We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? $15 / Day for WIFI?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Save Saved
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 6 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really? $15 / Day for WIFI?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Outrageous, but true, thanks to a new policy quietly brought in about two months go by the resort management. Fortunately, this is a rare misstep for an otherwise extremely well-run resort, and maybe it will be rethought if enough people complain. They already offer 30 min/day of free wifi to "members", so it would be easy enough to make this the policy for all guests. So on to the good features. As a medium-sized resort, there was definitely a personal feeling here. Pool staff, restaurant staff, cleaning staff etc were all terrific, and recognized guests with the first repeat encounter. And the pool setp was great: a main pool with swimup bar and most of the organized activities, and an adjoining kiddie area, with a second pool equipped with sports nets etc for e.g. waterpolo, or just a quieter pool for swimming that was right next to the first pool, but one level lower down towards the beach. On the other side of our favorite restaurant, the semi-open air Rosmarinus, was a very quiet and secluded adults only pool and jacuzzi, as well as open air massage facility. And speaking of restaurants, there was such a variety with the main by-reservation (reservations opened at 8:00am on the morning of the desired reservation) restaurant having a different theme/menu every night of the week. One possible complaint here, though, is the lack of vegetarian entree offerings. The appetizer buffet was always terrific, in addition to the listings on the menu, and the overall food quality was very good. There was on some nights an elaborate buffet offered in a supper club setting in the main entertainment room, there was always a themed dinner buffet in the main breakfast buffet restaurant, and there were theme nights in the open-air Rosmarinus. We were there for 11 nights, and never repeated a dinner option. There is a poolside snack bar that opened at 11:00am, until around 5:00pm?, and a deli that opened at 4:00pm until 6:30am. Really, I don't think there is any time that something to eat or drink is not available! The evening entertainment shows started at 9:00pm, and we managed to catch only two of them. Both were very good; one was a Mexican folklorique show, and the other was, a mini-Cirque Soleil type show. Thursdays they had a deal with Senor Frog, giving free transportation there, and free dinner. Otherwise, it is very easy to walk out to the main road, and catch a bus (8.5 pesos, or $1 US each way), with buses running about every 5 minutes, to take you there, or to Margaritaville, or the main shopping center, etc. The Solaris front desk gives a good exchange rate on dollars (US or Canadian) to pesos. There is also a very interesting Maya ruin site, El Rey, just a five minute walk down the road (sidewalked) from the resort. It seems to be kept a big secret, as there is nothing in the hotel to tell guests it is there, which is a shame. Admission is 42 pesos per adult, and again you are better off with the exchange rate in the resort. OK, I'm running out of steam here. I have to mention that the resort is kept extremely clean, with cleaning staff working all the time. We knocked over a glass (all are re-usable plastic around the pool) at the pool, and someone was there within minutes to clean it up. Every night all the pool lounge chairs were stacked, and the whole area was hosed and swept clean. One final plus is that even though the resort was full, the restaurants never seemed crowded, and there were lots of lounge chairs (with palapa and umbrella shades) on the beach. And there was regularly someone walking along the beach taking bar orders, so you could get your margaritas without even getting out of your lounge! We loved the beach, with warm and clean water, but the surf was often quite rough, and even good swimmers had to be careful. There was a resort-operated lifeguard station, and we did see them go out and bring a couple of people back in. So overall, we loved it.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are worth the upgrade, as long as you don't need a quiet room during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our services at Gr Solaris. We value your opinion because we are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.

We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to Cancún.

Warm regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    743
    296
    137
    91
See reviews for
603
856
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halmstad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has fantastic food and offers all facilities one would expect from a self-respecting hotel, including medical service. Rooms are nice and clean, room service fantastic, there are many restaurants to choose from, the staff is friendly, helpful and will set you in the right mood for the rest of the day (e.g. the always happy Gilberto, working at the breakfast and lunch restaurants, thanks!).

The hotel itself is great and if you like mass-tourist Meccas (such as Cancun), this is a great place to stay. Beware though that finding a nice, quiet stretch of Caribbean beach here is an impossibility. But if you are looking for an all inclusive resort in Cancun, this is well worth it!

Room Tip: Laguna view rooms can be noisy due to the road, while the ocean views are more pricy. But there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will inform to our staff your comments especially Gilberto. Thank you for taking your time writing your review.

Hope we see you soon.

Kind regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was fine - typical all inclusive food. This is about our 20th all inclusive and frankly they all taste the same.

