We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Save Saved
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First trip to cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to cancun and had a blast. Great food, entertainment, and right off the beach. We walked out our hotel door straight into the water. The price was right and u can't go wrong. Cant wait till we go again next year and we arw definitely stay here. The rooms were incredible and u can't go wrong with them view each day. On either side of the hotel. And I can't say enough about the staff. Just a remarkable hotel. Can't wait to get back and I recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our Hotel, it is so nice to know that you had a great stay with us, we look forward to have you and your family again !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    805
    315
    147
    95
See reviews for
692
917
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first time to stay at this place. It was so really nice , and the food was really really good. they had all kinds of fun game's for the kid's and they kelp us older people happy with thing's to do also. The dinner show's were great and alot of fun. the waiter's always put fun into your meal's. This hotel as 24 hour room service and a deli to die for it was open from 4.30 p.m. to 6.30 a.m. the drink's were good also. they also kelp you ice box full in your room too.
the pool's were great also. you will have alot of fun at this hotel.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the frist floor and it was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Your comments are very important for us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for pointing out our service and activities.
We hope to see you again in a near future !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon, stayed for 5 nights from april 11-16th. Both of our first times to Mexico, I was nervous about which hotel to choose because all of the reviews appear to be 50/50 good and bad, chose GR Solaris for the reviews and price. The entrance and lobby is beautiful when you walk into the hotel, the staff was helpful and we checked in within less than 10 minutes. Our room was great and the view was amazing and we even had a jacuzzi tub on the balcony, which was awesome considering it was our honeymoon. Our first night there they had kareoke in the lobby and it was so fun. The different restaurants had a good variety of foods and always hot and fresh. I was impressed. They had shows every night and I loved them all. The staff at this hotel is just amazing, always smiling and friendly. No one was trying to sell us anything. We had a couples massage at the spa for a good price and it was perfect. Breakfast was awesome, they made omelettes for you and waffles. The pools were good, clean and always enough chairs. The bartenders were awesome, if you wanted your drink stronger you just had to tell them and they made them very good :-) I was told by friends that the beds in hotels in mexico would be hard, well not the beds at this hotel, ours was very comfortable. I am a light sleeper and we had kids in the room next to us that woke up early and I always heard them playing and yelling which was irritating but usually lasted 20-30 minutes and then they must have went down to the pool, which would be the case in any hotel, Other than that I can't thing of one thing negative thing about this hotel, the price was so good for what is offered, I will be going to this hotel again with friends next year. If your looking for a good time with great people and great food, please choose this hotel. I'm so glad I picked this one because we enjoyed a great honeymoon thanks to GR Solaris and its staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
First of all thank you for having selected us for such a special vacation, we are glad your honeymoon was a pleasant experience ! thank you for pointing out our staff and shows.
We look forward to having you and your friends next time !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned from GR Solaris and can't wait to go back!! Don't pay attention to the whiners out there. This was my 4th time in Mexico but 1st time in Cancun and by far the best time I've had so far!

At first was a little worried about going to Cancun since I am such a beach bum and had heard a lot of times the water is red flagged and can't swim. There was definitely big waves but we were still allowed in the water. Actually had quiet a good time and good laughs as we kept flashing people as we kept loosing pieces of our bathing suits! hahaha!

