We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Aylmer, Qc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were married at the Gran Caribe on November 14, 2012. We brought along 38 of our friends and family. Paty our wedding coordinator was incredible, she helped make our day truly memorable. The photographer and videographer supplied by the hotel were amazing, cannot wait to see the finished products. The wedding reception was in the Albatros. The food was wonderful, best meal we had there. Armando was very helpful and was even able to change the meals for 2 of my guests who I was unaware were vegetarians. The staff that night were all great. My only complaint about the Albatros was that it was way too warm, there was not enough air conditioning, which made the dinner a bit uncomfortable for everyone in their dress clothes.

As with a few of the previous comments, some of our guests were situated in parts of the hotel that were undergoing renovations/construction, therefore found it noisy at times. Especially those with young children who needed to nap during the day. Most guests had specifically requested King sized beds, but were put in rooms with 2 double beds, and so had to move a day or two later to another room when the King beds were available. One of the guests did not have hot water, and one couple actually had an ant infestation, and had to switch rooms. All these problems happened on the construction side, so once people moved, everyone really enjoyed their rooms and their stay.

This was our first time in Mexico, but we found the food much better than the places in Cuba we had tried. Ignacio at the Albatros went out of his way on our last night there to make us a special taco meal that was not on the menu. It was truly delicious, and made for a memorable night. The food at the Sunset Grill was also very good. Our only complaint was that my mother cut herself on a piece of glass that was on her chair. The staff was quick to call for First Aid, and to clean up the rest of the glass. They also ensured us her meal was on the house, but we had the all inclusive package, so it was free anyways.

We had dinner at Maria's and Il Pescatore, the two restaurants that needed reservations. We weren't too impressed with the food, which was good, but not excellent. Some meals were excellent, other were inedible, but the Mayan coffee is definitely entertaining to order, so was worth it. At the italian restaurant, we ordered wine, and paid cash for the bottle. They didn't have any change, so gave us a note, and said to go to the front desk tomorrow to get the money. When we went to the front desk, they didn't know anything about it, and the restaurant was closed. We were leaving that day, so never ended up getting our change, which was annoying.

Daniel at the beach bar was by far the best waiter on the beach. He kept the drinks coming and was fun and pleasant. The drinks everywhere were very good, and they had a huge selection to choose from. Bob Marleys, Kryptonites, and Dirty Monkeys were popular that week.

Being a family-friendly resort, we found that things pretty much shut down around 8pm. You can't swim on the beach after sunset, and the pools closed at 8pm, and the bars were usually closed some nights by 10pm, most nights by 11pm. The entertainment was good, we enjoyed the shows when we saw them.

Wi-fi was spotty, and on the last day we were there, we couldn't access it, even though check-out was at noon.

Overall, we had an amazing time, and would love to go back, despite the little hiccups. Having brought a large group of people there, we would have liked to have seen more discounts or perks, but the staff is welcoming, the food is good, and the beach was fun, so we would recommend this place, once the construction is done.

Room Tip: - Oceanfront is well worth the extra money, as the view of the sunrises is amazing. - Gran Master s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,045
    1,282
    510
    333
    287
See reviews for
1286
1189
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My fiance and I have been staying at Gran Caribe Real for quite a while for the last 3 years and it has not disappointed us one bit! The food is excellent. The service is great! The employees at the resort are extremely helpful and happy at all times. The entertainment crew is excellent. The activities that are provided for guests by the entertainers are always funny! Please don't ever change anything about this resort! It is perfect. Rooms are always kept clean and beautiful! Live entertainment is a must at the resort, the crowd always loves great live tropical music at night! The location is excellent, nice waves and beautiful water!

