We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the beautiful restaurant and view - Very Lovely place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa del Mezcal

La Palapa del Mezcal
Blvd Kukulkan K.M. 5.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 621 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Loved the beautiful restaurant and view - Very Lovely place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place has such great potential but I thought the food was way to greasy, like swimming in it.
We tried it twice, once for lunch and once for dinner and we were the only customers which really was no big deal but you'd think they'd have more customers as beautiful as it is. I think the food is too expensive for what you get. I absolutely love the setting and view and decor and everything about it except the food. Go for the view!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

While staying at Casa Maya we were looking for a close-by restaurant to have a quick dinner with the kids. This is one of very few places within close walking distance. The chips and salsa was great, the beer was cold, the prices reasonable and the view of the lagoon is great..BUT, the entrées were not great. The kids fish fingers were made with that horrible grey fish meal used in cheap frozen fare. Nothing nutritious for sure! My chicken fajita tasted great but the chicken was really over cooked. The hubby had shrimp and it tasted ok but again they were over cooked and a bit rubbery. The service is fantastic, very friendly but the meal was only so-so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal I have had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant on the recommendation of others at our Resort. The shrimp meal I had was excellent. The manager, Ernesto, was very welcoming. It was a wonderful restaurant; view, decor and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, friendly and inviting bar!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

the place is beautiful...the employees very friendly and the view is spectacular....we wandered in here off the street around dusk because it looked interesting and we wanted to check it out and have a few cold beers...the staff was very attentive and inviting from the moment we stepped inside.....Ringo our bartender was funny and very informative...he also showed us how to REALLY enjoy tequila and it does NOT involve salt....we got tasty chips and 3 types of authentic sauces to dip them in.....all were delicious....the beautiful dining area overlooks the bay and the sunset was breathtaking that evening...just go you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Co, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Restaurant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

For several of my 25 years coming to Cancun, El Pescador was a big favorite. It closed down, several years ago, but then Terraneo showed up, and was wonderful. We lost it two or three years ago, and nothing has come along to match either of these restaurants, until La Palapa del Mezcal.
We found it a couple of days ago, about a half mile from the Royal Cancun Resort. Three of us enjoyed a terrific lunch there, with service headed up by Ernesto (Ringo) Mesero, the bartender, chef, and all-around manager of the restaurant.
We started with an excellent guacamole and chips, supplemented by three very flavorful sauces in varying degrees of heat.
As we marveled over the tastiness of this appetizer, we asked Ernesto if he had anything with a bit more spice to it. He replied by crafting the best hot sauce, table-side, I have ever eaten. Certainly, it was very hot, and the flavor of the Habenero peppers, combined with the tomatillos, along with other ingredients, was simply wonderful. Could not get enough of it, and this was all before we enjoyed our entree: Oaxacan style shrimp in Mezcal sauce. Through this portion of our meal, we marveled, again, at how flavorful each bite was. Stuffed, and satisfied, we were in awe of what we had experienced.
We were so pleased, we returned for an encore, this evening (Nov 2, 2013), bringing our 4th in the foursome with us. As the famous Yogi Berra is known to have said, it was like déjà vu, all over again. Ernesto is the real deal, as a very kind, soft-spoken, and knowledgeable host, along with his assistant, Daniel.
The focus of this restaurant is fresh fish and seafood, prepared Oaxacan-style. I would rate it inexpensive, especially when one considers the quality of the food and service provided to us. For this writer, I hope it develops a huge following, and stays around for a very long time.
One more thing: I'm not big on really spicy-hot flavors, nor alcohol, in any form, but what I/we experienced at Mezcal was special. Furthermore, if you were to tell Ernesto to simply "fix me something," I am certain you would not be disappointed.
TRitz, 11/02/2013

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa del Mezcal also viewed

 

Been to La Palapa del Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa del Mezcal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.