We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
222 Cancun Airport, Cancun, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #406 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“very very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Started off with a $20 margarita. All drinks are very expensive and food was very pricey. Definately not worth the price we paid for food and drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“last time we eat at this place...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have visited Jimmy Buffets Margaritaville in Cozumel, Cancun and the airport a few times. We were very disappointed this year at the airport location. They took away the free wi-fi service, the sodas cost more and more each trip. Our old favorite menu item "volcano nachos" with beef taste like a giant turd. We would of much rather had a slice of pizza from the food court then the terrible service and ever rising prices at margaritville. Not going to bother stopping there again. Waste of money, and sadly I don't ever post poor reviews. First time for everything and hopefully the last. Yuck!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went here for lunch with friends after visiting the Culture Museum in Cancun. Plan on $25.00 per person. I had the fresh guacomole made table sise with an order of fish tacos and an ice tea. Good menu selections. We couldn't wait til we got back to our hotel for lunch. I thought what we got was pricey, but hit the spot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stay away---WAY TOO EXPENSIVE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were are this restaurant approximately 1 hour while waiting for our departure gate to be posted. There were 4 of us. We had beers and 1 order of the salsa and chips. Keep in mind, we had 7 beers total and one order of the fresh made salsa and chips. When we received our tab, which was in pesos. When we asked the server how much in American dollars, he said about $137.00. WHAT????? Most everything else that you can purchase in the Cancun Airport has the US dollars price listed. When I received the statement from my credit card. The total was for $143.50.
My advise. If you need to wait at the Cancun Airport. Purchase some water. What ever you do, stay away from this RIPOFF!!!!!! Once again...STAY AWAY FROM THIS RIPOFF!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, IA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Risky drinking...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were tired of our all-inclusive buffet, so we went for what we had hoped would be a little more Americanized food. WRONG! They made my husband's mojito with SALT instead of SUGAR. He actually felt ill after sipping a few tastes. The waiter did apologize and gave us 10% off, but it really ruined our meal. After that meal 3 of the 4 of us didn't feel good for the rest of our trip. We don't know why, but it seemed to be related to this dining experience. The people were nice though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.