We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Waterviile,Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun trip nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent 5 days here Dec 2-6 Very clean hotel. The food was the same as all the inclusives we've been to, plentifull and good.The service was great Beautifull beach and plenty of activities Loved our room #2362 was not an upgrade but was very nice with a great shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,095
    1,303
    516
    343
    292
See reviews for
1338
1203
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel was very good, clean and great service at all the restautrants and bars. The food quality at all the restautrants were very good. I really enjoyed Sunset Grill for lunch, nice menu and most visits we requested Lugo was friendly and provided outstanding service. We also enjoyed Il Pescatore which had a nice menu (little different than typical Italian) and we had an outstanding waiter named Fily. Have a treat and enjoy Mayan coffee. The only negative is the hallways are noisy at times at night

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are noisy during the due to pool speakers - choose outside ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel,good customer service,the best guy ( elias perez) in restaurant gaviotas ,very good location near central hotel zone lovely sea and beach a bit rocky but fab sandal beach .i can come back every year.room on lagun side has very nice view .rooms so big and alweys clear and stock.great guys as well lizet -animator and guys from water world so friendly and nice guys

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our trip was Nov 24 - Dec 1. Paid in advance to updgrade to a junior suite with a king bed, ocean view. Arrived around 7:30 p.m. on Sat. the 24th and although there were three people at the desk, they were taking so long to try to upsell room upgrades that after waiting for THIRTY minutes my boyfriend asked the concierge for a manager to get us checked in. Once the Manager came to the front, she told us she didn't have a room with a king bed available. I showed her my reservation and said that was what I had paid for, and her response was, "Well, that's just a preference - it's not guaranteed. You can check tomorrow to see if they have a room with a king available." She did not apologize or offer to help in the arrange for a room change in the morning. She even made a point to tell us that a room still may not be available the next day. After 12 hours of travel, we were too exhausted to do anything but get to our room. The concierge took us to the fifth floor and to our "ocean view room" which was two double beds overlooking the kids mini-golf area and reeked of mold. I told him we requested ocean view, and he pointed to the corner of the balcony and said, "There is the ocean."

The next morning we had to wait for a room, but one did become available by noon. Never an apology or credit to our account for the previous nights experience. We paid the upgraded price for our mini-golf, moldy room. The view from the second room was great, however as soon as we looked down off the balcony we saw construction helmets. The entire ocean side of the resort was being resurfaced and we soon realized that construction was going to be a normal thing here. Every day we were there they started by 8:00 a.m. with their jackhammers, and even when the crew finished after the sun had set, a different one was welding near the pool through the midnight hours. The sparks and fire created by the welders lit up our room like fireworks. We had to use the chair to hold the curtains down over the balcony door just so we could cover the light to sleep.

A glimpse of a normal day and the noise by the pool: http://youtu.be/x65ux97Ph08

The food at the both buffets is horrible. By the third night we were eating out and calling for pizza because we couldn't take it anymore. The alcohol seems to be water in a labeled bottle because even after four tequila shots I couldn't get a buzz (and my tolerance is not that high!) We had a margarita at Xcaret and that made me buzzed, but not even a day of them at the resort would.

With the exception of the bartenders at the lobby bar and the employees at the buffet, the staff needs to learn better customer service. The employees at the front desk and pool area were rude on multiple occasions.

The 24 hour snack bar is so bad, I recommend you stay far, far away. Hamburgers and hot dogs sit in their own nasty juices all day and they don't have any garbage cans around so it is always a mess.

We had ants in our room twice; we had to call three times to get them taken care of because nothing is a hurry over there. Even after they were out of the living area of the room, they were still in the bathroom through our stay. The morning we left we were greeted by a cockroach the size of a silver dollar on our balcony. Lovely.

The beach is bad as well. Not kid friendly as there is about a six foot wall you must get down before you can get to the ocean. It is incredibly rocky so I recommend water shoes or you will cut your feet. You need to walk to the other resorts to be able to walk in right from the beach.

I would never return to this hotel, nor recommend it.

