We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the buffets -- and ability to order from menu too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Blvd Kuculcan | The Royal Sands, Cancun, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love the buffets -- and ability to order from menu too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our week at the Royal Sands and the food at La Veranda. We did the all-inclusive route there and it was definitely worth it for us! The food was great and the staff always went out of their way to provide the best service to us. We especially liked the variety offered on their buffets following their "themed" menus. I did not find it to be noisy at all, and enjoyed the piano playing in the evenings. There was never a lack of food and choices! It is definitely worth doing the all-inclusive with the Royal Sands!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place has a great lunch buffet. Nice assortment of hot foods; ribs, fish - baked and fried, meats, breads. Cakes, pies. Surely something for everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“In the Royal Sands Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This has inside and outside dining available.Some buffets and specialty days.Good breakfast buffet.We have come here often.Good service but I think not as good a value as it used to before the resort went all inclusive.It was a bit on the noisy side at lunchtime.Good place to go when you want to get back to the pool and beach activities.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another Awesome week of dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As usual, we enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sands even more because of the great food and service at La Veranda restaurant. Always a pleasure to sit and enjoy the unparalled service and the tasty food from out personal restaurant at our home away from home. From the "Seafood and Pasta Buffet" to the "Breakfast Buffet" it was a pleasure as usual. The wait staf are so attentive and even will take your plate and bring it to your table while you go get a bowl of soup, side salad or a glass of juice with breakfast. Their attention to detail and the effort given to make you comfortable and feel pampered is just an awesome experience that you never get tired of. True, it is a Royal Resorts tradition at all of their restaurants but we enjoy La Veranda the most.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly the Worst Meal in Cancun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have vacationed in Cancun for over 30 years, always at the Royal Resorts and have eaten at every restaurant at every site. La Veranda has traditionally been a favorite with our group but this time it was a unanimous bust. I believe the introduction of All- Inclusive at this resort and the Haciendas is mainly to blame.
First, the restaurant was packed which was very unusual for this venue in the past (good revenue news I guess) and features a nightly buffet. The night we went it was Italian and, my wife's family being Italian, the bar may be a little high...but no matter, the food on the buffet was awful. Given that, we ordered a la carte (you have to ask for the menu for that, it does not automatically come). Of the eight of us we had two ceviches (okay), one Shrimp Scampi (which we thereafter referred to as "Shrimp Skimpy") that was not so good, one Mahi-Mahi rated as awful, a Seafood Ravioli which was more glop than anything else, a Sirloin Steak which came out gray with no grill marks (even though the kitchen has flames shooting up constantly) and was about a quarter of an inch thick (it was tender, to be fair), one Salmon with White Wine sauce (a tiny, obviously very frozen fish with a dot of sauce on top) and an acceptable Cuban Sandwich. We didn't have the opportunity (or the desire) to send it all back as we had a handicapped person in our party who experienced some difficulties that consumed much of our dinner time. (Note: the rest rooms have absolutely no accommodations for the disabled)

I guess the cocktails were okay. Service was very attentive but couldn't overcome the bad food. The restaurant was very noisy and the piano player, while good, was especially loud.

Everyone in our party was really looking forward to a great meal and left feeling cheated. I doubt we will return on future visits to Cancun. Too bad....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.