We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GR Solaris Rocks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Save Saved
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Watertown, New York, United States
1 review
“GR Solaris Rocks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I could not be any more satisfied with my stay at the GR Solaris. The service provided all the way from cleaning crew to the bartenders and the entertainment staff is amazing. They make everyone feel welcome and make your stay a great one. This is definitely by far one of the best service I have ever received. This hotel is a great place to enjoy Cancun and have fun. If you are looking more for a quite and relax atmosphere, I do not think this is the place for you. I had a very pleasant time, relaxed, hung out and partied like crazy. This hotel offers multiple non motorize activities in which I decided to go kayaking, highly recommended "good work out for all the drinking you will be doing". If you plan to go somewhere else, Xcaret park was absolutely amazing and worth every penny I paid. I cannot forget to thank once again CEN one of the waiters in outside restaurant by the pool and MANUEL who works the swim up bar, tell them hello on my part if you see them hahaha!!! I hope this review helped you out on deciding to stay at this wonderful resort. GR SOLARIS WE SHALL MEET AGAIN!

TO BE CONTINUE......

Room Tip: Dont waste your money upgrading, you are not going to be in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay with us was pleasant. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially Cen and Manuel. We look forward to seeing you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    971
    778
    309
    145
    93
See reviews for
640
891
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we went recently for a vacation and i was scared at first because my family (especially my mom) is very picky and picks out small little things however i was surprised when she said that she loved this vacation. the staff was the friendliest out of any hotel I've ever stayed at. really genuine and really helpful. my family and i loved loved loved the staff.. mostly everyone spoke English so that was great...location-perfect...the beach that the hotel was on was breathtaking. the water was the most beautiful water ive ever seen! the people that set up the tours for you were really nice too! the rooms were super duper clean and everything was great. the resort was really clean and the drinks were good. the shows at night are a MUST! they were so good! the only thing i would say that needs to improve is the food, my family is full of vegetarians and sometimes we would find ourselves not having much to eat...which was expected because it was mexico. but the food was pretty bland and i often found myself mixing things together to make it better. but im sure the non veg food is a lot better, cuz no one else seemed to complain......the food always did the job though! overall great vacation and great resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that your stay with us was pleasant and that you liked our shows so much. We hope to see you and your family back in a near future.

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We (2 couples) bought a Living Social Escape (deal) for 5 night at the GRS.

I was little nervous buying an all inclusive deal but we had a great time at this small resort.

What I loved:
-Beach- WOW I've been to a few Caribbean spots including Rivera Maya, but I don't recall the water being this beautiful and the temperature- PERFECT!
-Sand-white and sooo soft especially a few feet in the ocean
-Pools: swim up bar with activities and separate quiet adult pool area with Jacuzzi
-View: from our rooms' balconies of the ocean
-Very clean
-Food: most was pretty good and there was always a place to get something to eat
-Marco Polo: fancy food with theme nights- pretty good
-Staff: MOST were great
-Shows: good, my favorite was Generations
-Sea Turtle eggs: they bury them & when they hatch release them at night into the ocean. It's a resort activity.
-Waverunner- my husband went twice $50 per half hour

What I could have done without:
-Pool: the interior is VERY VERY rough, almost every review mentions it and the water was very warm
-Bedding: uncomfortable, not the mattress but the pillows, sheets, blankets, bedspread
-Beach-people constantly trying to sell, sure they leave you alone if you say no thanks but they evenually come back and ask again and again
-Smoking: people can smoke most places
-Current: I think Mexican beaches always have a red flag
-Internet*** DO NOT BUY ACCESS
-Concierge will try to rope you into a time share at their 'sister hotels'

We did booked one tour through the hotel for Isla Mujeres (see other review).

***BUYER BEWARE: They sell Internet access at $15 a day per computer. We bought one day's worth. BIG MISTAKE. While my husband was booting up his lap top to use the paid for code I was on our iPad accessing the Internet for free. We ended up never using the codes since we were able to get free access on both devices. My sister-in-law respectfully spoke to the front desk. Long story short- we had to go back to the front desk 3 times to finally get a refund. I don't understand why a resort would dirty their reputation for $15. Had they immediately refunded I would NEVER have wrote about it but since they gave us such a hard time...

Overall I really did enjoy our stay here. It was a great value and we had a great time. Just don't buy Internet access ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are happy to know your stay with us was great. We are currently working on a plan to renew our pool's floor, thank you for your suggestions, we will inform our General Manager. Do not hesitate to ask on your next visit for a topper foam for your bed at the Front Desk.
We hope to see you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield Park, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been going to GR Solaris since 2008. We go with our adult children and with friends. It is the perfect place to be. The people are super friendly, the enterainment staff (Ray, Christian, Ramon, Sandy, Nahim, Jonah +) go out of their way to make you enjoy yourself, or leave you alone if you don't want to be bothered. The nightly entertainment is really really good, varied and enjoyable for everyone.

