We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern reasonably priced stay, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Cancun to your Saves list
Aloft Cancun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Modern reasonably priced stay, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

For the price it has a good location-very close to coco bongo and a mall. If you are not doing an all inclusive and want a reasonable, clean and modern hotel for the night, this fits the bill. Their rooms have this modern colorful decor and nice toiletries, a nice terrace. Breakfast may or maynot be included in your deal so check before having or they will charge you extra if its not included. They have a printer and computers, a snack bar and restaurant downstairs, but if you step out there's plenty to eat just a walk away. Late check in was not a problem

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside or higher floor for more quiet. All rooms have different colors so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, Administrative Assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear MABvoyager ,

Thank you for your comments!
We are so glad to know that you had enjoyed of our facilities and great location during your recent stay at Aloft Cancun.

Hope your next getaway brings you back to Cancun and let us host you again for more Aloft Style.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    167
    66
    17
    18
See reviews for
50
159
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Pros: Great price. Our hotel room & bathroom were both decent size, clean, and the hotel wireless internet worked perfect (in the room, lobby and at the rooftop pool). Room had a mini fridge & in room safe, which are a must for me. Location was perfect walking distance to the main club/shopping area (Coco Bongo’s, Dady O’s, Carlos’n Charlie’s, a mall & market), but the 2 blocks were far enough away to avoid the noise. Side note: check out the 2nd floor gift store in the mall, before heading to the market to shop. We found all the same souvenirs as the market, but their prices were much lower, unless you enjoy negotiating with the locals (the market tried selling me a bottle of Tequila for $80 USD, and I found the same bottle at the mall store for $14 USD ... Ridiculous)! The rooftop pool is small, but sufficient. It was not too crowded while we were there, which worked perfectly for lying out and enjoying the view from atop.

Cons: Hotel room had one small window that didn’t open (I knew they didn’t have a balcony, which was fine for the price, but I wish the window would have opened for a little fresh air). The only mirror is in the bathroom, and the bathroom was separated by a frosted glass sliding door, which does not close completely (so there is no privacy). The staff was not very attentive, and often gave conflicting information. We ordered drinks at the lobby bar, then ordered the same drinks at the pool bar, where they tried to charge us more. When we advised what we paid in the lobby, they changed our bill by the pool. There is no direct beach access; we heard you can use a nearby beach club, but we did not look into it, as we were onlyat this hotel for 2 days.

Overall, the Pros outweighed the Cons, especially for the price & location. I would suggest this hotel if you are only looking to stay a few nights or less, and if you are looking to spend most of your time outside of the hotel at the clubs/shopping, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Tamara314,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay at Aloft Cancun.

We appreciate your time taken to having us know about your experience. We are glad to tell you that our head managers have been working in applying proper actions to avoid any inconveniences regarding service. So we are confident in asking you to come back and let us show you the real Aloft style enjoying of a great service and our great location.

Hope to host you soon at Aloft Cancun,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was dirty, noisy from the sounds of the lobby and just plain old bad!! Rooms were small, unclean with dirty floors, moldy showers. There was a small window in the room which did not open and it felt more like a jail cell than a hotel room. I asked about switching rooms in hopes that there was some kind of upgraded suite and I was told all the rooms were the same and since we prepaid the option of moving to a different hotel would have meant losing the $1,000.00 that we were charged for the week.
No coffee in room although there was a small single cup maker, and when I asked for coffee I was given a packet of instant coffee:(. Within a few hours of being in the hotel I became very stuffed up and felt terrible , as I looked up to the ceiling you could clearly see mounds of dust in the vents, so if you have dust allergies then you will for sure be subject to allergy symptoms .
the gym is very small with just a few pieces of equipment so if you are a person who enjoys working out at beautiful gyms at hotels as a change of pace from your everyday at home gym then again you will be disappointed. They advertise a sauna and a steam room which was kept locked apparently for security reasons? I asked for it to be unlocked and again major bummer the sauna never got hot enough and the steam room stunk of mold and mildew so badly that the chance of me getting sick never made it worth me checking if it actually worked . I could go on but there was no good qualities about the Aloft and I would never go or suggest it to anyone. In conclusion the Aloft is ADump !!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We are sorry to learn that you did not have the Aloft experience as we wish to all of our guests staying with us.

Our head managers have taken actions to improve all of our services since you come in until you check out and we have received great comments letting us know that our improvements are working. Hope you come soon and realize it by yourself.

Please accept our apologies for your inconveniences, and please be sure that we are committed to grow better in every aspect and offer you the real Aloft style. And we hope you give us the opportunity to erase your actual opinion and change it to a better one.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I just arrived and am very disappointed. The air conditioning is not on unless you are in the room. Consequently the room is very moldy and smells bad until hours later. There is a coffee maker in the room but they don't supply coffee, only instant decaf. The room like other Aloft property's is modern minimalist, ok if you are not looking for a plush hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Jean M,

Thank you for taking the time in leaving your comments about your stay at Aloft Cancun.

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy much of your stay with us; but we are glad to say that our head managers have been taking actions to improve many aspects of our service and facilities. We now offer agret blended coffee in the rooms and our air conditioning system is being fixed to avoid any inconveniences.

We hope you can come back soon and give us the opportunity to show you our commitment in giving a great experience during your stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my first time staying at Starwood Hotels, and just to let you know - I'm going to stay at their hotels whenever it's possible! Location is excellent and the decoration was very modern. Rooms are BIG and the lagoon view from our room was spectacular. They also have taxi services in front of the hotel, 350 pesos (max 4 passengers) from the hotel to the airport, not bad at all! Receptionists speak very good English and they're really helpful! Ferry to the Isla Mujeres leaves from the nearest beach and there are millions of great beaches everywhere. And last but not the least, did I mention the roof pool and bar? It's huge and you'll have 360 degrees views over the Zona Hotelera!

Room Tip: ask for the lagoon view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Kataaw,
Thank you for your opinion! It is great to know that staying at Aloft Cancun will make you a follower of our Starwood properties.
Hope you come back soon and stay again with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

new place in the heart of hotel zone with transportation Within 200 ft buses and taxies.Access to the beach right across the road as well as ferry to isle of mujeuras. hotel needs to hire more employees at the front desk and a little more information about their hotel. wonderful beds with safe and fridge in rooms, exellent cleaning staff, the best waiters in cancun was always on top of your needs and wants,our hats go off to Santiago and Ariel at the restaurant at the hotel. The Price for the luxury you get is a huge bargain.might need to either supply coffee in rooms or remove coffeemaker

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear bill145,

First of all, thank you for having us know about your experience in Aloft Cancun. We are glad to know that you are very satisfied about staying with us.

Regarding your comments about our Aloha desk staff, we appreciate your opinion about it; our head managers have been talking about this and are taking appropriate actions. Please accept our apologies about not having your coffee refilled during your stay; indeed this is a detail we need to take care and we appreciate you having us informed about it so we can act and avoid this incurs again.

About your congratulations to Santiago and Ariel, we are very happy to hear that they had a great service for you! We are making extension of your recognition to their good job.

Yet again, thank you very much for your feedback! We hope you can come in a near future to Aloft Cancun and keep enjoying our style.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Excellent location. Good and friendly service in whole hotel. Special thanks to Ariel and Santiago :-) with breakfast and guys in pool bar.
Air condition keeps high humidity all the time :-(
We enjoyed! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Minna R, Aloha!

Thank you for your kind comments!!

We will make extensive your notes to Ariel and Santiago, thank you for making us note about their great service!

We hope that you come back in a near future and continue enjoying all about Aloft Cancun.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.2 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#80 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#61 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#88 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip new hotel where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.