We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bar staff in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GR Solaris Cancun to your Saves list
GR Solaris Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
“Best Bar staff in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent a lot of time at the pool bar and Isaac and Benjamin are the Best....thanks for the great time..Great Place to have a Great Time...highly recommend...by the way the Mexican Flag Shots....lol...will defiantly be back for our 2nd trip to Cancun

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    848
    332
    150
    98
See reviews for
736
965
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at GR Solaris, Cancun during November 2012. We can't say enough good things about the hotel staff. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. "Emily" the waitress jumped into the pool and saved a 2 yo who was drowning!!!!!! Attention management give her a raise, please!!! The hotel was modern and very clean. The food was good and we had a great time. Thank you GR Solaris staff, you're awesome!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I want to start off saying that we got an amazing deal to travel November 24-28 2012 and the old saying of you get what you pay for rang true here. There was nothing special about this spot except the staff! From the bell boys to the bartenders you will always feel welcome and special! The food was average, after 2 days everything seemed to taste the same....but I will say that we went fishing and caugt a grouper which was specailly prepared by a chef just for us at no additional charge. This is the perfect resort for families, it was small and the most casual resort we have ever stayed at. The nightly shows were just not enough action for us....after the sun goes down (which was early this time of year) there didn't seem to be much to do on the resort and this is the main reason for my low rating. We upgraded to a suite and was glad we did for $30 usd/night! No BAR in the adult only swim area so we were subjected to kids and their rude parents at the main pool when we wanted to drink in the sun....another big minus! Families this is perfect, young couples...not so much!

Room Tip: Don't pay for an upgrade in advance...upgrade when you get there. Let them ask you about it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for reviewing GR Solaris Cancun. We appreciate our guests' feedback and will look into the concerns you have listed, however we can read that you had a good vacations during your stay with us.

Your feedback it´s very important for us, thank you.
^A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This vacation was great. The hotel is very clean and the staff is extra friendly. Carlos Coomal the waiter was excellent, along with Luna, Vivi, & Salaya. The kids club with Jenn and Any was great :) they were very friendly and great with kids. Lots of fun activities for the kids and a very clean place. This hotel was great and we will be coming back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was our first time in Mexico and we really did not have any idea where to stay, so we went for 4 stars hotel and good reviews. We were pretty much happy with a hotel. It has a beautiful beach, very clean and well maintained. I am pretty sure they have one of the best beaches in the area, because I jogged in both direction few times for few miles and I had a chance to compare. Hotel is very well maintained and looks almost new from inside. We spend all time on the beach and never next to pool, but there was always some sort of activates going on and plenty entertainment.
I am giving for stars to a hotel, because when we were checking in we were not offered any options for the upgrade and we were put in OK room, but I wish it was facing different directions. Our balcony was facing North, looking on another hotel, but we still could see an ocean turning on the right. So make sure your room faces a pool area, to get a better ocean view.
Second reason, they did not had much night life for a younger people. We are in our thirties but we missed some at list small club or real bar on site. They do have music and entertainment going on in a lounge-hall area but it’s not enough, and pretty much would be for older people almost for people in their 50s-60s.
Food was good, we ate almost every night in Marco Polo, every night they had a different menu and we loved a food and presentation of the food.
Finally when I got sick and we tried to call a doctor, we were told (by the doctor) that if he would come in our room, we would have to pay him cash only. That we did not liked, because it was pretty late and we were out of cash or not enough and to go to the center of the Cancun to get some, was too late. I did not understand why we could not just pay by credit card…
But over all we had a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Best food I have ever had at a AI resort. Very Clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great entertainment. All around great resort. Will be back again with the kids next time. Ps... Get the jacuzzi suite if possible :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are looking for a place where you can feel comfortable, have fun but not be surrounded by drunks, this is the place. All the staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are clean. If you are looking for a five star food experience this is not the place for you, but the food is ok. The shows are entertaining. I have been here several times and would recommend it to my friends. It has the nicest beach of all the surrounding hotels too!!!

Room Tip: opt for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Solaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.