my double shot espresso and cream and fruit plate every morning before getting ready and heading down.

The beach was clean and they have more bali beds (on the beach) than any other place we've stayed at, the guys at the beach bar super nice and friendly.

The two complaints that we have are :

1. we paid for a room with two double beds and ocean view, and they gave us a king room on the 2nd floor with no veiw at all, and when we went back to the front desk, we were told our room wasn't ready and we had to wait till the next day unless we wanted to upgrade $$$ which we already had!! We stayed calm and friendly and they finally gave us the room we had reserved.

2. We're not picky eaters and didn't go hungry for sure but the food is so bland and taseless, even tabasco didn't help :)
The only exception is breakfast and ice cream!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,043
    1,282
    509
    334
    287
See reviews for
1287
1187
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Caribe Real feb. school vacation. Went with six other people including two children, ages 5 and 8. Plenty for the kids to do. Water park with a pirate ship a lot of fun also water slides for kids and adults if you wanted to go down one. Our rooms were beautiful. We each had a corner suite sixth floor, view amazing. Food an drinks very good took the bus downtown and enjoyed a margarita at a little bar. Beach in Cancun so nice, could be a little rough but did not keep us out of the water. Went to specialty restaurants, so good. Overall great time and would definitely return to this hotel.w

Room Tip: Upper floors great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Caribe Real for our 2 week vacation from April 10th-24th, 2013. My husband and I are from Nova Scotia, Canada.

Last year while on vacation in Cancun, we purchased a Real Club Membership, which suited our budget, because we loved the hotel so much, and we are SO SO SO glad that we did. We absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the Gran Caribe and can't wait to come back AGAIN for another 2 week vacation next year. We were already dreaming of our next vacation before we had even left.

I have read many, many, many reviews on TripAdvisor, and like anything, you have to take it all in and with a grain of salt. We have stayed at 5 star resorts in Dominican and Jamaica and the Gran Caribe Real is BY FAR the best one, blowing all the others out of the water. I could write a book on why we love this place so much, but the main reasons are very simple (and obvious):

1. The BEACH = Hello...amazing!! The beach here is stunning. You couldn't ask for anything better. Yes, there are waves. It is an ocean. And yes, they can get large, and the undertow can be strong (there are signs posted). BUT the water is warm, sand goes for miles, and it goes out pretty far before it is over your head. Lots and LOTS and LOTS of lounge chairs to be found, you can come to the beach anytime of the day and never have to worry about it, you will always have lots to choose from. Same goes for huts on the beach, there are always some available. The beach is clean, lots of shell hunting to be done! The beach bar (Tradewinds) is awesome. The bartender’s rock. And speaking of rocking....Daniel & Maclovio ("Big Mac") are the main men on this beach! They are AMAZING and INCREDIBLE waiters. They walk up and down the beach, reaching out to everyone to make sure everyone stays happy, and NO ONE goes thirsty. These guys work incredibly hard and are truly 5 star!!!!!

2. The FOOD = We absolutely LOVE the food here. It is by far the best we have had. Yes people, some stuff won't be "piping, burn your tongue" hot, buffets no matter WHERE you are in the world can't keep food at this temp, so get over it. We didn't have any issue with anything being stone cold. There are always things made fresh right in front of you, like pasta, steak, tacos, stir-fry, hamburgers, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, eggs (any way you like), etc, and so you can always have those options to choose from. The Sunset Grill is our FAVORITE place, great for lunch!!! Try the BBQ Taco, it is like a chicken wrap with this amazing BBQ sauce on it, OMG so yummy, and the country cream soup - to die for! For supper, our FAVORITE a la carte is Il Pescatore hands down!!!!!!!! Last year Maria's was great, but we were told they change the menu every year so it was different and not as great. Please bring back the coconut shrimp at Maria's!!! Il Pescatore was FANTASTIC! We ate there a total of 4 times during our 2 week stay and wish we could have reserved more. The steak is amazing. You can also mix it up and pretty much have whatever you like. I had the steak, but with a different type of pasta (the carbonara is incredible), and my husband had the salmon with pasta but also added the steak with it because he didn't want to choose, lol. For buffet, Albatros is the best. We didn't eat at Gaviotas this year, but we did last year and it was ok, we just prefer Albatros. The air conditioning is great when you need a break from the heat. Be sure to get the ICE CREAM!!! omg. It was the one thing we looked forward to everyday. Coconut, Mango, Lime, 3 Flavors, Vanilla, Strawberry and Chocolate. All to DIE for! At Albatros, you can also order from a menu (same as Gaviotas), and every day at lunch my husband would order a club sandwich and fries, you just tell your waiter and he will put the order in. They will pretty much make you whatever you want. You don’t have to go up and wait for them to make the hamburger for you, you can just order it from the waiter and he will have it made. The club sandwich is AWESOME. ALSO, Friday night is Steak House Night out back by the kids pool - DELICIOUS! The filet minion is to die for! The Princess Cream Soup - gotta have it! Wednesday night is Mexican night, amazing!

