We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windowless...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Cancun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Cancun Hotel to your Saves list
Colonial Cancun Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Tulipanes 22 | Sm 21, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Koox Colonial Cancun Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Windowless...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Poor service, terrible room, awful location, not even a window, let alone a room with a view!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    18
    5
    15
See reviews for
7
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and i stayed there two nights. The room was clean ad the rate was $41.00US. It was just off the main drag. There was no on site restaurant, but there were some on the same street as the hotel. A large park was nearby with many activities and vendors. There was noisy construction going on while we were there but it did not go on too late. No internet but the manger said it was being installed. This hotel is not for everyone. But it got the job done for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Hotel seemed nice, the bathroom had a few spots but overall seemed clean until we removed the bed covers. The bed was full of hairs and dirt as if someone had just slept on it. Immediately we went to the lobby and asked for new blankets or another room. The very unpleasant lady said she didn't have any extra clean blankets besides the ones on the beds of the hotel, nor another room, nor the key to the linen room. We had to sleep on top of the blankets, fully clothed to avoid contamination. In the morning we asked a maid for clean linens and she was very embarrassed, telling us she wasn't assigned that room the day before and thought that the other maid would have cleaned it after the previous guest left, but she would immediately clean it thoroughly herself. She did so, and afterward the stay wasn't so bad. It is well located near several stores, a supermarket and restaurants, but the initial experience was awful, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We chanced upon this hotel in downtown Cancun while looking for a place to spend our last night there. The location is very good. There is a main square just behind the hotel, which has a ton of food stalls and a very nice, relaxed ambiance. We were there on Mothers Day and they had some sort of a celebration and it seemed like the whole neighborhood had turned up.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet. Room was decent sized as was the bathroom. The AC was extra efficient (had to turn the temperature up) and the beds thankfully did not have springs.

A warning though - if you have a rental car, make sure you park it in a lot and not on the street. The street in front of the hotel has legal, free parking, but our spare tire got stolen and we had to cough up the money for it. Thankfully, nothing else was taken.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvinmytravel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Stayed here on Feb 25th 2008 for 40usd.

-mold
-no a/c
-broken chain lock on door
-broken taps
-chunky pillows
-overall dirty feel and look.
-no phone (but there was a phone book???)
-no screens on windows (shutter style)
-overpriced even at 40$


We had taken a bus from Playa to downtown Cancun for 3.50 usd and then decided to look around for a hotel to stay at. While walking past the bus terminal a man kept trying to talk to us...we ignored him at first as we thought he was selling something. When he asked again where we were going I said to look for a Hotel. He proceeded to take out a brochure for Hotel Colonial. We followed him through the public streets of downtown because we thought we would give him a chance. The hotel was in a good location five minute walk from bus station and looked nice enough. The man who led us there was nice enough but the whole scenerio was strange. I suppose he was just trying to make a few extra bucks.

We asked to see the room as we had planned to look around at all different hotels to get the best deal/suitable room. We went up and looked and at first glance it looked okay...a little worn and splotchy paint...but we did not stick around to even look in the bathroom. We payed the man at the front desk who used a big roll of money from his pockett as a till!! and tipped the man that brought us there.

When we returned to our room it and looked at it further there was no air conditioning which I thought I could handle...but it was sooo super stuffy in the room ...then we looked in the bathroom. YUCK!!!! as you can see from the photos there was what looked like dirt marks all over. I threw some water on the floor and rubbed it with toilet paper to see if it actually was dirt but it was not. It must have been just really worn and old. Basically there was mold in the shower with broken taps no screens on the windows the pillows were chunky and everything appeared dirty. I could have kicked myself for staying in the room overnight. I feel as though we had been ripped off...as it appears that other rooms had airconditioning!

I travel a lot...and can easily overlook things...but there was too much to overlook here. I felt very uncomfortable here..so much so that we had to buy cheap flip flops to shower so we didn't touch the moldy tiles.

Oh well it was an adventure! at least there were no bugs!!! and there was cable tv! the restaurant across the street is VERY GOOD!

The next night we flew to Dallas and stayed in a hotel for 60$ (interline rate)
20$ more and we had 2 tv's the nicest pillows EVER / free breakfast/free shuttle to and from airport/free internet.....

so you can see why I felt ripped off.

  • Liked — close to bus station
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING... the mold...the dirt...no a/c
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

I stayed here for only one night, as I had an early morning flight out of Cancun. The rate was quite cheap. The room was simple and clean; had a TV, air-con (loud) and simple bathroom. Since the room was near the back, it was fairly quiet, but dark and dampish. However, as it was cheap, what else could you expect? I would recommend this place for people really on a budget, or for people staying just 1-2 nights and who want to be near transportation (bus station is a 5-minute walk). I would not want to stay here for a long vacation. However, for a short stay in Cancun City, it serves its purpose as a cheap, bearable (for a short time) lodging.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

Do not stay in this hotel, i stayed there for several days and i could not sleep due to the bars nearby playing live music to three or four in the morning. Not only that, try and get some sleep during the day while the hotel workers are pottering about...forget it. As for the rooms, the walls of some of the rooms are covered in dampness, and this ended up affecting my clothes which then needed to be taken to the dry cleaner. I asked the Hotel Manageress if the Hotel would cover this bill and the response was nothing but contempt and damn near aggression. No do not stay in this place it is hell hole, why pay good money for insomnia, dampness and a bad attitude

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Cancun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Cancun Hotel

Address: Av. Tulipanes 22 | Sm 21, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Koox Colonial Cancun Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Cancun Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Colonial Cancun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Cancun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.