We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar

Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Blvd. Kukulcan Km 13. 5 Local Palapas | Km 13.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
998 885 2746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $0 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived late in the evening, but were warmly welcomed. Service was topnotch throughout the meal. I especially appreciated that our waitress offered us coffee even though we were clearly the last people in the restaurant and they were ready to be done with that side of the room.

Food was well-prepared - the crackers and white cheese spread was delicious, the salad with burrata was a pleasant surprise - with plenty big to share. I also enjoyed my entrée, pasta with seafood, and the dessert, a panna cotta.

The restaurant itself is lovely, with live piano music. The mall it is in is upscale. There is a free parking garage below.

Given the lackluster food at the resort where we were staying, and the mixed experiences we had elsewhere, this was really a welcome, satisfying relaxing experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear customer we are pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful evening with us. We welcome your comments and hope you'll visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dacula,georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience - understated, sophisticated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The restaurant is beautiful with an outdoor area that was full, but we got a nice table with a view of it. Octopus was terrific, & we got a local wine that was surprisingly good. A magician came by & did a little show at our table at end of meal, which we enjoyed but it was rather late by then & we were tired from our travels & eating dinner late. The pianist was wonderful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear customer we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to cenacolo mare.

We hope you´ll visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Cenacolo Mare has a gorgeous white bar with dining on the lagoon or inside. Our waiter, Israel, was very kind and didn't rush our meal. We especially enjoyed the piano player. The lobster pasta and tuna were decent, as well as the wine selections.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for your comments ,I will pass your comments to the waiter and the piano player

we hope you´ll come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I dined at the Cenacolo Mare while staying in Cancun at Ritz Carlton within walking distance. YOU must try this place. The service is awesome, we really liked our waiter. The homemade pasta is delicious. My husband had the mushroom Pilin and I had the fettucine alfredo. Both fabulous. We had two glasses of the malbeck wine and it was also nice. We ordered the chocolate cake with berries to go, and really really enjoyed that later on our veranda.
Please visit them when you are in Cancun, you will not be disappointed, at all! Very reasonable prices also.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear costumer, thak you for your comments,we are glad you enjoyed your visit to cenacolo mare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food was delicious. This was my second time there. Had lobster pennette and shrimp fettucini. The wines by glass were reasonable. Dont get a martini. They were $18 with watered down vodka. Got a 10% discount b/c staying at local resort. Ask if you qualify. Make a reservation in advance. We didn't have one but the hostesses were awesome and got us a table inside - although the patio is where you want to be. On the night we went it was very humid. Being inside was more enjoyable.

They make tgeir own pastas and breads. Very tasty.

The waiters need to speak and understand english better. Asking "how is this served?" Or "can you describe this dish?" Are met with blank stares.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear customer, we are glad that you have come to cenacolo mare for the second time.Thank you for your comments It helps us to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cenacolo Mare Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.