The hotel maid service and maintenance staff are amazing. They are always cleaning and sprucing up the place. IT is VERY VERY clean and spotless. Everyone takes pride in the grounds. The suites are beautiful, comfortable.and clean. In the 5 years we have been going there (sometimes 2x a year) we have never had a problem.

The food selection and variety is perfect. You will never go hungry and it tastes delicious as well. At breakfast you are always greeted by the smiling face of Obilia, always knows what you want, even year after year. The servers are all very attentive... Oh and lets not forget the bar-tenders. Always with a smile on their face and taking care of all your beverage needs. WE totally enjoy GR Solaris, as a family, individuals or groups. There is always something for everyone. I can't wait to go back in September. We just went July 20-27...

THey have a great spa, the gym is a good size. There are many amenities on the grounds, convenience store, which is emaculate and pretty reasonable, internet cafe and wifi. The beach is great, you can always find people playing volley ball, or just relaxing on the beach chairs with the umbrellas or palm huts. In addition there are 3 bars outside (one by the beach, the swim-up bar, and the restaurant. Then of course the lobby bar, the 4pm Tea. I could go on and on.

Thanks to everyone at GR for being our extended family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are happy to know your stay with us was pleasant. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially Ray, Christian, Ramon, Sandy, Nahim, Jonah and Obilia. We look forward to seeing you back in a near future !

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just spent 2 glorious weeks at the GR SOLRIS in Cancun. The resort and staff were Fabulous. The hotel was spotless, the staff were courteous and always smiling and ready to help in any way they could. The all inclusive price is excellent. We never got a bad meal. They treated us like family and we are ready to go back. Thanks to all who made us feel like a million bucks!!

Room Tip: we booked in Jan. so we got our choice of the room we wanted. early booking is the key
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out how great pur staff is. We look forward to seeing you back in a near future !

Best Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my 3 yr old and husband and were amazed by the friendly staff and clean rooms. The snack bar was amazing the food was ok but still worth the stay. Would definitely want to go back in the near future. Family friendly!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you back in a near future !

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me begin by saying that this is the seventh time we have stayed at the GR Solaris (9th time at a Solaris Resort) and as you can tell we have NEVER been disappointed ~~~ because why would we keep going back !!!! The GR is just the right size … not too big where you have to walk far to go to the pool …. Or to the beach ….. and just the right people capacity !!! Where other reviewers list their Pros and Cons … I can’t … it would be too lopsided …. For there would only be one CON … our week went too fast !!!!!

I can’t say enough about the staff at the GR … from the early morning pool cleaners … to late night in the deli everyone you meet is friendly and pleasant ! The entertainment staff is exceptional and the shows are top notch …. If you get an opportunity go see “Generations” on Thursday night … it stars the entertainment staff – a group of hard working men and women that are so very proud of their production ~ it’s great !!!! Hats off to all the performers and to the wait staff !!!! They all do a phenomenal job !!! Love Ray & David on the lights and the sound !!! !

They offer Mayan Coffee in the Lobby between 4:00pm and 6:00pm which is wonderful ….

The Lobby Bar entertainment is always enjoyable …. It varies from Montana, Karaoke and another band (sorry I forgot the name) ….If the Lobby Bar is too tame for you … The Entertainment staff arranges Club trips everynight .. Costs range from $39 - $55 …

The serving staff are exceptional .. in Café Solaris, the Lobby Bar, the Snack Bar, Rosmarinus, The Deli and Marco Polo the staff await you with a smile and are happy to serve you …. love Andres, Addi, Odely, Gilberto, Vermon and David Arellano (but I have to say that we were disappointed that David Arellano was not in Marco Polo this visit --- a terrific waiter who truly cares about the guests !!! BRING HIM BACK TO MARCO POLO !!) Odelia’s breakfast omelets are worth the wait and the variety at the buffets range from hot dogs and hamburgers to very unique Mexican fare .. be adventurous and try new food before you criticize the menu !!!

As mentioned the Public Bus is right out in front of the Hotel …. That will take you to the “Flea Market”, Walmart, the upscale Malls or Clubs …. The return trip back to the hotel is a little bit more of a walk … but certainly manageable.

There is a gift shop, jewelry store and a travel agency in the Lobby … as well as photographer that will follow you around … take pictures and arrange photo books of your vacation. On certain nights vendors come in a set up their wears on the outside patio for sale.

The rooms offer a beautiful view and comfortable surroundings. The grounds are kept immaculate!

We will be traveling to the Solaris in Los Cabos (our first time!) in September to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and looking forward to having a terrific time … and we’ll be back to our home away from home … the GR Solaris Cancun in June 2014 … we can’t wait !!!!!!

Thank you for a wonderful week and a relaxing stay ….

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know your stay with us was pleasant ! Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially Ray, David, Andrés, Addi, Odely, Gilberto, Vermon and David Arellano. We hope to see you back in a near future !
We wish you a great time in Royal Solaris Los Cabos as well, enjoy your anniversary !!

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 Business Hotel in Cancun
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.