We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time with my family in GR Solaris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Save Saved
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 174 hotels in Cancun
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2nd Time with my family in GR Solaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Entertainment staff is Excellent and no what to do to make us happy.All the staff is absolutely amazing and super family friendly from day care to housekeeping etc.
P.S. To much food if you are on diet ;)))))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    793
    313
    146
    94
See reviews for
670
907
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

To start this off we have been traveling to Cancun and the Riveria Maya at least once a year since 1999. We have stayed at this resort's sister resorts in Cancun 5 times and as recent as the last week of October 2012 when we tried to book this resort and our travel agent booked us into the GR Caribe by mistake. This mistake turned into one of our best trips but my wife was still disappointed because she really wanted to try the GR Solaris. Since she is retired she was relentless in convincing me to go back to Mexico quickly and try the this resort. We arrived o find out that our room reservation for a room with a king size bed was was not honored and we were put in a room with 2 doubles with a promise that they would try to move us the next day. When we got into our room we were extremly disapointed. The view from are balcony was the windows of the corridors of the next building about 50 yards away. Sorry this is not what you expect at a 5 golden apple resort in Mexico. We went early in the morning to see about the room switch and all they had was a room with a lagoon view so we got lucky and did not need to stare at the building next door for 7 days. While at the front desk there were 2 couples complaining about machinery noise that was keeping them up all night and they were told that there would be an upcharge to move their rooms. At this point we felt lucky but that changed at 7 PM when the machinery noise started. The noise and vibration was terrble and started every night at the same time and continued all night. Here is a hint don't accept a room on or close to the south side of the building. We read other reviews about the thin walls and being able to hear everything in the adjoining rooms well it is very true so we had machinery and noisy kids all week. THE beds and pillows are hard, hard, hard.
Disappointments: no free WiFi this is provided at the sister resorts, dinner at the Marco Polo-expect to pay extra for steak and other entrees (never had to do this before), when the resort is crowded the restaurants are not big enough especially at breakfast. We had to stand in line and wait for seating 3 mornings until they realized that they needed to open another restuarant
and there are not enough servers to keep up( the servers are very good; there are just not enough), it was not uncommon to run out of dishes glasses and food during breakfast also, we were told that we were not allowed to have any premium types of alcohol. We never ran into this before in a resort of this rating, another funny thing about the alcohol, I do like to drink my share but this was the first time I could not even get a buzz unless I drank beer. There were no areas of the resort where us baby boomers could go in the evening to spend some quiet time sipping a drink and holding a conversation. My wife's one piece of luggage did not make our flight from Houston to Cancun. We could not get anyone from management to help us track or expedite getting her luggage to the resort. They left us on our own and we have never experienced this lack of effort to help a guest.
Good: the evening shows are far above average and enjoyable, the food quality was very good for an all inclusve, the servers were very good just not enough of them. The resort is very clean and the cleaning staff that does the rooms are very good, the pools and hot tub are clean warm and nice, the adult pool area is very quiet yet 50 feet away there is ample entertainmet and activities at the other pools.
Also, if you go to this resort, you DO NOT have priveleges to go to the other sister resorts down the street. (GR Caribe and Royal Solaris)

Room Tip: Stay away from the south and north sides of the building. Ocean view or lagoon view are the best an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your expperience with us, always help us to monitor our services and adjust where necessary.
We would like to offer you our most sincere aplogies for the inconveniences you may had in our resort.
Regarding your reviews, we really regret we do not meet your expectations, please be informed that we will look closely into the issues you mention and resolve them accordingly with every department involved
We are working continuously to offer you the service you deserve and make you feel unique.