3. The RESORT = The Gran Caribe is spotless. Super clean, people are always cleaning. Our maids, both times we have stayed, have been incredible, so friendly, and sweet. We have never had any issue with anything being stolen. If you leave your safe open....well sorry to say but no matter WHERE you are in the world, bad things will most likely happen. So, like anywhere else you stay, be sure to check your safe to see if it is locked. No brainer. The resort is in an amazing location (on the best beach in Cancun hands down), the hotel zone in Cancun is a great place to sight see, very safe for tourists, and cheap to take the bus (the R1 & R2 buses run out on the backside of the hotel every few minutes. Lots of shops and restaurants to see, and some high end malls/stores as well in the hotel zone. We are so glad that we purchased our Real Club membership last year because we would NOT be able to afford to come here if we didn’t have our special all inclusive rates. We upgraded to an Oceanfront room this year, and we are so happy we did. The view alone is absolutely stunning and it is amazing to wake up to that view and lay in the hammock on the deck at night and hear the ocean. Wonderful. A true paradise!

And lastly….and the most important reason why we love the Gran Caribe Real and will continue to come back year after year…

4. The STAFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! = We have met so many wonderful and amazing people who work at this hotel and truly deserve a 5 star mention. We absolutely love the staff here and we were shocked to see comments from people who said that the staff was rude. I don’t buy it. I honestly think that if you are friendly to the staff and treat them with the respect they deserve, you will receive NOTHING BUT 5 star service and kindness in return. In the two times we have stayed here we haven’t had any issues with anyone being rude. It is the one thing that I know we never have to worry about and one thing that makes me feel safe and reassured when we come here. One less stress to worry about! ALL the staff at the Gran Caribe Real is amazing, but we just want to give some special recognition to some staff who went ABOVE and BEYOND during our 2 week stay, making it the best vacation yet!

Real Club - - Alfonso, Isabelle, & Antonio
Tradewinds - - Daniel & Maclovio (“Big Mac”), Fatima
Albatros Restaurant - - Larissa, Karla, Zama, Oliver & Jose
Il Pescatore - - Memo, Taco & Angel
Lobby Bar - - Mary
Entertainment Staff - - Mark

Thank you all SO SO SO very much for everything and for making our vacation truly memorable!!!!! It was because of all of you that we had the best vacation yet, and can’t wait to see you all next year!!!! We love you!!! Muchas gracias!!!! Amanda & Ryan :)

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our third time going to this resort and trust me it won't be the last !!!! There is so much to do for any age. All the food ( and there is so much to choose from) is so good !! Just because you are in Mexico don't be afraid it's not all spicy !! Even if you are a vegetarian there is so much to eat ! All meals and there is also a 24 hour snack bar that has food to eat , hot dogs, hamburgers, nachos and other items that change. The resort is so clean in and out ! We has had different levels of the rooms from no view to beach walk out. It all depends on how much you want to spend on the suite you get. They are also cleaned everyday and restocked on drinks , snacks etc. A HUGE thanks once again to Taco and Alberto at Pescatore and Anita at the pool and lobby bar. She was always there to help and serve us. I do want to say everyone was helpful and friendly ! I do highly recommend this resort if you have children and even if you don't. The beach and ocean is also beautiful !!!!

