We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #21 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Loved it! Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 7 amazing days in the Riu Palace Las Americas in the end of September.
The staff are wonderful, always making sure you have whatever you need to make sure your stay is memorable.
We were upgraded to a full suite ocean view for our Anniversary . The room did have a little musty smell when we first arrived. Thanks to all the posts we were prepared with air freshener. We always kept a fan on when we left the room and we never smelt it again. This is truely not an issue! Everything and everywhere is imaculately cleaned. I never even saw an ant the whole time we were there. Love the old world charm of this Hotel. The weather was wonderful. Looking at all the forecasts we were sure we would have a thundershower everyday. A small rain shower that lasted for a few minutes then just beautiful the rest of the time.

Big shout out to Wilbert, Juan, and Enrico, you always made us feel welcomed and always had a drink ready for us. To the rest of the amazing staff , Thank You very much. You all work so hard to ensure everyone has a great time. We ate mostly at the buffet, The food was really good, and totally awesome at times. We did enjoy the Steak Restaurant ( great filet) and Krystal ( fancy and very good) Love the Italian Restaurant, no reservations and very good .There is no smoking inside of the building which is really refreshing and very much appreciated. No worries, as there is plenty of covered places outside for those who smoke. You can smoke in your room. The beach is on the smallish side but just standing in the water and feeding the tropical fish bread was spectacular. The Riu Cancun is right next door and a quick walk on the beach.

The fight for seats next to the pool was not an issue for us. We loved just being in the pool and gazing out to the ocean from the infinity pool. We never had a problem getting lounge chairs in the sun or the shade with an ocean view.
All in all a fabulous trip and I just can't wait to go back!
One more thing a Big Shout Out of appreciation to Virgin America, for the smooth flights coming and going.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,904
    1,139
    383
    179
    114
See reviews for
840
2,145
61
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amazing resort. Great beach. Great hospitality. The buffet had miles of selection of food. This was my first trip to Mexico and I want to go back just to stay at the resort. The place was so clean, you could eat off of the floors if you wanted to. Entertainment was also wonderful. The room was clean and stocked with a mini bar and everything you needed including plenty of towels. Loved it!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 11 days in mid-October. The Riu Palace Las Americas is a fantastic hotel and we would definitely return.

When first entering the hotel you’re greeted by a large lobby with reception, customer service, ATM and bar area. The hotel has a shop with a good variety of gifts and a tobacconist with most things you’d need on a holiday but things would be cheaper over the road. A free photo shoot is offered which we didn’t take up, but I imagine the real cost is in the photos.

There are a good variety of shops directly opposite the hotel including a bank, touristy shops, supermarkets, spas and a doctor/pharmacy. There are numerous bars and restaurants within walking distance, including the infamous Coco Bongo. Slightly further along the road is a flea market – definitely do not buy your souvenirs here! You’ll get ripped off for sure. Nothing is priced and you’ll get quoted some crazy high price. By all means haggle but their ‘best’ price will not even compete with the ‘Mexican Outlet’ in either the Plaza Coracol Shopping Centre, or better still the much larger store behind the Centre opposite Starbucks.

Our Junior Suite was excellent with extremely comfortable beds and a sea view. In fact, I think all the rooms have a sea view and balcony. Our iron leaked quite a bit and we asked both reception and customer service for a replacement, which never arrived. Unfortunately the ironing board was a tabletop one so it slipped on whatever surface you put it on. There was plenty of wardrobe space and the safe deposit box had a lock that was quite primitive, where the whole lock is removed with the key, but it was effective. The electrics in the room were a little strange – switches for the various lights were not in the places you’d expect them to be and there was a master switch that turned off all the electrics in the room. The alarm clock seemed to have a bit of a mind of its own and started playing music at odd times – luckily not when we were trying to get some sleep. I’m not sure if this is typical of Mexico but there were not many power sockets, so you may want to consider bringing extensions with you if you have a lot of electronics to power. Luckily the tobacconist had a 3-pin UK type adapter when we realised we hadn’t picked up all the ones from home. Some tea making facilities would have been nice, and some snacks in the minibar as opposed to just a coffee pot and drinks.

We didn’t notice any smell of damp at all in the hotel or in our room as reported in other reviews – there was no smell other than the natural smell of the sea.

Our 32-inch flat screen TV was replaced with a 42-inch one towards the end of our stay. There was a reasonable selection of international channels such as CNN, BBC World, RAI and TV5 Monde. Plenty of sports too, but no Premier League football. However the local Mexican channels had a very bad quality of picture, and the local Miami stations were not much better. Some channels were blank or had error messages so the lineup could use some fine-tuning.