If you are looking for a resort that doesn't respond to customer's needs in a timely fashion, has construction loud enough all day long that it is hard to relax and horrible food, then this is your place. If you are looking for a five star (even FOUR star) go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good food, super clean, great service and great value. The rooms get replenished constantly and the entertainment in the hotel is great. Great job. Higly reccomended
Toilets are very spaciuos and the balcony with hammock makes a difference.
Lots of restaurants to choose from and the beach is beatiful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just got back from a fabulous week spent at the Gran Caribe Real. The service was the best that I have ever experienced the staff could not do enough for us. I would like to especially thank our brilliant maid Brenda and the bar staff in the lobby especially Armando.
I booked this holiday to celebrate my partners birthday and it was our first time visiting Cancun. The hotel has a fabulous beach and great location. Close enough to the centre of Cancun to walk but far enough away to enjoy the beaches. There are several restaurants to choose from and a 24 hour restaurant. The cocktails were great and we received drinks service at the beach and the pool areas. There was plenty of entertainment and daily activities. The atmosphere in the lobby bar in the evenings was great with live music.
The hotel was very clean and our room was spotlessly cleaned every morning by our great maid Brenda. We also received a turn down service with fresh towels and chocolates in the evening.
We had an ocean front room which was definitely worth the upgrade as we were just metres from the ocean and the view was spectacular. The room was huge with a very comfortable queen size bed, a plasma tv, mini bar which was refreshed daily, and a decent size bathroom with a powerful shower.
We had a fabulous time at the Gran caribe and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room which had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Qc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were married at the Gran Caribe on November 14, 2012. We brought along 38 of our friends and family. Paty our wedding coordinator was incredible, she helped make our day truly memorable. The photographer and videographer supplied by the hotel were amazing, cannot wait to see the finished products. The wedding reception was in the Albatros. The food was wonderful, best meal we had there. Armando was very helpful and was even able to change the meals for 2 of my guests who I was unaware were vegetarians. The staff that night were all great. My only complaint about the Albatros was that it was way too warm, there was not enough air conditioning, which made the dinner a bit uncomfortable for everyone in their dress clothes.

As with a few of the previous comments, some of our guests were situated in parts of the hotel that were undergoing renovations/construction, therefore found it noisy at times. Especially those with young children who needed to nap during the day. Most guests had specifically requested King sized beds, but were put in rooms with 2 double beds, and so had to move a day or two later to another room when the King beds were available. One of the guests did not have hot water, and one couple actually had an ant infestation, and had to switch rooms. All these problems happened on the construction side, so once people moved, everyone really enjoyed their rooms and their stay.

This was our first time in Mexico, but we found the food much better than the places in Cuba we had tried. Ignacio at the Albatros went out of his way on our last night there to make us a special taco meal that was not on the menu. It was truly delicious, and made for a memorable night. The food at the Sunset Grill was also very good. Our only complaint was that my mother cut herself on a piece of glass that was on her chair. The staff was quick to call for First Aid, and to clean up the rest of the glass. They also ensured us her meal was on the house, but we had the all inclusive package, so it was free anyways.

We had dinner at Maria's and Il Pescatore, the two restaurants that needed reservations. We weren't too impressed with the food, which was good, but not excellent. Some meals were excellent, other were inedible, but the Mayan coffee is definitely entertaining to order, so was worth it. At the italian restaurant, we ordered wine, and paid cash for the bottle. They didn't have any change, so gave us a note, and said to go to the front desk tomorrow to get the money. When we went to the front desk, they didn't know anything about it, and the restaurant was closed. We were leaving that day, so never ended up getting our change, which was annoying.

Daniel at the beach bar was by far the best waiter on the beach. He kept the drinks coming and was fun and pleasant. The drinks everywhere were very good, and they had a huge selection to choose from. Bob Marleys, Kryptonites, and Dirty Monkeys were popular that week.

Being a family-friendly resort, we found that things pretty much shut down around 8pm. You can't swim on the beach after sunset, and the pools closed at 8pm, and the bars were usually closed some nights by 10pm, most nights by 11pm. The entertainment was good, we enjoyed the shows when we saw them.

Wi-fi was spotty, and on the last day we were there, we couldn't access it, even though check-out was at noon.

Overall, we had an amazing time, and would love to go back, despite the little hiccups. Having brought a large group of people there, we would have liked to have seen more discounts or perks, but the staff is welcoming, the food is good, and the beach was fun, so we would recommend this place, once the construction is done.

Room Tip: - Oceanfront is well worth the extra money, as the view of the sunrises is amazing. - Gran Master s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.