Room Tip: If you want a ocean view then get a walk out or a ocean front. Ocean views are different on the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Caribe for 7 nights in April with our children ages 5,3 and 9 months and it was the best family vacation we have been on! The beach is absolutely stunning and there is always security on the beach so I felt very safe as I was a bit skeptical about bringing our children to Mexico as we usually vacation in Hawaii. We spent most of our time in the clover pool, pirate ship and castle waterslides. It was nice to have the mini golf, playground, trampoline etc for the kids to do in the evening as well as the kids shows that were on almost every night, they loved them! The staff was amazing, they all fell in love with our 9 month old and by the end of our trip she had learned how to say Hola as all the staff got to know her by name and talked to her whenever they saw her. My husband and I loved the food but my children are picky eaters so we ordered them pizza, hot dogs or chicken nuggets and fries at the buffet and they were happy to cook them up for them. We stayed in the Family Suite on the second floor and it was perfect. A nice big king bed for us and bunk beds plus a trundle bed for the kids as well as a crib. All of the balconies had a hammock that was nice to swing in at night and listen to the music coming from the bar. Our room was loud, but definately not a problem for us at all. My kids are all sound sleepers especially after longs days in the sun, they have never slept better! They were good about shutting it down by 11pm then it was quiet for the night. If you need silence the tower rooms would be good as they are farther away and on the otherside of the resort from all the evening action. The hotel was spotless, there were workers cleaning the main lobby and bar all day long, pools were clean and our room was kept spotless as well. They have really thought of everything at this resort, they even bring lunch down to the beach everyday so you dont have to leave if you don't want to! One more thing, we ended up spending all of our tip money by the second day (got our daughters hair braided, bought souveniers etc.) and so we had no money left to tip (our amex and M/C didn't work in their ATM) so anyway we didnt tip after the second day (which we felt horrible about) but our service was still amazing. Everyone went over and above to help us with anything we needed everyone there was really there to do their job and we never felt like anyone expected a tip or didn't serve us because we hadn't tipped. We will definately be returning!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Family and I recently stayed at this resort (early April 2013) and had a great time. This was our 3rd time in Cancun staying as a family, and the first time we stayed beyond 7 days. First off, the resort itself is great for kids. We stayed in a family junior suite, which had walkout access to the kids club play area. It was handy when you needed the kids to be occupied for a few quick minutes. There are also walkout rooms on the side of the heated pool, but this would be quite noisy if you are not a sound sleeper, as the lobby bar has live music most nights (located right outside the rooms).Our maid was fantastic, Brenda, she kept our room clean and went above and beyond to make things very nice.
The clover pool and the Oki splash park were the best we've ever been to with kids, warm water, and a feeling of safety that can sometimes be lacking in other resorts. More loungers and cabanas than any other resort we have been to, but go early to get one, once they are gone they are gone for most of the day. Kind of disappointing that people "save" them first thing in the morning and don't show up till 11 am. I would like to see resorts remove the towels off loungers that have been vacated for more than 1/2 hour, gives everyone a chance.
The Real Bazar (hotel store) had fairly reasonable prices on most items, and the Flamingo mall is right outside the resort. Great place for things like sunscreen to baby food. (remember to bring lots of sunscreen, its about $20 USD a bottle, our family went through almost 10 bottles in 12 days). Also, when the hotel hosts the market, keep in mind that the EXACT same things that they sell are in the mall across the street for as much as 75% less.
The beach was large and clean, Tons of loungers and Tons of cabanas. Really impressive. there is a shaded area by the beach bar if you need to get out of the sun.
The main pool was nice, but we spent most of our time at the clover pool, as it was heated and more family orientated.
The kids club was nice, had a show almost every night for the kids at appropriate times, it was a real treat. The only downfall would be that if there are only 2-3 kids in the club at that time, the activities seem to be quite basic (watching tv or playing video games).
Upgrades were available and far more reasonable than booking the room or even than the screen at the front desk says, you just have to ask the right person.
So all of the above were at or beyond expectations, but here is where the resort fell short; The food. We had read reviews that the food was less than great, but remained optimistic that we would be satisfied.Don't get me wrong, it wasn't terrible. The Seaside Grill had a lot of fantastic dishes. and the Italian restaurant had probably the best lasagne I've ever tasted. the problem was more so in the variety. the menu was small, and did not change one bit in two weeks. this was the same in the buffets as well. it grew tiresome and by the end of the trip we were less than exited at meal time. fruits and vegetables were scarce, mainly diced pineapple/watermelon/melon. not an unpeeled banana in sight ( a must for us with kids).

