We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good but the food was not..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Flamingo Plaza | Zona Hotelera, Cancun, Mexico
011529981930380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service was good but the food was not..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff was friendly and the drinks were good but the food wasn't. It didn't meet up to the expectations of the other restaurants in the states that we had been to. If you want good seafood, do not go there for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    275
    156
    66
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great time! Muy Divertido!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Para leer en espanol mira abajo.....
This was my 2nd visit to the Bubba Gump restaurant in Cancun. I love this place! The food is good and it's a fun atmosphere. This time I took another family for their first time at Bubba Gump's. They absolutely loved it! (They even went back 2 days later for more!) I discounted the service by 1 star, because we had substituted an item and we had to ask 2 times to bring it. Other than that, everything was great. I think the cole slaw is the best I've ever ate.

If you never ate at a Bubba Gump's before, put this on your agenda.

Fui a Bubba Gump la segunda vez. Todo fue bien. Los camarones era muy bueno y me gusta mucho la ensalada de col. Mis cunados fueron conmigo para su primera vez y me dijeron es lo mejor restaurante en Cancun! Se fueron un otra vez 2 dias despues sin mi!

Te recomendo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear you came back to our Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. location at Cancun. Thank you for sharing the experience of our food and atmosphere with your family. Your comments help us a great deal. We thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review.

Best wishes,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Box of Chocolates - GREAT FOOD BUT $$$$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly the food was fantastic as you would expect from Bubba Gumps which is why you go BUT the service was not upto scratch and the prices were what you would expect to pay in a big city so that did not impress. 2 Course meal for 2 adults and 3 teenagers cost over USD $150 !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H, Community Manager at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Your comments regarding the service you received at our Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., Cancun location are very important to us and help us improve in every way. Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review.

Best regards,

Claudia Herrera
Community Manager
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did not expect this to be so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The clam chowder was one of the best I have had. They chicken sandwich was great and the fries were just like in the states. The portions were good and the 'flashy' cup that came with free refills was included in the meal.
If desired, you can watch the Forrest Gump movie with subtitles (in case it is loud) during your meal and our waiter asked us fun trivia questions every time he checked by our table.
DID NOT EXPECT TO HAVE THIS MUCH FUN DURING OUR MEAL!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Touristy but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location is great as are the views next to the lagoon. Even though I'm allergic to shrimp I took medicine and decided to eat here, not a bad idea. There are some huge crocodiles in the lagoon, just don't throw them any food if you don't want to scare the rest of the patrons in the restaurant. Staff has a good attitude.
There is a pharmacy next to the bubba gump, allergy medicine is expensive there, get it before hand some place else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.