We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gecko Cantina

Blue Gecko Cantina
Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 16 Zona Hotelera | Across the Street From Grand Oasis Hotel, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 840 6935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 624 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Blue Gecko Cantina is a fun filled atmosphere providing excellent quality food for a very reasonable price. No black ties or white table cloths here!
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's a must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for a walk and ended up here. I remember reading about this place in TA weeks before. We meet the owners when we arrived and chatted for awhile. Nice folks! They made some recommendations for us and it was right on the money. I had the fiery fish taco and my husband had the pork taco and a fried avocado taco. The tortillas are handmade too. There are lots of flavors in these dishes. We plan to be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    117
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was there this April with my 3 girlfriends and we stumbled on this place accross the street from the Oasis Cancun. What a find!! Great food and the owners were awesome along with the staff. It was such a refreshing place to go for good food and socialization.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing lil tiki bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Need a place to relax before a fishing or snorkeling trip, try this place out! Very nice waitress, nice cold beverages, and right across from the Oasis!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST SHRIMP TACO EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want the best daiquiris go to the BLUE GECKO. At our resort, the Oasis Cancun they gave us what tasted like strawberry slush juice with rum (our tongues were super red) and at the Blue Gecko they blend up strawberries or mangoes or whatever flavor you want, they were awesome! Loved the Blue Gecko and highly recommend it - I ate the most amazing shrimp taco here! At the hotel we asked where in the hotel or outside of the hotel we could get authentic Mexican food like tacos, burritos and fajitas - they all said they did not know and it was impossible to find Mexican food and offered us pizza!!! Our last day waiting for our flight was when we tried the Blue Gecko and it was right across the street the whole time with amazing tacos, awesome drinks, and even a little bit of Canada because we watched a Winnipeg game during lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is amazing!! Everyone there SO friendly! Myself and 3 friends were staying at the Grand Oaisis and the good was NOT good. We stumbled across this little place and we ended up going 4 different times!! Wonderful owners and workers. Food was amazing. Highly recommend it! I'm goin back to Cancun for a wedding in November and will be taking a bus just to get to the Blue Gecko!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gecko Cantina also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Blue Gecko Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gecko Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.