Overall a nice resort, but we would probably go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Save the upgrade until your there, and then ask for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed from 4/15/13 to 4/19/13. There were five of us....parents and three children aged 10 to 14. We originally had booked a junior family suite. We arrived in the evening and live music was playing in the pool area. During the check-in process we asked the front desk attendant if our room faced the pool or the lagoon side (all junior family suites are located on second floor of main resort area and either face the pool or lagoon side......no ocean views). Our front desk attendant, Benito, told us that our room faced the pool and the live music. My wife asked if our room would be noisy. Benito told us that it probably would be fairly noisy in the evening until the live music ends each night. Before our check-in was complete, Benito disappeared for a few minutes. When he returned, he offered us an upgrade to a different suite that would be less noisy and have more space. At the front desk on a computer screen, he showed us pictures of the family junior suite that we booked and of the potential room upgrade, as well as the floor plans. The cost to upgrade was $130 per night. I tried to bargain the price down, to no avail. We originally declined the upgrade. But after going up to our junior family suite and checking it out, we decided to go back to the lobby to inquire about the upgraded suite once again. We were not disappointed. For the extra $130 per night, we upgraded to a suite in an area that Benito said they refer to as "the villa". It was the best money I've spent in a long time (Thank you, Benito!). The room we originally booked on the second floor of the main hotel area was noisy due to the live music outside and because it was in the main hotel area with long hallways and marble floors. We could hear people walking up and down the hallway and lots of doors slamming. The "villa" area that we upgraded to was more like a small apartment building with a dozen or so units. Each suite was accessible only from the outside. Our upgraded suite was probably 200 or 300 square feet larger than the suite we originally booked and it had a private master bedroom with king bed and additional TV plus a living room/dining area with bunk beds and a third pullout bed that worked very well for us. The area was beautiful with carefully manicured courtyards with palm trees. It was very peaceful. The only noise we heard while sleeping was the birds in the palm trees outside of our suite. And while we did not have a true ocean view, we could see bits of the ocean from the living room. The upgrade also gave my wife and I full access to the Royal next door, which is an adults only resort. We did not utilize it very much, but we could have. We did eat at a buffet at the Royal and I have to say it was not a very good meal.

As for eating at the Gran Caribe, their food was okay. The breakfast buffet was always good. Lunch and dinner were pretty average. But the service was very good. Maybe because I made a point to always tip a few bucks. The ocean and beach were amazing. One of the days that we were there, the lifeguard blew his whistle all day long at anybody who got in above their knees. The waves are pretty good on this beach, and on this particular day either they were too good or we had a paranoid lifeguard. At any rate the it was still a great day. The drink service on the beach is pretty woeful, however, unless you are being waited on by Maclovio (aka Big Mac). Our first day on the beach we just happened to be in his section and his service was fantastic. On the days where he was not waiting on our area, the service was practically nonexistent even though we were tipping. My best advice for you is to find out what area Big Mac is working and you will be well-served. Even on those days where he was working a different area he always managed to make a cameo appearance and bring us our preferred drinks. Big Mac is the best waiter/server in the whole resort.

Our upgraded room was in an area that Benito called "the villa". We stayed in room 2748. We were closer to the ocean and closer to the main lobby and restaurants than we would have been had we stayed in the junior family suite. The villa area is so cool, its more like living there than being in a hotel. I would recommend to anyone thinking about reserving a junior family suite to inquire about a room in "the villa". It made our vacation so much more enjoyable.

We had a great vacation and are trying to figure out how to get back to Gran Caribe again.

Room Tip: Inquire about a room in "the villa". Below is a pic of the building we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.