Food is available 24/7, with at least one restaurant open at any one time. The service is fantastic. There was just one occasion in the El Romero snack bar where we struggled to get drinks with our food and perhaps we’d caught the waiters on an off-day – usually you’d get a new drink before you’d finished your existing one. The service is even better in the a-la-carte restaurants. We sampled them all but our favourite was Krystal, which also seemed to be the most popular bar the standard buffet, Don Roberto. With luck you could probably just walk into a sitting if there are cancellations but generally I’d advise booking the a la carte restaurants 1-2 days in advance via the Customer Service desk, which is in the lobby next to the reception desk. The menus in the a la carte restaurants were a little limited but the quality of food and service was excellent. Although they often tried new dishes, we found the Don Roberto buffet to be a little ‘samey’.

The room service menu was a bit limited with only a few sandwiches available and no drinks. It did arrive within a half an hour or so and was delivered with a smile.

The staff work very hard and extremely long hours, especially in the lobby where you can almost see your face in the floor. We felt that the cleanliness could have been of a higher standard in the rooms; smears were often left on the bathroom mirrors and glass tables. The housekeeping staff were extremely friendly but they had a lot of rooms to cover so perhaps there was some pressure to get things done on time. Our bed sheets and pillowcases were not changed every day as we would have expected even though they were dirty. I guess this had to be requested. The turndown service was hit or miss, sometimes we would get it, other times we’d just be offered a fresh towel.

Our trip to (the highly recommended) Coba was booked through Thomson, a UK company that’s part of the TUI group. Our rep Freddy was fantastic – a real wealth of local knowledge, always contactable when you needed him and he couldn’t do enough for us. I’d strongly advise booking your excursions through your travel company rather than via the local tour companies in the Plaza Coracol. We made the mistake of booking a trip to Xcaret via the ‘Official Ticket Company’ in the Plaza Coracol who promised full-sized air-conditioned coaches and English guides, but instead we got crammed minibuses without either.

Wi-Fi reception was pretty good in our room and throughout the hotel. Speeds hit 2mbps so the network was good for general surfing and email, but don’t expect to consistently stream HD-quality video.

The hotel had a good programme of fun activities during the day – although some things like beach football did not always run, presumably due to lack of interest. Water volleyball in the secondary pool seemed to be pretty popular. That pool has music throughout the day and a swim-up bar so seemed to be more populated than the main pool. It had a good, young vibe.

We were disappointed that the evening entertainment finished around 10.45pm each night and the kids entertainment programme began at 8.45pm, although the karaoke and variety shows were very well organised.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have stayed here twice with my partner and it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. We have travelled to many hotels throughout the world and nowhere beats this place. Attention to detail is second to none. Staff are outstanding and Food&Beverage selection is superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I have been to a lot of resorts but this is def one on the top of our favorite list. I would highly recommend the jacuzzi suite upgrade if its available. Staff was excellent, hotel was very clean. Everything about this place was perfect. We will highly recommend this place to everybody.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just got back from a great vacation. We stayed at this location and was well pleased. The property is beautiful and very clean. The food was great and the staff was very nice and helpful. We plan to go back in a few months. There is great access to the beach and shopping just a little walk away. Make sure you take some dress clothes to be able to get into the specialty eateries but I was fine with the buffet. Too much to choose from and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: You have to bring Pesos or travelors checks. They do not accept UD dollars at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Believe the reviews. This is a first class 5 star resort and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone. It really is , as the name suggests, a palace. It is also in walking distance to everything (night clubs, shopping, etc).

The negatives: The only minus I could find is the Steak restaurant was over rated in my opinion. The food was not good and the atmosphere was not good. I had the steak which was poor and my partner had the lobster which was overcooked.

Now the Positives: The hotel is immaculate and spotless and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is absolutely stunning in its grandeur inside and outside. The drinks they make are all first class and the Pina Coladas are the best I have had (and I had a lot of them : ) Our room was beautiful. it had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Definitely pay extra for ocean view...it is worth it.
The Italian restaurant was excellent and did not require a reservation. It is a hidden gem and it would easily be a $120 meal if you were paying for it and worth every penny. The buffet was very good as well. They changed it up every night so it was not always the same thing. By far the most excellent restaurant was the Krystal. I cannot say enough good things about it. The food, service, and atmosphere were all exceptional. It was one of the best restaurant experiences I have had in my life. if you go to this resort you must eat there. I did not get a chance to try the Japanese or Mexican restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with an ocean view...it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.