Room Tip: Any room will do, but the ocean view or ocean front rooms are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas City , KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our 7th visit to this hotel. This was by far the best time. Our daughters wedding was on November 26th. The staff at this hotel made this a very memorable event. We had 102 guests that attended the wedding and all but 2 stayed at the Gran Caribe. From Check In to check out everything went smooth. My only complaint was the construction that was being done to the outside of the hotel. It did get a bit noisy at times. But the treatment we received out weighed any construction. The wedding coordinators, Maritza Guzman and Flora Garza were outstanding in the whole planning and execution of the wedding. The Front Desk staff, Lourdes Patino, Diana, Jonathon, and Sofia made sure that everyone was satisfied with their rooms. I cannot say enough good things about these people,who managed to keep all of our guests happy,. with only a few complaints.. One of them had their water turned off during the construction at a very inconvenient time, the day of the wedding. The others were near the construction and it was very noisy. With that said, everyone had an awesome time. Chef Salvador, and Chef Ramiro went above and Beyond for us, Claravel made the best omelets! The sports and entertainment crew, Daniel, Gama, Bierley and Ysette defintly kept us entertained at the pool and in the evening by taking the younger ones to the clubs. They work alot of hours and they are always happy and pleasant. Roberto, Alex, Daniel , Maclobio, Rosalio, Chely , Ruby and Andres did an excellent job at keeping the Drinks and food coming. There are so many people that were very helpful that I cannot begin to name them all. In the Restaraunts the food quality was the highest that we have ever had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the 8th time my husband and I have stayed at this resort. It isn't the fanciest or largest resort, but we love it. And the size is perfect to still feel like we're at the beach, not just staying at some hotel. It's fun, clean, the service is excellent. They are always remodeling or adding new touches to keep it fresh and new. The staff will do anything to make your stay happy and comfortable. One example is at lunch one day, I was looking for crackers to have with my soup. All I did was ask if there were any crackers. Next thing you know, our waiter showed up with crackers. He went to the 6th floor VIP lounge to get them. He didn't have to do that, but he wanted my meal to be just right. This is why we go back. The people there are so nice, it's like home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor can be less quiet due to the 24 hour VIP lounge. Sometimes folks get a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel--convenient location and lots of activities for kids and adults. Entertainment/nightly show was excellent; Food was inconsistent--some entrees were great; others were too salty or dry but always plenty to fill you up. Staff was great--including Antonio at the front desk and Dana from the sports/activities staff. Housekeeping did an excellent job keeping the room spotless daily inch by inch, even the balcony furniture.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

it was our first time in cancun and the customer service was tops from the word go staff are so nice and helpful and i would like to give a BIG THANK YOU TO (FER) BEACHTLER who was down on the beach every day telling us wot was going on at night and a BIG THANKYOU TO(MACLOBIO) WAITER who helped make our holiday. this hotel is superb the rooms are fab and cleand every day by the lovely staff..the shower room was nice and big..the food was very good plenty of choice we cant praise this hotel enough and so much would go back so thank you to the hotel gran caribe we will see you again

Room Tip: do not have a room at the front of the hotel as the aircon unit is at the front of the hotel and its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Gran Caribe Real met and exceeded our expectations. We stayed at this amazing resort Mon Nov. 19-Wed Nov. 28 and had the best time. This trip included my husband and my 15 year old daughter. We were catered to and taken care of from the moment we walked into the resort till the moment we left. Taco in the italian restaurant was amazing!! We enjoyed the Mayan coffee he made for us. Quite the show. My daughter loved the music playing in the restaurant, we mentioned it to Taco and before we left, he had the music downloaded into a flash drive for her to take with her. This personalized attention is what makes us want to come back again and again. Thank you to Daniel from guest services who made our arrival smooth and effortless. Mario from Il Pescatore who made a last min reservation possible as well. The resort is very clean, there is always someone cleaning throughout the day. The AC in the room was always comfortable and had no problem controlling the temp. The mini bar was stocked daily and towels and chocolates always available, as well as fresh fruit. We stayed in room 2425 which is on the 4th floor and offered a great view of the ocean and a partial lagoon view. We loved this resort and will be back in April for our anniversary and again in August for a large family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.