We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GR Solaris 4-23-14 to 4-27-14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GR Solaris 4-23-14 to 4-27-14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We love Cancun, this was our first experience at GR Solaris and all inclusive. The hotel was very nice, clean. I don't think they clean up as well as other hotels, like the lounge chairs had bird poop and ashtrays were not cleaned all the time but they did do it. The hotel staff was nice but the front desk people were not very good with their customer service. We had a horrible room the first night, we booked deluxe room only and we were overlooking propane tanks and the noise between the rooms were so bad. The manager of the hotel was not very accomodating and told us we should pay to upgrade to an ocean view however we did get it resolved and we were moved to a garden view much nicer, still you could hear the people in the other room but they weren't so bad. Bring ear plugs if you go here so you can sleep. The food was average, got sick of the same stuff over and over but they had a variety of food to accomodate any one. We did try Marco Polo it was just okay, but I heard others rave about it. The drinks at the pool were watered down, we just ordered an extra shot to make it worth it. The pool bar was much better with their drinks and we didn't go there until our last day. We stayed mostly in the adult section which was very quiet. We did try water aerobics and Joey from Canada was great. We saw the 70's show which was very good and started to watch the Michael Jackson show on the 26th but left, wasn't feeling that great and the show was just okay from what I did see. The beach was clean and very relaxing. We also liked that they had a vendor on the top patio in case you wanted to buy gifts. The only issue we did have and I should have known was getting US Dollars, next time I will bring lots of singles. You can get them at the bar or the gift shop (which was quite expensive). Overall we enjoyed our stay but I think we would go back to our normal place the Royal Sands.

Room Tip: upgrade when you book to garden or ocean and bring lots of singles with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    848
    332
    150
    98
See reviews for
736
965
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just left RIU cancun to try a new resort. OMG. This is a bad holiday inn. Food is not edible facility run down. Do not go. Only thing that is nice is the beach. We are checking out after only one night. The manager Jose was kind enough to refund our money. If this is in the top 35 in cancun trip advisor should rethink the questions asked. It does NOT compare to any five star resort we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, however, we believe that a day is not enough to evaluate the service we offer at the hotel.

We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate to you our standards for exemplary service and quality accommodations.

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Finishing up a 6-day, 5-night stay at the GR Solaris All-Inclusive in Cancun. Going to hit a few highlights.

Check-in: Got here early, was advised that we could check our bags with the attendants and go eat lunch at the buffet. Went back at around 4p, our room was ready, took our bags with assistance from staff. We didnt get a whole lot of direction and/or review about the hotel at this time, we got this a couple of days later from a concierge named Juan Romano. For future reference, it would probably be better to get this info earlier. 3.5/5

Rooms: Not bad. Bed is firm, so if you like a softer bed, keep this in mind. We stayed on the side of the hotel facing the Crown Paradise Club, and there was construction going on in between the two properties. Cable TV selection was not the best, but, you aren't there to watch TV anyway. Didnt notice the musty smell you get with some of these 3/4 star properties. Fridge was stocked with some Sol and 4-5 bottles of water, and some sodas. Nothing extravagant, but ok. 3.5/5

Dining: One al-a-carte, Marco Polo, that changed themes nightly. We ate there on Mediterranean and Italian night. They were good. The breakfast buffet at Cafe Solaris was very good. Lunch was good at the outdoor Rosmarinus was very good for buffets, and the nightly buffets at the Rosmarinus were very good comparing to your typical all-inclusive buffets. You could get snacks at the pool area during the day (the pizza was excellent) at the Deli and they had 24-hour room service, which we didn't try. I was impressed overall. 4.5/5

Bars/drinks: Mixed drinks were ok, seemed kinda watered down, but not bad. They were tasty if not lethal. Dos Equis were the beer of choice, always a good choice. 3.5/5

Pools: Main pool is small, with a pebble floor, which could be rough on the feet. Tough to find seats earlier in the week, but we were able to get 4-6 chairs as late as 9:30-10am at the upper part of the pool. Nice swim up bar, and a lot of activity in the upper level of the main pool. Lower level of the main pool was a bit quieter but had the volleyball net and basketball goals, so some stuff did happen here. Adult pool was nice and secluded if you prefer that. 4/5

Beach area: Outstanding beach area. IF you love the beach, its a nice beach for Cancun (Some of the resorts' beaches can be rocky). Water is a little rough, but good if you like to ride some waves and use a boogie board or something. 5/5

Entertainment/Activities: Great staff, they worked hard. Saw one show, "Generations", and it was very good. Lots of stuff going on in the upper main pool all week to keep engaged. 4.5/5

Staff/Service: Except for what I had mentioned earlier, and a seemingly stand-offish guy at the front desk named Carlos, thought that the service here was OUTSTANDING. The waiters/attendants/bartenders hustled the entire time. I'll go 5/5 here, giving our buddy Carlos the benefit of the doubt.

Intangibles: Didn't like paying extra for internet. That should be an included feature since the entire world has mobile devices now. Took the Senor Frogs "free dinner", which is really cool if you are in college or still into the clubbing phase of your life. Otherwise, its a decent meal with the added bonus of feeling like you are on spring break with your college/frat buddies with shot girls coming around offering up upside down margaritas. I've outgrown it, so its not my thing, but if you are single and looking to experience the Cancun nightlife experience, not a bad way to ease into it. Quick drive to the airport. Fernanda and Christopher at the front desk were good. Jorge out front was very informative. I cant name all of the bartenders and waiters/waitresses who did a great job, so I will just say "all of them."

This is a good value for your money if you are on a budget. Don't expect the Moon Palace, like someone else said, and you'll be pleasantly surprised. I'll definitely consider if/when I return to Cancun. FOUR out of five stars

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel under my mom's timeshare. My room was great, super clean with a lovely ocean view.

