We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was okay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I went to the GR Solaris this month and it was a decent experience. The food was good. Ruben the cook was great. The waiters were wonderful, especially Richard and David. I traveled with relatives to Cancun for the first time. We were trying to plan out our days. Rosas who is usually in the lobby was very helpful throughout our vacation. He gave us ideas about activities to do and showed us great hospitality. Unfortunately, the beds were very hard and the hotel charges $16-18 a day for Wifi. I didn't like that at all. The next time I go to Mexico, I would stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for writing your review about your stay. We are sorry we didn't succeed your expectations. Regarding the beds, we do offer a foam mattress for the guests who find the bed a bit hard, we apologize for not offering this information.
We appreciate for mentioning the great services from our staff such as Richard, David, Ruben, and Rosas.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    993
    396
    169
    112
See reviews for
977
1,130
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had another great time at the GR Solaris! The entertainment staff was great as usual, Ray, Joey, Sandy, Marco, Ramone, Allesia, etc.. The service was outstanding!! The maintenance crew went above and beyond setting up all day and night for the luau party on the beach. Great job!!
Resort was very clean.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We are very glad you had a great time during your vacation; especially at Pancho's Anniversary Luau Party. We work very hard to offer our guests a wonderful and unforgettable stay.
Thank you for pointing out the great service from our staff.

We are looking forward to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

overall a pretty good trip. you get what you pay for.

Pros:
Great entertainment-Luis at the pool bar and Jonah and Joey from the entertainment staff were great
-Ocean view room was great, advised i didn't want to stay on a smoking floor (1 and 7) and they gladly moved me
-Drinks were made strong if you ask for extra

Cons:
-Had $60 missing from room when we returned from Xplor one day, security did not help much at all and gave a lot of attitude.....when we checked out they said the case had been closed and that was it. Not helpful at all. The only person who seemed to care was Jazmin who was great to deal with although she couldn't do much
-Food was overall VERY bland besides the pizza place which was great
-They only change your sheets once throughout the whole trip, apparently they won't do this every day even if you ask? Odd.

Overall would give the hotel/experience and everything overall a 6 out of 10.

Will stay somewhere else on my next trip to Cancun. Have been over 5 times and this was not my favorite.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Please accept our deepest apologies for the situation you had during your stay at our resort. It is very important to us to safeguard the integrity of our guests as well as their belongings. That is why we have policies and processes to prevent or resolve difficult situations. However in your case, we have been informed that an investigation was held and we offer several services to make this situation more bearable. Nevertheless we are sorry for not accomplish a satisfactory solution.

Regarding the change of the sheets we take very seriously the cleanness in all through the hotel, especially in the rooms. We have been informed that during your stay you had "do not disturb" sing; we apologize for not succeeding locating you to offer the proper follow up and verify that everything was in order.

We appreciate taking your time in writing your review; we take very seriously all our guests comments though it help us improve our procedures and our guest services.
Sincerely,

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just had a wonderful family vacation at the solaris. Some positive and negative thoughts on the resort. Checkin was quick but room wasn't ready at noon. When my toddler started getting fussy for a nap n I went to front desk to ask if anything was available at 230pm. I got a look at the watch, half an eye roll then a auto response of it is not 3pm. Finally got a room and it is right in front of the elevator. After waiting another 20mins, they tell us they have nothing available for another hour. Kid had to sleep, we kept the room.
The room was spacious. We requested a crib and it showed up with cute Mickey blanket n bumpers. Loved that. Bed is super hard but big. We paid $14/day per device for wifi that only worked on one side of the room. Fridge was stocked with water soda n some cheap beer daily.
Food was great. It was resort food for sure but there were some delicious dishes also that was above what I expected. Service in the dining area was excellent. We met a waiter named Gilberto the first day and he MADE the trip worth reviewing. He is always smiling and just looking to make sure you are having a fun time. He really seemed like he enjoyed his job and I noticed how much everyone at the other tables loved him also. Gilberto is truly awesome.
The only thing in dining I didn't like was there was always a line to eat. All these restaurants but they were never open all at once. Marco Polo is the only a la carte restaurant and I was pleased they still accommodated us even though I messed up the reservation time. Food was ok. A bit above average but much better ambiance than a buffet.
Entertainment at pool was good. The pool itself was perfect for my toddler to enjoy so we stayed mostly there.
Beach was beautiful but needs to be cleaned. Branches that were coming up shore were just being left so unless u swam to where you can't touch the bottom, you were getting scratched up.
Entertainment at night was good. Loved the magic show and generations show.
Checking out was a challenge. Waited 20mins the night before to get everything settled and when we asked for dollars back the man rudely said we need to find the change ourselves if we didn't want pesos. So in all everything was great except the rude and jaded front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for writing your feedback as it helps us improve our services. We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay such as the inconformity of the mattress. We offer a foam topper to our guests who find the bed uncomfortable.

