We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #48 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place was awesome - live music playing. A man rolling you fresh cigars. and the party team was amazing with excellent ALL inclusive (except drinks like JD of course, but otherwise great selection). BAD things : food isn't that great

Room Tip: Always ask for upgrade at the desk and tip the lady at the counter like $30 to get an amazing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,453
    1,498
    617
    366
    325
See reviews for
1,606
1,405
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my second trip to Cancun, and I was unsure of what to expect at a family resort, after having stayed at an adult resort previously. Overall, I was very impressed with my stay and experiences February 4-11th.

A BIT ABOUT ME:

I find this is often forgotten when writing a review, as it’s important to know the age of the reviewer, as we’re all looking for something difference in our vacation. I’m a 28 year old female and went with a girlfriend in her early 30’s. We were hoping to meet some people our age to hang out with for the week, and unfortunately we did not experience this at this resort. There are a lot of families and couples, so if you’re looking for this, this is not your place. I must mention, the entertainment staff poolside do a great job of befriending you for the week, so don’t be shy to chat with them! They will greatly add to the experience!

CHECK IN AND OUR ROOM:

Check in went smoothly. We had to wait an hour until our room was ready, but they were quick to accommodate a wrist band so we could have lunch while we waited. There was no sales pressure to upgrade, however for those that complain about this, remember you're always entitled to say NO. We paid for a Junior Suite Ocean Front, and couldn't have been more impressed with our room (2721), though I do think we lucked out with location. There is a small building off the main building, which our room was located in. It's a bit secluded giving you peace and quiet when needed and absolutely stunning view of the ocean. Ask for rooms in this area, you will not be disappointed! The patio had 2 chairs and a hammock, and we were right on the beach. The room was very clean, and the maids did a great job daily! We did have 2 bottles of liquor missing from our room dispenser which was quickly filled upon request at the front desk. The mini bar is refilled daily with water, pop and beer. If you're up on time, you can see the sunrise from bed. Such a great treat on vacation!

ENTERTAINMENT:

There is a lot to keep you engaged on your vacation from poolside entertainment, to live bands in the lobby in the evening, to the nightly entertainment downstairs! A special thank you goes out to Mark, Danny, Benjamin, Victor and Dana for getting us involved in the activities and really making our stay enjoyable. If you try the nightly entertainment downstairs, you will not be disappointed. The week of our stay, there was even a Caribbean Festival in the evening on the beach, which the staff spend days preparing for. It was a gorgeous setting, live entertainment, and food and drink!

SPA:

I strongly suggest you treat yourself to a massage. I was able to select the location I preferred, and the time and day. A special thank you to Maria for the best massage I’ve had! I paid for a 50 minute, which was easily an hour of relaxation on the beach.

FOOD AND DRINK:

While waiting for our room, we started out vacation in the lobby bar to grab a drink. We were served by Jorge, who quickly became our favorite for the week. We made a special point to go and see him daily, as he was always very welcoming, and genuinely interested in hearing about our experiences and satisfaction with the resort. Thank you, Jorge, for your gracious hospitality!!! Now to the food. I am not a picky eater, but did find it a bit challenging to find meals I was genuinely pleased with. We were able to get reservations both the Mexican and Italian restaurants. Both my friend and I found the food at Maria’s simply not edible, and Il Pescatore was good! I got the pizza, and quite enjoyed it. My favorite of the week was the Chicken Enchilada at the Sunset Grill.

STAFF:

I don’t have a single complaint for the staff at this resort. We were treated above my expectations, always greeted with a smile and people who seemed to be going over and above their job description. Bring extra money for tipping, as they work very hard long hours and deserve to be thanked for this!

POOL AND BEACH:

We didn't go the kids pool or waterpark, but the main pool was fantastic! Very clean, always chairs available as well. The beach has more than enough chairs to accommodate everyone, and the sand is gorgeous. A special thank you to Daniel for fantastic pool side and beach drink service!!! He always remembered our drinks, and made sure our glasses were never empty! On the beach the waves come in a bit strong, and I would suggest taking a trip to Isle Mujeres if you wish for calmer beaches. Hop on the bus for $1 and ask the driver to take you to the ferry. It's $20 and you can enjoy a fun day there!