Staff were great. Very helpful and courteous.

The food was decent. However the salsa and guacamole was mostly onion which was not good. There was no Mexican night at the restaurant, so we had to go offsite for a good Mexican meal.

The entertainment was awesome - especially the magician.

Would stay here again as a "regular" vacation. I've been spoiled by fancier hotels lately and this was a good transition back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We value your opinion as we are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience. Regarding the food discontent, please know our Executive Chef has been informed of your suggestions and will take the proper measures to avoid this in the future.

We regret for haven't met your expectations. We listen and care about our guests experiences; once again we offer you an apology for haven't made your stay memorable.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just returned from a weeklong trip to the GR Solaris and it was wonderful. This was our first time there, but our 4th year in Cancun and this was a step up from our previous resort. The kids club is really great, the staff was amazing and our kids didn't want to leave it each day. They organized treasure hunts to the beach, did incredible face painting, made ceramics, and had up-to-date movies later in the day (Frozen was a big hit!). It was perfect for parents to get some time alone and keep kids out of the harsh sun. The entertainment staff was so fun - there was a great balance of contests and fun things to keep things lively at the pool but also relax. If you're looking for something less "party-like" there is an adults-only pool that's quiet and a lower pool that doesn't have a swim up bar. The Zumba classes and the yoga were great. The beach was beautiful. The best food is the brick oven pizza made fresh from scratch by the pool each day and the omelets made to order at the buffet each morning. And the fresh fruit that is always available. the rest is standard all-inclusive buffet fare, much of it heavy and a lot of it fried (especially at the pool buffet). The drinks are great and everyone seems to be enjoying them :) The evening shows were entertaining - my 4 and 6-year olds loved them. Everyone in my family also loved Mexican Night. It was a huge party on the patio and there was something for everyone. The only downside is DEFINITELY the check-in. It is what seems to be unacceptably slow - between waiting in line and the actual process, it took an hour and being hot and tired from our trip, that was annoying. AND "Christopher" talked me out of the room I originally booked for a "better" room at "no charge" that was actually not better and he flat out asked me for a tip for the upgrade which made me uncomfortable, even though we generously tipped the staff at every turn, it was weird to be asked, and by the front desk guy at that. We were told we'd have a rollaway bed in addition to the King and the murphy bed that pulled out of the wall and it never came. You'll also have a really nice "concierge" but if you don't take him up on his offer for the timeshare/membership sales pitch, you'll never see him again. Also it took about 6 calls to the front desk and housekeeping to get our AC to work. We finally gave up when it broke again right after. There is a decent fitness center - the equipment is outdated but for the price and the level of "fancy" this resort is, it's exactly what you should expect. So the staff, the rooms, the pool and beach are really what will bring us back again. Check out their Facebook page - it's a great representation of what you'll experience. Last tip - realize that at every resort in Cancun, you have to get up and put your towels out by 7am if you want chairs for the day. It's an unwritten rule and everyone is expected to follow it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room but realize that if it also overlooks the pool, it could be noisy in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well, we just returned home from a wonderful week at GR Solaris Cancun. Me, my husband, and our 17 y.o. son had a such a relaxing week. We were in an ocean front room on the 4th floor - beautiful view, and quiet at night except the sound of the ocean. The food was awesome, different every day at all the restaurants. Ordered coffee and pastries every morning for 6:30 delivery and it was always on time. The room was wonderful, the beach was so relaxing and so amazingly beautiful, and the staff was amazing. The resort staff did such an outstanding job to make our vacation spectacular and worked so hard to keep the resort and beach so clean all day. So many staff made our trip enjoyable - but want to give a special shout out to some for their outstanding service during our stay: Rigo, our housekeeper for the week - kept us smiling with his unique towel art; Edgar at the pool bar made some fantastic drinks and always with a smile; Carmen Jimenez, Odely, and Bety took care of us every day - all day on the beach making sure we were refreshed with beverages and food. Edson made sure we had a beach umbrella every morning as are early risers and were on the beach every day by 8 am. Rafael, the lifeguard, was awesome - and actually saved 5 people one day when the surf was rough. We felt very safe having him on duty. Magali - the front manager, and the Premier Services Staff Gabby, Henry, Enrique, and Omar were so accommodating of our every need or request. We are already thinking about our next trip but might try one of the sister properties - GR Caribe next time as we like to see different resorts! Thanks again for a great Spring Break!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Overall, this place was ok. But it's a bit outdated and there are number of things I'd improve.
There is only one a la carte restaurant - Marco Polo - that changes menu every night. And it is only available for dinner and only if you made reservation a day (or more) in advance. There are two buffets - Cafe Solaris and Rosmaribus, which never work at the same time. So at the end of the day, there is only one choice for breakfast, two choices for dinner. For lunch - either eat by the pool or buffet. Having said that, Marco Polo was great; both food and service.
We could not get the A/C in our room to stop working. It kept kicking in by itself. And when we asked to fix it, they sent someone over, the person opened it up, but nothing changed.
Tennis court doubles as Volleyball court, just lower or raises the net accordingly.
Drinks are somewhat watery. And all the waiters/bartenders/bell boys casually display dollar bills, as if suggesting "something".
Now, the pros: Marco Polo restaurant. Delicious.
Overall service: excellent. Very cordial and friendly. Everyone speaks English (unlike some other places).
Entertainment: very good. Well organized and interesting (not cheesy like most of the other resorts).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments about GR Solaris. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, we will inform them. Also, your feedback is really important to us therefore we can improve our services, especially the ones you mention.

We are looking forward to see you soon and see our improvement

Kind Regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.