We are sorry for the perception you had from our Front Desk staff. We try to accommodate our guests the best way possible; we apologize for not accomplish it nevertheless we will inform our Front Desk Manager to take matter on this point.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We absolutely loved the GR Solaris and will most definitely return! My husband and I and our two teenage daughters stayed in July 2014 for 5 nights. Our 5th floor room was comfortable, clean and quiet and overlooked the pool and beach/ocean. We never lacked for anything during our stay. Plenty of activities at the pool and beach, evening entertainment was awesome. My favorite thing about the GR Solaris? The staff!!! From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcome. Every member of the staff was smiling and friendly. From the concierge to the waiters and bartenders, to the guys at the towel shack, their positive attitudes were infectious. Makes me want to go back tomorrow! I will say that there were a couple of the staff who made our first experience in Mexico truly memorable. Emanuel was one of the kindest people I've ever met. He was so sweet to my daughters, always asking how they were doing and if they were enjoying their trip. We missed him even before we left :( Bartender Kevin outside the Rosmarinus restaurant was one of my personal favorites, always smiling and joking with customers. As for the food choices, we preferred the deli, which had fresh sandwiches in the afternoon and into the early morning. The Marco Polo was terrific. We went on Italian night and again when they did a wine pairing dinner. Both were excellent. Breakfast at Cafe Solaris was always wonderful. The fresh omelet and waffles were my faves. We didn't go outside of the resort and looking back on it, I can't say I feel like I missed out on anything! I can't wait to go back. Our first trip to Mexico was amazing. Thank you for such an incredible vacation, GR Solaris!

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy and you get a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
It is wonderful to read you had a memorable vacation from beginning to end. Thank you for writing a very detailed review; we are so happy you enjoyed the restaurants, the room and the facilities overall.

Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip to Cancun! Stay tuned on our facebook page for future shows, promotions, activities and more!

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our first trip to Cancun and it won't be our last. The hotel is immaculate, the rooms are clean and very comfortable and the views from both sides (sea and lagoon) are gorgeous. The food is plentiful and of lovely quality...you'll find something for everyone as there is so much choice. But best of all are the staff. They cannot do enough to help and are incredibly friendly. The housekeeping staff decorated our room especially for our son's birthday even though we mentioned it in passing! Special praise for Fredy, Honorio, Kevin and Joey. Please forgive me if I didn't mention more but it would take too long. Do yourself a favour and go there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words; it is always an honor to receive such complementary reviews. We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff like Fredy, Honorio, Kevin and Joey.

We all look forward to welcome you back for another Solaris experience.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I just want to tell everyone...we stay at GR Solaris from July 12 to the 19th and it was a awesome place. We are travelers of at least one to two vacation a year, been to all inclusive resorts before, GR Solaris has earned our pick for us to return. We have never been to Mexico before, we always went to Jamaica and what a difference it was. We are glad we picked GR Solaris... Thanks to all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor, we chose GR Solaris and did not regret it. Soooo... for you first timers, don't worry, food was great, the water you can drink and the beach and pools are excellent, you will have a good time...We were there celebrating my wife's birthday and they offer romantic room decorating and candle light dinners on the beach, we did both for the occasion. They had shows in the ballroom that were great, the Marco Polo restaurant is very nice...games and stuff to do at the pool all day and the beach...just awesome. We did off site Parasailing and the Sub-See adventure at Aqua World booked thru GR Solaris and again it was awesome. I want to thank all the staff at GR Solaris for making our stay so wonderful and a special thanks to Omar in the restaurants and Vermone in the Marco Polo for being so helpful all the time. We are booking now for April school vacation, cant wait till then.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review! We are very glad you had a blast especially while celebrating your wife's birthday. Also it great to read you enjoyed every moment during your stay such as the food & beverages, the shows and the facilities.

Thank you for pointing out how wonderful our staff is such as Omar and Vermon.

We are looking forward to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
3.3 mi away
Casa Turquesa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#31 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#40 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.