The rooms were clean. The cleaning staff did a nice job and folded towels into animals and people for our entertainment everyday. We left a big tip for all their effort

The rooms are NOISY. REALLY REALLY REALLY noisy. Our neighbors ordered room service and we could hear their cutlery on their plates. That's how noisy. Talking, hanky panky, you name it - you could hear it. The worst part were the chairs moving above us, below us, and on either side of us. That sound was enough to wake you from a sound sleep as the metal legs dragged across the ceramic floor.

The pools are nice, the beach is gorgeous and the lifeguards really do pay attention. The activity staff are very nice too.

The timeshare pitch (which we went to to save some money) was very aggressive. Almost 2 hrs with the Solaris rep who won't tell you a price then you get led to the lion's den - where all the sales people and their managers are there to push you very very hard.

They try to sell you on stays at their own hotels (3 in cancun, 1 in cabo and 3 that are vapor-ware), a membership in RCI (which you could get on redweek.com for almost free) and a membership in something called ICE. ICE apparently has a lot of rules and a points system as well as a requirement to put your timeshare into their pool. None of that is explained. The details they provide are sketchy - they provide no literature - they will not allow you to take the notes they make while talking to you so that you can confirm the info. Their price started at $39,800 then $10,900 then $9765 then $7765. No less than 4 managers had a turn trying to sell us before they finally gave up.

If you go to the presentation and need a way out simply tell them in no uncertain terms that you will not commit a penny until you have an opportunity to go back to your hotel or home and spend several hours reviewing the reviews, details, and info you can find from unbiased travelers on the internet. Tell them flat out that you have no reason to trust them or make a decision based on what they are telling you today. They will tell you that the deal they are offering is today only and not there tomorrow. They tell that to everyone.

Other than the timeshare it was a good stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: try and avoid a room near the elevators. The rooms are noisy no matter where you are but I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are pleased that your stay at our Resort has been satisfactory. We appreciate for taking your time for writing your comments; we will take action to improve our timeshare guest service.
We hope you stay again with us soon and see our improvement

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from an 8 day stay. The staff is amazing. Monica and Luis gave great service poolside. The entertainment staff by the pool was fantastic! They absolutely made our trip fun because of the activities and daily energy by the pool. The food was good and very clean. We can't wait to go back again next year!! The resort is smaller than some other ones on the strip but that's what makes it so special! We met a lot of great people!

Room Tip: Our only complaint was that the hotel charges for Internet service. It's very expensive after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We glad to know you enjoyed your stay.

Will be a pleasure to see you back next year!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I just returned from a trip December 26-30 and had a wonderful time at the hotel. The place is very clean including the beach area. We ate at Marco Polo 3 nights which was excellent. The breakfast buffet was great, they had everthing imagable including sugar free jelly. Our room did not have a beach view but a view of the lagoon, but we were not in the room that much so it did not bother us. Also, included with our room were bathrobes and slippers. The bartenders at the pool bar were the best, especially Abraham. He kept the drinks coming all day long and included a few shots along the way. Overall our experience was excellent and would definetly recommend the GR Solars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so grateful for considering us as your favorite destination. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our service and our restaurants.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm Regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for a Warhorse marketing seminar and we had an amazing experience. The staff made sure to make us feel welcomed. Packages sold at the hotel were exactly as described and provided transportation to and from. My vacation trip was a dream!

Room Tip: Book early to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your considerate review of your stay with us.

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, service, and location of the hotel. We value your opinion, and are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.
We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to the area.

Warm Regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We bought this hotel 2 days ago, for 1 night, The price was supposed to be $420 but turned out to be $600 because of priceline's advertising of the hotel (not the hotel's fault). Even at $420, the room was really small and a bit dirty. The food was mediocre. For this kind of money, I would expect a 5 star experience. It is more on the line of a Motel 6 type room.

The next night, we stayed at the Royal Islander, about 2 miles from this hotel. The price was $330 per night. The room was a suite and beautiful. It was about 4 times bigger. Even though it did not come with food, there was no comparison. GR Solaris is totally not worth the money and I strongly recommend that you not stay at this hotel unless you do not care about getting value for your money.

Room Tip: I supposed all of the rooms were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are really sorry to read your comments about our Hotel; we can assure you we always try to do our best for that reason we care about your important comment that helps us to improve our services, however we think if you had stayed with us more that one night your perception could be different regarding our service.

Best regards.
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel
Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris
Grand Solaris Cancun
Cancun Gr Solaris
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#37 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#37 Business Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.