THE GOOD
-First time at a small resort and loved it. Took 1 minute to walk from the beach to the pool or to the buffet or lobby. So nice not to have to wait for a shuttle to take you around.
-3 pools at this resort - Kids pool, adult pool, pool bar. I stayed at the pool bar (close to the entertainment staff booth) so can't really comment on the others. Chairs were always full but plenty of room in the pool itself.
-Only went to Marco Polo (à la carte) one time and food was delicious!
-Very nice beach
-Always lots of chairs available on the beach. First time I travel where I don't need to "fight" for a beach chair and get up at 7am to reserve one.
-Best entertainment staff I've seen. Lots of activities by the pool and staff will get everyone to participate. (Plus it helps they are all very good looking also :)
-Resort does not give you the "wow factor" but everything is very clean. Staff are always cleaning,scrubbing.
-Bedrooms - nothing fancy but definitely clean with newer floor tiles and shower. No need to worry about mold!
-Staff are always smiling, very friendly.
-Bartenders will make you which ever drink you want. (Apple martini's were awesome but definitely felt it at the end of the night :) Not sure why people complain about drinks being too weak. Just ask for extra rum and they'll be happy to poor it in!
-Cost $1 US to take the public transit bus downtown. Picks you up right in front of the resort and comes around like every 5 minutes and goes on 24 hours. Very safe!

THE "NOT SO GOOD"
-Rooms are not soundproof at all and have joining rooms so you can hear the people in the other room or talking in the hallway but who cares, how much time will you really spend in your room anyway your in Mexico!
-No beach bar but I don't think there are any at any other resorts in Cancun. Around noon hour for the rest of the afternoon there are a couple of waiters that will come around taking drink orders.
-Food was OK, found it limited but again my first time at a small resort.

Stayed during the week of April 7th and was surprised to see so many families. Thought it would be a younger crowd for Cancun however, we still had fun! Made lots of friends and again the entertainment staff were the best! If you're looking for entertainment at night, you definitely have to go off the resort. The resort offers shows every night between 9:00-10:00 but after that everything pretty much quiets down. We booked through the entertainment staff. That way one rep will take you downtown, have your private table and free alcohol service all night. We went to Coco Bongo's and Palazzo. Another night, we went for dinner just on our own to Charlie's & Carlo's - had a blast!

Normally after a week of being on vacation I am ready to come back but not this time!! Great weather, great people and lots of booze!

Travelled with a friend and both in our late twenties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Thank you for pointing out Marco Polo restaurant. We are sorry about the disconfort in your room, we look forward to seeing you back again in a near future !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Myself and my husband spent a week here in Feb . i have never been to a Solaris resort ,it was recommended by an apple vacation specialist, and I am so glad she did. On arrival we were forwarned about the time share people and how to take care of that , Just tell them "not interested" and they do not bother you . Although i was surprised it is only the second time i have been approached in a resort for this. We were immediatley given our room key and on entering found the foul smell of cigarettes, but before I could walk across the room to call front desk the concierge was there with our luggage and took over and got us in another room right away wirh no wait. Room was not a ocean view but i did not request one as we are only in the room to sleep. We found the pool , adult area, food , beach , loungers ect all very good. Staff was very quick to learn about us and by the next day remembered us and our preferences.
There were a few "special staff" but all were so accomodating it would not be fair to leave anyone out so i just give a tip of my hat to all.of them including the restaurant staffand front desk/front line staff.
We talked about going back to this resort again. As per most resorts it is a learning curve. we never did make it to the special dining area but did not really feel the need to , We had way too much to do and see to waste it on a 3 hour meal, even if it would have been lobster (wihich is a surcharge)We met many travellers that have been there more than a few times, and they also are planning a return trip. The hotel is on a bus route and we did take the bus to an excursion and it was very easy as was the return trip .The resort keeps track of how many times you stay there and you get a color coded wrist band. No sure why because we were all treated the same 'exceptional " I would give this a thumbs up for sure. Small but great place to go and relax or be entertained and the food was very good.

Room Tip: if you want an ocean room make sure to ask .The rooms on the side of the resort can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our staff :)

We hope to see you soon again !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I just visited GR Solaris from April 10th-14th. Our check in was pretty smooth other than the mis understanding between the free wifi they had listed on their one site. We contacted the facebook site for GR and was told we would have free wifi, when we got to check in there was no record of this but the manager took care of it quickly. Rooms were very clean all the time, safe in room (this is free, no daily charge) you are given a towel card to get new towels each day (free of charge) drinks are very good (very strong), waiters are excellent and will bring your drinks for hours on end to the beach, the shows are amazing!! the entertainment staff is awesome and very funny. over all a great vacation! FYI wear sunscreen not SPF 4 Oil!!! Burnt to a crispt. The bus felt very safe if you need to go into down I would recommend Jet Skiing!!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent, quiet floors, nice size and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate your comments, thank you for pointing out our entertainment staff.
We hope to see you soon !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are looking for a good hotel then look no further, I would not rate it as a 5 star, but a healthy 4.5.

