We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Shores Crown Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Shores Crown Paradise
Save
You added Golden Shores Crown Paradise to your Saves list
Av. Lopez Mateos Sur 2375 | Guadalajara, Jalisco, Cancun 77500 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice clean resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The resort is very clean. The workers work hard at keeping it that way everyday. You can see them cleaning the grounds very very early in the morning. Overall, the food we found was average, nothing to brag about. There is an Italian restaurant on the second level that is very good. Ask the manager to make the coffee and you will get a great show, hopefully he is still working there. The Osso Buco in that restaurant was amazing, had two orders in one night since it was all inclusive. The weight room is small but quite substantial for what you would need. We loved the clay tennis courts there, the clay was wearing thin but we loved playing on them. It is surrounded by the tall buildings of the resort so when you hit the ball it sounds like it will explode with the echo, felt like Nadal out there. Overall the resort was very good, the food can definitely be better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's nice, adequate, not over-the-top. The good news about a smaller resort is that there isn't a ton of walking. But a smaller resort feels small. If you go, here are some recommendations:
-If you wonder why your lights don't work, put your room key or the Do Not Disturb sign in the slot by the door. It activates the lights. It's an energy-saving thing that is not explained to you at check in.
-There is not a self-service laundry. i took liquid Tide and hand-washed things in the sink. i took clothes pins and used them to secure the wet laundry on the deck chairs, otherwise the laundry would probably blow away.
-When you call for dinner reservations, you can make one for the current evening and another for the next evening, even though you will be told you can't do that. We liked the seafood and steakhouse the best.
-The bus is 8.5 peso but you can give the driver $1. You might get change but don't count on it.
-The artisans set up in the lobby on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights. The hand-painted and spray-painted pictures are a good deal and you won't find them in the flea markets. The glass etcher is also very talented and you won't find him elsewhere, either.
-If you use a credit card, you will be charged extra for American Express, but not VISA or Mastercard.
-Takes lots and lots of $1 bills.
-Take big insulated cups to avoid having to get refills all of the time.
-The resort was busy, but we could always find 4 chairs at the pool or more likely on the beach.
-Take a blow up tube. They are cheap in the US, and you can leave them for other children if you don't want to deflate for the trip home. They are great fun in the waves.
-The rooms have blow dryers and magnifying mirrors, so you don't have to bring those.
-Cancun Transfers is a great way to get to and from the airport. Round trip for 4 was $65. i made the reservation on line with PayPal. It was perfect and a very clean and comfy way to travel.
-Sea turtles apparently come up on the beach at night. i didn't discover that until the last morning when i saw their tracks. Check with the gym guy to see if the turtles are around when you are there.
-The El Balam and Cenote Maya excursion is wonderful! We highly recommend it.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: We reserved a two-room and actually got three attached rooms with three bathrooms. i don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

cant say a bad word about the crown paradise the location the food and the service were fantastic dont let any negative reviews put you off we took it on face value and were not disapointed we went for a week only but should of gone longer we were sad to leave but will be back deffo for 2 weeks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

February 17-24-2012
Just got back from our time share that we have now had for five years and the level has gone down each year. Not sure the quality of food can sink muck lower especially at the dinner buffet. Bacon is not available each morning cost cutting I guess. The Japanese restaurant was out of fried shrimp five of my six tries with very slow service.
Come on management Wi fi is available for FREE at Starbucks , Bugger King, Borders and I think even motel 6 and you want $20.00 a day give me a break. The towel policy is designed to keep people angry and in courage people to take other peoples towels because if you lose your towel they charge $35.00 for a towel you can buy at Wal-mart for $10.00. Not sure anyone would really want to take home a brown and white striped used towel unless desperate. They have no towel privileges for timeshare owners like other time share resorts we have stayed. Would look else were if interested in a timeshare glad my Crown Paradise Club only has three years remaining.
The staff is friendly , the rooms clean but have to pay for that maid service as a time share owner . The pools were fine this year because the temperatures were in the 80 ‘s they could stand to have the pools heated with solar units. The hot tub is old and could stand updating so could the hotel for that matter. The shows are fair but again not the quality of other timeshare places we have stayed .
I recommend not drinking before going to a timeshare sales meeting learn from my mistake things tend to look better with blurry eyes.

