We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went with family and I left very well impressed, is a MUST when you are in Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Maya de Cancun

Museo Maya de Cancun
Blvd. Kukulcan Km 16. 5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun Quintana Roo | Esq. Gucumatz, Cancun 77500, Mexico
(998) 885 38 42 y 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 157 things to do in Cancun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cancun
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Went with family and I left very well impressed, is a MUST when you are in Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Small, modern very nice museum whti plans to keep on growing, has an open area PLUS an inner one with very interesting things to see, really worth it. Sundays is free!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    336
    105
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New & beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a fabulous new museum being built for the last three years. Easy entry, cool interior from the heat, very informative, beautiful architecture, conveniently located on bus R-1 across from Captains Cove, Pancho & Willys! Don't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Marvelous Addition to Cancun attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a great surprise this was - a first class, high quality archaeology and history museum in a stunning building.
Admission price is a good value and well worth it. This is so professionally done! Well worth seeing and enjoying more than once.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delabole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Good Start ......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely building, some amazing exhibits but this museum needs some refinements if it is to be a serious tourist attraction.

Firstly, as we were about to go through the turnstile, a security guard demanded that we put our bags in a locker - we were not allowed to take anything in with us, but had no alternative. However when we were in the museum we were surprised (and rather annoyed) to see that other people had bags & baggage with them - obviously the 'ruling' is somewhat selective!

The exhibits of artifacts are truly amazing, but unfortunately we didn't know what they were!! As the majority of tourists in the area are English speaking, it would have been so much better if the descriptions and explanations were in English as well as Mexican.

This has already been done for the history boards, but they are a general background only.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting but with few informations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This museum shows a little from Mayan Culture. It could have much more audiovisual informations about this interesting people.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Maya de Cancun also viewed

 

Been to Museo Maya de Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Maya de Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.