We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than billed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Cepages Restaurant

Les Cepages Restaurant
Plaza Nichupte Local 15 | Downtown, Cancun 77505, Mexico
+52 998 802 1093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy at Les Cépages Restaurant a delicious "Foie-Gras Torchon". It will be a pleasure serving you.Best Wishes,Chef Sal
Decatur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Better than billed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Who expect such a small and unassuming venue to deliver a powerhouse dinner? Compliments to Chef "Sal" (vadore), a national who has studied abroad (in France) and definitely mastered the culinary arts when it comes to presentation and the marriage of taste. We have travelled and eaten in some very nice restaurants and this experience ranks in our top 10. The atmosphere is very relaxed with jazz, classic 1940's and mixed with a touch of Caribbean songs. There few tables but by the end of the meal the restaurant had filled. We ordered as many different things as possible in an attempt to "try it all". Took the liberty to post food pictures. Reviews are accurate, but can you have to see it, taste it and savor it to believe it. Better than billed? Certainly. Great work Chef and Staff !!!! Enjoy your success.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    7
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Les Cepages. We were staying on the strip in the hotel zone, but quickly discovered that the best restaurants and better prices were to be found in downtown Cancun. Our food was fabulous, the atmosphere was very nice and our waiter, Raul, was so charming. He was not very busy, so he spent a lot of time talking with us, explaining dishes and helping us practice our Spanish, while he practiced his English. The whole thing was a true pleasure. You can take a cab there, or we quickly learned that if we took the bus from the hotel zone to any where in downtown Cancun, we could then catch a cab to anywhere else in the downtown area for only 30 pesos, which is less than $3, American. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Teedee:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Traveled the 20 minutes from JW Marriot based on high TA rating. Was not disappointed, food/service/wine where all first rate. My overall take away is that they all really care about your dining experience.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Gary:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When we first walked in we were a little unsure because it was located in a small shopping plaza and completely empty (though the decor is modern, refined). However, we were then pleasantly surprised - the chef came out to tell us about the specials that evening, describe perfectly how the meat is prepared, grilled, the ingredients in the sauce, etc etc. Then the food - amazing - a delectable amuse bouche, appetizers that were classic French yet with a little local twist, lamb that was cooked exactly medium rare as requested. Excellent wine pairings. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear. Mr Turner:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Three of us had an absolutely fantastic dinner at Les Cepages last week. Wonderful food and service, very nice staff. Chef came out to recommend certain specials and they were absolutely awesome. Reasonable prices. This place easily beats my favorite French restaurants in NY and Quebec.Takes about 20-25 minutes to get there from the hotel zone by taxi (~$20US), but definitely worth it. Will come back for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Cepages Restaurant also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Les Cepages Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Cepages Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.