We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #19 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Vankleek Hill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

In short, this was a fantastic vacation destination and place to stay. It was perfect. The rooms were clean,food was fantastic and a great atmosphere. We were allowed to check in early and they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a view.

I simply can not say anything negative about this resort. The serving staff went out of their way to get us food that was not even on the menu or at the buffet. Every staff member we dealt with was courteous and helpful.

We have travelled extensively and this is the firts time in a number of years that we have stayed at an all exclusive. This resort is now the benchmark for further all inclusive vacations.

We fully recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Balcony is a nice option but not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,534
    974
    341
    163
    95
See reviews for
679
1875
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a wonderful vacation due to the other couples staying at this resort as well the resort itself. You can go to the other Riu, but not vice versa. Much of our time was spent at the swim up pool bar. The bartenders are amazing (ask for the higher end alcohol-it is kept on the bottom shelf where you cant see it). The location is great and makes it very easy to walk to certain other places. If you go to Cancun, you have to party- the party passes are a great way to see many of the clubs in one night. I do not recommend being alone at any point outside the resort and be careful getting back to the resort after drinking at the clubs. The food at the resort is very good and there is a lot to choose from. Every other night they had local shops set up in the outside lobby so you didnt really have to leave to get gifts (feel free to haggle).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our 8th visit to the Cancun area. So happy we chose Rui Palace for our 9 day stay in Jan. A wonderful experience. First impressions are very important & we certainly were impressed with the elegantly furnished lobby. Room accommodations very satisfactory with beautiful views of the ocean. Entire resort is immaculately clean. Delighted with the selection of restaurants & variety of food.....something to please every palate. Fun nightly entertainment, & exceptionally excellent service from EVERYONE on staff. Although this resort is an all inclusive w/gratuities included, we cannot imagine not tipping extra for the very hard working staff who go above & beyond to make guests feel special & comfortable. We were stunned to observe vacationers who ate & drank as if it were their last day on earth & failed to leave even a small gratuity to show appreciation for the wonderful service they received. We will be re-visiting Rui Palace again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived on Friday February 1. While we were checking in, we were offer a wonderful pinapple juice cocktail. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Great view from our room. Jr. suite with a ocean view and balcony. I could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here from February 1, 2013 to February 6, 2013 and had an amazing vacation. In the future, we will not stay any where else when visiting Cancun :~) I can not say enough about how attentive the entire staff is: never had an empty cocktail glass or had a dirty dish linger on the table in front of me. This location is aptly named - it really has the atmosphere of a Palace and made us feel like we were royalty. It is the perfect place to celebrate an event. February 2nd was my husbands birthday; when we went back to the room after dinner it was decorated with balloons, a card, and a cake "sculpture" of rolled up towels. Very cute!!

I definitely recommend the spa services - we had a great couples massage. Also, the photo shoot on the beach was a lot of fun. Well worth the money and time to commemorate the trip. (Thanks Sandra)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went in April 2012 with a 2 other couples, one of which had a baby. Our rooms all had beautiful ocean views. The rooms were clean and the fridge and bar were stocked. The bathroom was also clean, although it did run out of hot water for showering at certain times of the day.

The ocean water was amazing! The beach itself was a bit small. There were plenty of other places to lay that faced the beach but weren't directly on the sand. The infinity pool had a great view, but was boring in my opinion. The other pool had a bar and the entertainment team there was awesome!! We would get up at 6 and 7 am to get seats at the pool! They also had a few hot tubs, one of which was secluded up on a roof :)

The food was good. We all found something to eat. The lunch buffet outside was always easiest, but the food was mediocre. The last couple of days we decided to have lunch at the italian place indoors, which was much better. As for dinner, you have to stand on a line at 8 am to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. They were all pretty good (except for the french one - I don't think we tried it) .

The location of the hotel was also great. There was a pharmacy across street, which we used a couple of times. There was a starbucks a few blocks away and some souvenir shops as well.

Overall, I liked the hotel. I didn't love it, but I'd stay there again

Room Tip: ocean view is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i came here for our third anniversary, and the resort is simply amazing. The first two days were chilly and windy, but much warmer than the weather back home. The last four days were typical 70-80 temps and sunny.

We have both been to All Inclusive resorts, but the Riu Palace Las Americas stands above the norm. All of the meals were excellent with freshly cooked food at each meal. We also tried their other resterants featuring japanese, specialty, and mexican cuisines.....wow...all were excellent. I would say that the japanese was the best. (Make sure that you try one of Adrian's Saki Bombs).

We set up a photo session with Adventure Photos (Located in the lobby), and Christina did such a good job we booked another session the next day with her. We didnt go on any excursions, but did try the Hobe cats. I paid $65 for a one hour lesson, learned how to pilot the boat, then took it out two or three times each day after that. If you already know how to use them, then you can save yourself the extra money.

The shows were fun and entertaining. The drinks were good and prompt service wherever you are (poolside, oceanfront, lobby, etc). We will definately be coming back to Cancun and more than likely to the Riu Palace Las Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???s resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???s private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. to Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. from a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.