Staff:
Really friendly and helpful ranging from bar, pool, restaurant and entertainment staff. Some of the reception staff could do with developing a bit more customer service skills. A little bit of explanation or additional information related to your question would go a long way in enhancing the experience of those staying at the hotel rather than a simple 'yes' or 'no'.

Food:
We never struggled to find something to eat as food is of a good quality. However, as I/family do not eat pork it did become difficult to find a variety of dishes that did not contain pork, in some fashion. Overall, a great selection of food (could do with being a bit hotter at times) and beautifully displayed. Marco Polo, mm, ok, all shirt and no trousers (if you know that expression) after reading the reviews I thought this place was a must! I was wrong and disappointed not only with the quality of food, but also with a female member of staff's lack of customer service skills. It is Not what it is made up to be in the reviews, unless we were just unlucky with an off night. I must point out the majority of staff at the hotel are great it seems you always get one wherever you go and this particular female member of staff was the one, whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner its almost a smile would crack her face and simple pleasantries were way beyond her. Maybe we just caught her on a bad week to be fair?!

Drinks
We are not real drinkers but enjoy the odd alcoholic beverage each evening. Drinks were ok and of a great variety. Tequila is the drink I say! It reaches parts other drinks don't go :)

Beach
Very nice beach white sand if that's what you like (as we do) sea was a bit rough. Red flags out all the time and usually by 11am the odd yellow flag would be put up some where along the beach to allow for some form of swimming to take place. Kiddies can paddle by the shore as the water comes in but definately keep an eye on them as mother nature has a way of turning in a blink of an eye. No issue of seaweed when we were there. Beach can be breazy so be careful in the sun even though it feels cool. People do mark their territory by placing stuff on loungers so be aware. No beach bar, but drinks can be ordered as staff do adventure down on to the beach to take orders. Tipping goes a long way in Cancun. Overall, great beach pity sea was not calmer to allow relaxation in the sea, as I said waves can be forceful!

Swimming pool
Great swim up bar. Swimming pools are what they are swimming pools. When we first arrived the pool had been heated and oh what a joy! Unfortunately that was the only time we experinced it heated. Further trips to the pool were not as bliss : ( kiddies pool always heated our 3yr old son loved it and the kiddie slide in the pool great feature. The staff in the Kids Club can't fault them and would like to thank them for their service.

Rooms
We had a double deluxe ocean view...room was satisfactory..comfortable, clean and had a great view of the sea and part of the hotel grounds. We did notice the ocean front rooms lose the sunlight in the early afternoon as the sun moves round. Room was cleaned everyday and fridge always restocked!Fridge in our room a little too noisey did wake us up at somepoint every night.

Entertainment
Michael Jackson night was great! The performers definitely done their homework. Did not attend the other shows so unable to comment.

Accessibility for those who use a wheelchair can be improved. Some doors are heavy and make them difficult to exit/gain entrance to various parts of the Hotel. Lifts will take you to all levels, however, there are still doors and one or two steps in places you may need to negotiate.

As I said if you are looking for a good quality hotel 4.5 star I would say look no further than the GR Solaris...

Oh just as an add on. I read loads about airport tax to leave Cancun on this fourum. From the United Kingdom the tax is included in the ticket just incase anyone else reads the reviews I did.

Again GR Solaris all the way...!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about our resort, we do appreciate them. Thanks for pointing out our MJ show !
We are looking forward to have you and your family again soon !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;