We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #20 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at the Riu Palace a while back and thought that I should share some comments. Have travelled a lot and stayed at MANY hotels and can say that this property is a top contender! My husband thought that this was the best hotel that he has been to. We had a junior suite Ocean Front. Only complaint about the room was no balcony, however you could not have gotten a closer room to the beach. This was my fault, because we had a balcony and I requested an upgrade and the upgrade did not have a balcony.

If you like to snorkel then this hotel was perfect. I swam with parrot fish and many schools of fish directly in front of the hotel. Saw a couple of baracuda and a ray. You could find conche shells in front of the hotel. We had paid to go on a snorkeling excursion and the snorkelling in front of the hotel was every bit as good. Bring your own equipment though as you are limited to just 1 hour of equipment use per day.

Beach was not as long and expansive as I normally like, however it was clean without lack of sun loungers. Found that there was a lack of drink service on the beach, however we are not behond getting up and getting it ourselves so not an issue for us. Lot's of loungers near the pool, however sometimes hard to get one as people tend to "HOLD" them all day without being in them. Service in this area was excellent.

Service in the lobby lounge was excellent. We went down every night before dinner for a bevi and the waiters where excellent and quick! Ate in all the al-a -carte and found the service and food very good. I even noted that when some travellers did not tip that the service stayed the same. Not sure why some people feel they don't need to tip for service at dinner?

Hotel could not have been in a better location! You could walk to the local flea market, the bargain store, COCO BONGO ect..... Location was very central without even feeling like you where in town. Local bus was easily accesible from just steps outside the door if you wanted to explore the point and get a ferry to the Isla.

Would go back to this one. Not a budget hotel if that is what you are looking for, but found it worth the monwy.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms do not always have a balcony. Room was larger though and at the end of the hall s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,583
    983
    342
    163
    97
See reviews for
708
1898
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is kept very clean, and had no complaints with service. This was my first stay in Cancun, but had previously stayed at Iberostar (meh) and Barcelo (awesome) resorts in nearby Riviera Maya. From photos, I thought Riu Palace would be nicer than Barcelo though I quickly felt that the hotel itself, and the food, were faux. It became a running joke that everything was faux, "how's your food?"... "it's faux." With the meals, they were simply not as good as they looked. Food wasn't bad, but there was nothing that stood out as exceptional. A meal I had at an airport during a connection was tastier than anything at the resort. We did the Mexican (actually Spain theme), Steakhouse, Japanese, and the buffets in both Palace and Riu Cancun. Same goes for the liquor, none of the drinks I had (tried many) tasted like the true alcohol label displayed on the bottles.

That being said, you make the best of your experience, and we did. Pools were great, activities were fun, and the view was definitely the best I've experienced. We paid an extra $20 or so p/p for the ocean view, worth it. I believe most rooms with ocean view miss out on a view of sunset or sunrise, but again, the bright blue ocean view was great. We booked an excursion for a 2.5 hr. wave runner rental + snorkeling, which was one of my favorite experiences of the trip. The only other activity outside the resort was to walk a bit of the strip. We went to the flea market about a 15-minute walk away. While I ended up with a good deal on a couple small items, many sellers were extremely pushy. Most of them fight for your attention, which quickly gets annoying when you're just looking to casually look around.

Palace was classier and chill, while Cancun was a little more lively. We enjoyed both equally, so was nice to have that option by staying at Palace. Some of the shows were cheesy, but the Michael Jackson one was great! I believe they bring in an outside dance company that was very good. Lastly, the disco (Riu Cancun) was small and not very exciting. The music would be hit or miss, and since everyone was drinking faux liquor, they didn't have courage to get to the dance floor.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms overlooking the activity pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at the Riu Palace. We had an ocean view jr suite with a spectacular view. Nice resort the employees are ALWAYS cleaning!! and always friendly. Good food and beverage, nothing like a bar stocked with water, soda, beer etc in your room.

Great location you can walk to talka $10 cab anywhere, make sure to go to the Riu Cancun next door! You are allowed in all the Riu resorts with your wristband. If you want sun this time of year you need to be out early as the sun in gone by 4 pm.

We went out with the Hotels Entertainment staff a few nights and had a blast! ~$50 gets to transportation and bottle service in the club no lines to buying tickets on the street.

Stay away from some of the salesmen in the lobby "Hotel Beds" they dont have good club deals and they will call your room and try to sell you at 9 in the morning.

Great time and value cant see where else can beat the Riu for the same money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel early December on their all inclusive package, very clean, excellent value for money and highly attentive staff. Bus stop to downtown is 5 mins walk from the hotel (save on taxi fares).

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor, overlooking the Carribean Sea - wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I must admit I have left the hotel with not many really strong impressions. It was ok thats about it, the staff especially the wait staff in the bars and the restaurant and the girls and boys on reception (especially Paty) were very nice and efficient and the service was good without being too intrusive. Drinks were good, from the optics in the rooms which had premium brands to the cocktails around the bars. I do like my daiquiris.
If I had a small criticism it would be that housekeeping seem to be constantly doing something in your room, I am sure that they were in mine at least 3 separate occasions everyday. most of the time not a problem but once or twice when I wanted to change during the day they would be blocking up the hallway and I had to wait for them to leave the room, i have no idea what they were doing all those times! Oh and please would some one stop turndown service , its a personal gripe but what is the point of it? Only other thing I would be careful of is slippery floors there but they do put out signs.
The beach is nice, small yes, and i don't know how it would work if the hotel had been full as there is ver little waterfront space, plenty of loungers and didn't see any evidence of towel saving. Good clear water with a few little fish, clean sand.
I didn't eat at the a la cartes.
So why 4 *? Just didn't quite feel 5, there was nothig specifically wrong, the feeling of exclusivity and luxury just was not quite there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 4 days. Beautiful white sand beach, although it was bit small, but we walked to the connected RIU CANCUN beach, which was lot bigger.
We snorkeled right at the beach and saw schools of yellow fishes right at the beach, you don't need to swim out to see them, and the equipments are free to use for 1 hour.

I would recommend to buy your own snorkeling tube instead of using theirs.

Took 1 hour catamaran course at the Caribbean sea, it was amazing, after the course, you can have the catamaran for free.

We had 445, which was the wrap around corner room, very spacious, with the terrace overlooks the beautiful Caribbean sea and windows overlooks the infinity pool.

The buffet at RIU was just amazing, tons of choices and they cook right behind the buffet tables.

Staffs are very friendly.

Specialty restaurants: the fusion Krystal is the best, with unlimited champagnes and wonderful gourmet food.
Do not go to their steak house, which offers Surf n Turf lobster and steak, but not as good as most U.S. grills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I returned from RIU Palace las Americas on December 8, 2012, it was the best resort experience we have ever had. We have always been very cautious of all-inclusives as they often skimp on quality food and beverage products. The round the clock food, exclusive dining, top shelf drinks were always available. The international food buffet was amazing!
Even better was the service of each of the staff at RIU. Andrid, David, and Jair were literrally at our beck and call, and very genuine about ensuring our needs were met.
This resort offered entertainment, outside vendors, sailing, and additional excursions at your finger tips each day. Our room was stocked each day with bottled water,beer, pop, and tequila.
Perhaps the only marginal dissapointment, were the dreadfully hard as rock beds -that really should be updated.
We will be returning to RIU nonetheless, even if we must bring our blow up mattress.

Room Tip: This resort location is absolutley perfect for the hotel Zone area, if you want to see the beautifua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???s resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???s private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. to Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. from a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.