Room Tip: Room 2721 was fantastic! Ask for rooms in the small building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our fourth trip to the Yucatan in 3 years - our middle son got married here so it was a hotel chosen by him. Our other 3 stays were in resorts south of the airport towards Puerto Morelos and Playa del Carmen. We stayed 7 nights and were able to experience most of what was available.

The lobby entry is nice - buzzing with activity. Good lobby bar and lots of 80 inch big screen advertising the hotel amenities.

Check-in process is NOT GOOD. Our reserved room was not going to be available for hours (we arrived at 2pm) so they offered us an half-price upgrade to the 6th floor VIP with views of the lagoon and the ocean (and the kiddie park and the air conditioner) We accepted immediately, paid the extra $400 and it still took more than 90 minutes to get to the room. SLOW!

The room was ok. ONE sink is a thing of the past in most properties. This room had only one. The shower was big enough for an entire football team. All Night Big Boom Noises at the Gran Carib happen because many rooms go all the way through to the tradewind side. People don't realize how hard those doors will slam when the wind blows. Simple hydraulic door-closers would solve the problem.

One of my interests is the "free" non-motorized water sports. Aqua World is 2 miles away (city bus) and once you fight your way through a gauntlet of sales people you can actually sail a hobiecat or paddle a kayak for free...

Food was good - about half of our group was sick at one time or another. Can't point the finger at one place or thing.

Staff was good - many were outstanding in their attitudes. Happy to be there and happy to help - any language barrier can be worked around.

Beach was the best we have experienced in Mexico. Perfect color, great waves, no foot damage. It CLOSES at 5pm - so don't waste too much time at the pool.

Pool was ok - only one sorta big and one tiny. No swim up bar. Activities ok. Small.

Looked like plenty of kids stuff and kids we plentiful. No experience there.

No direct involvement with the wedding department. Our son and new daughter-in-law were mostly OK with them. There were some communication and attention-to-detail issues (like being picked up at the airport).

In conclusion, the property is OK. Resorts south of town seem to be a better value.

Room Tip: Rooms that actually face the beach are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

this was my first experience of an all inclusive,and I was not to be disappointed . From check in to departure the staff were friendly ,professional and attentive...food not to be faulted apart from a free meal we received at the Royal the sister hotel next door when we upgraded rooms ...not as good as our restaurants !.Would definitely upgrade if you can at the hotel for a sea view and lots of extras,special pillows ,premium vodka and bacardi,....only marred by noisy neighbours who happened to have a penchant for slamming doors ....a complaint to hotel management rectified this.The entertainment staff were superb,special mention to Water aerobics,managed not to put any weight on !!!!!. The evening entertainment wasnt my cup of tea ,but fun after a few cocktails...trip to Coco Bongo was a highlight.

Room Tip: would upgrade on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I have taken each of our kids and their spouses here for the past three years...one couple at a time. Each year we are more pleased than the year before. The resort is beautiful, the beach is stunning and the service is phenomenal! The staff recognizes us from years past and make a point of greeting us and welcoming us back. Their work ethic is amazing. We will be back next year on our own.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just got back.I would like to say this is a great resort. We had room 2602 on the 6th floor and this room gave us full access to the royal next door , which we spent our daytime hours there. (adults only). We ate at both resorts and found the food excellent at both. II Pesetore was outstanding , as were the waiters Angel and Pablo. Our room was kept spotless by our cleaning lady Ana , she even made 3 different towel animals for us. I would like to say that Romi in the 6th floor VIP lounge was always helpful and always had a smile for us. Mario in the VIP lounge (room service department) was always helpful when you needed something to drink or eat, and always great to talk to. Our bellboy Luis was very helpful in a problem that we had with our room when we checked in and he would always stop and chat when he saw us. Lily and Gaberlla at the front desk would help with any question you had, nothing was a problem. Great Holiday !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were conducting a marriage renewal conference. The facilities and service at the resort were excellent. The staff went out of their way to make sure all the needs of the conference and the participants were being met. Everyone on the staff could not have been more helpful. It is a facility that is highly recommended for individual stays or conferences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.