Once again, we do apologize and hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and welcome you again very soon in GR Solaris Cancun.
Sincerely,


Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have been vacationing at this hotel twice a year for the last 6 years. The food in all restraunts is outstanding. The entire staff from waiters to front desk will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Last but not least the entertainment staff is the best in Cancun, from the pool games to nightly shows in the theatre

Room Tip: Always ask for ocean front or view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zachsmomm07
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful with a prime location on the beach, ocean water is crystal blue and perfect! All the staff is absolutely amazing and super friendly! We paid a little extra for an upgraded room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony that overlooked the ocean, it was definitely worth paying the extra $30 a night or so for it. The shows there werent very good, but the performers put their heart and soul into it so it makes it good. The only downfall, and reason that I will not be returning is the food, it was awful!! And I am not a picky eater. We did not eat at Marco Polo during our stay so I cannot speak for that restaurant. We pretty much lived off of turkey sandwiches from the deli because the buffet food was so horrible. The snack bar with hit or miss sometimes it would have chicken skewers or chicken drumsticks and french fries and a couple of other good things they had out, but sometimes the snack bar didn't really have anything appetizing. We were there for four nights, which was the perfect amount because I don't think I could've done another day with that food. Bartender Louise was awesome, he was super friendly and made sure we always had drinks ( if we wanted them) and provided EXCELLENT customer service! If they improve the food here we would return... Also, a tip, if you go down at about 7:30 or 8 AM and put your towels on a chair on the beach or a pool chair you will have one ,if not they will all be full of people already holding the chairs with their towels by 9:30

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the GR Solaris from Feb 2-8th. I had an ocean view room, she had a basic room with a balcony.

Rooms- the rooms were basic, beds were hard and the walls were very thin, I heard everything from the next room even snoring in the middle of the night. People walking in the hallway was the same.

Staff- Majority or the staff were nice and pleasant except DAVID at the front reception desk. He needs training on customer service. Our flight was cancelled on 2/8 due to weather in Boston and we went to the reception desk to extend our stay, he was the least bit accommodating. He told us the hotel was booked, and was quick to move on to the next guest. Very inconsiderate and rude.

Phone usage- Phone calls to the airline were $3.50 to connect the call, then $1.50/minute we were told. The wait for a customer service rep with the airline was 30+minutes so we didn't stay on the call. We went to the travel/excursion office and they called the airline for us and let us look up flights on their computer. In the meantime, we went back to the front desk, spoke with Maura and she suggested GR Caribe the companies other resort and made the call for us to reserve a room for us.

Wifi- is $15/day and you pay through the front desk. GR Caribe (sister property) has free wifi in the lobby area.

Tipping- we brought plenty of ones and small bills but when we ran out, no hotel staff had change to break a $5 or $10 bill.

Pools- both were nice, the adult pool was quiet and relaxing, the other pool had the music and activities.

Shows- nightly shows were good

Food- was good, room service was available at no additional charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of GR Solaris Cancun, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while vacationing with us. We'd also like to thank you for all of your feedback, as our guests' thoughts and impressions are our number one priority while on vacation.

We assure you customer service it´s very important for us, we will inform our General Manager about it and action will be taken on this point.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at GR Solaris. The grounds and beach were very well kept up, The service was great especially Salaya for breakfast and lunch. We made reservations at Marco Polo most nights and the food was very good as was the service of Vermon. The buffet breakfast was great each morning, the noon lunches OK each day. The main pools are quite loud but it did not bother us as we were either at the adult pool or beach, both of which were quieter. We have read questionable reviews of the front desk but had no problems. The rooms could be larger and the bathrooms are small, however housekeeping keeps them very clean. Small tips get you great service and I would suggest it. They work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. Would not hesitate to recommend this property considering how much it cost. Remember it is not the Four Seasons or the Ritz, however you did not pay for them.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor ocean view which was good. Higher would be better. 1st floor with large patio wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first time staying at the GR Solaris and I have NO COMPLAINTS! My favorite part was drinking coffee on the patio and watching the sun come up over the ocean. We did a room upgrade which I recommend (totally worth it). The beach is beautiful and clean and not too crowded. The resort is a perfect size..NOT HUGE but definately not a small. We had drinks brought to us all day long (service is wonderful), its all inclusive but the servers deserve tips because they make the experience so relaxing! We really never even left the resort, never had to! We ate fresh fruit, seafood, all day long. Endless drinks and sun and happiness;)....I walked both directions up the beach and I have to say the GR Solaris stands out for its cleanliness, and beauty, elegance. I highly recommend this hotel. There's something for everyone!!!! Thank you GR Solaris! SEE YOU AGAIN SOON I HOPE!

Room Tip: Panarama upgrade was AMAZING! Sunrises will take your breath away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at GR Solaris Cancun.

We would love to host you again soon.

Warm Regargs,

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.