Room Tip: We have asked in the past before travel but when you get there we seem to get sorry we are full
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

OK let's get going on the hotel. We arrived in the evening around 8pm. Our shuttle service from the airport could not get up the incline to the hotel because a bus broke down in front....Onwards and upwards to the lobby. Stood in a line for a resonable amount of time. We get to our room which is on the top (8th) floor. Adult only floor. Beautiful view. In our room is what i call the white elephant a huge hot tub where i would have put hmmm maybe a couch? We did end up using it and it felt good, but i thought the concept was a little tacky. The furniture in the room is out of date. The tv is one of the big ones and not in a good way. Who cares were there for the sunshine! The beach is lovely. The food is horrible. They make it really hard to make reservations for the restaraunts...they don't answer the phone. When we ate at the seafood restaraunt it was ok. The french restaraunt was good. 2 in 10 days? My husband and i had a running joke calling the main eating area the mess hall. Terrible food! We would grab a bannana and apple and be on our way. Lunch by the pool-french fries were edible! Last but not least remember to be safe on the bus to town! It is not safe!! All in all plenty of sunshine! Beautiful view and beach. Lucky to get a lounger because people must mark them at ?? 5 am?? Then they don't use them til noon? Really people??

Room Tip: If you don't have kids try to get on the 8th floor. Quiet and adult only. Bring your own pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Nous avons passer 2 semaines à cet hotel ma femme et moi avec ma fille de 19 ans. Nous avons eu notre chambre immédiatement à notre arrivée. Deux chambres à coucher avec salle à dîner et mini-cuisine avec balcon et vue sur la mer. La nourriture était excellente autant au buffet qu'au restaurant à la carte. Les activités à la piscine et les spectacles en soirée était fait par une très bonne équipe de jeune organisateur. Il y a aussi une piscine pour adulte. Seul point négatif est la réservation des chaises à la piscine et à la plage qui n'est pas surveillé, les gens laissent des objets sur les chaises très tôt le matin et ne reviennent qu'en après midi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

we have just returned from 2 wks at the crown paradiseon 22 nov. the hotel is very clean, the staff quite friendly, the only downside was the buffet style restaraunt, it was more like a works canteen with plastic chairs and plastic plates. there are more canadians and americans there , you could count on 1 hand the number of british there so obviously they only realy catered for them and not to much for the british, they say they have a japenese restaraunt but realy it is just like a takeaway with plastic chairs and tables outside to eat on. The good side to the food was the mexican, italian, french, seafood and steakhouse all of which you can go to every night there is no limit to this but you have to ring up each day to book for the next day. The staff in all these restaraunts are extremly helpful and the food is very good , these restaraunts are a must. The entertaintment staff worked very hard all day always something going on and the shows were very good. The gardens were extremely well looked after the gardners were in them every day. The only staff that we found not to helpful was the reception staff, they seemed to not understand to well but they understood the canadians and americans though we spoke the same language they say you can change cash at the desk but they couldnt change £100 saying they did not keep much cash , but this was probably a good thing as you went downtown to the bank where you got £10 more per £100 well worth the bus trip the local buses are every few mins and will stop for you at the hotel entrance and cost about 42p each nomatter how far you travel but overall we had a very good holiday

Room Tip: rooms ending from 4 to about 12 on every floor can be quite noisy as they are right above the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Shores Crown Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Shores Crown Paradise

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos Sur 2375 | Guadalajara, Jalisco, Cancun 77500 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A time sharing vacation club with access to Crown Paradise resorts and all the RCI properties around the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Hotel Cancun
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Shores Crown Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.