We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Spring Around!
Ranked #21 of 175 hotels in Cancun
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at the Riu Palace. We had an ocean view jr suite with a spectacular view. Nice resort the employees are ALWAYS cleaning!! and always friendly. Good food and beverage, nothing like a bar stocked with water, soda, beer etc in your room.

Great location you can walk to talka $10 cab anywhere, make sure to go to the Riu Cancun next door! You are allowed in all the Riu resorts with your wristband. If you want sun this time of year you need to be out early as the sun in gone by 4 pm.

We went out with the Hotels Entertainment staff a few nights and had a blast! ~$50 gets to transportation and bottle service in the club no lines to buying tickets on the street.

Stay away from some of the salesmen in the lobby "Hotel Beds" they dont have good club deals and they will call your room and try to sell you at 9 in the morning.

Great time and value cant see where else can beat the Riu for the same money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,442
    931
    328
    156
    94
See reviews for
645
1804
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel early December on their all inclusive package, very clean, excellent value for money and highly attentive staff. Bus stop to downtown is 5 mins walk from the hotel (save on taxi fares).

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor, overlooking the Carribean Sea - wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I must admit I have left the hotel with not many really strong impressions. It was ok thats about it, the staff especially the wait staff in the bars and the restaurant and the girls and boys on reception (especially Paty) were very nice and efficient and the service was good without being too intrusive. Drinks were good, from the optics in the rooms which had premium brands to the cocktails around the bars. I do like my daiquiris.
If I had a small criticism it would be that housekeeping seem to be constantly doing something in your room, I am sure that they were in mine at least 3 separate occasions everyday. most of the time not a problem but once or twice when I wanted to change during the day they would be blocking up the hallway and I had to wait for them to leave the room, i have no idea what they were doing all those times! Oh and please would some one stop turndown service , its a personal gripe but what is the point of it? Only other thing I would be careful of is slippery floors there but they do put out signs.
The beach is nice, small yes, and i don't know how it would work if the hotel had been full as there is ver little waterfront space, plenty of loungers and didn't see any evidence of towel saving. Good clear water with a few little fish, clean sand.
I didn't eat at the a la cartes.
So why 4 *? Just didn't quite feel 5, there was nothig specifically wrong, the feeling of exclusivity and luxury just was not quite there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 4 days. Beautiful white sand beach, although it was bit small, but we walked to the connected RIU CANCUN beach, which was lot bigger.
We snorkeled right at the beach and saw schools of yellow fishes right at the beach, you don't need to swim out to see them, and the equipments are free to use for 1 hour.

I would recommend to buy your own snorkeling tube instead of using theirs.

Took 1 hour catamaran course at the Caribbean sea, it was amazing, after the course, you can have the catamaran for free.

We had 445, which was the wrap around corner room, very spacious, with the terrace overlooks the beautiful Caribbean sea and windows overlooks the infinity pool.

The buffet at RIU was just amazing, tons of choices and they cook right behind the buffet tables.

Staffs are very friendly.

Specialty restaurants: the fusion Krystal is the best, with unlimited champagnes and wonderful gourmet food.
Do not go to their steak house, which offers Surf n Turf lobster and steak, but not as good as most U.S. grills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I returned from RIU Palace las Americas on December 8, 2012, it was the best resort experience we have ever had. We have always been very cautious of all-inclusives as they often skimp on quality food and beverage products. The round the clock food, exclusive dining, top shelf drinks were always available. The international food buffet was amazing!
Even better was the service of each of the staff at RIU. Andrid, David, and Jair were literrally at our beck and call, and very genuine about ensuring our needs were met.
This resort offered entertainment, outside vendors, sailing, and additional excursions at your finger tips each day. Our room was stocked each day with bottled water,beer, pop, and tequila.
Perhaps the only marginal dissapointment, were the dreadfully hard as rock beds -that really should be updated.
We will be returning to RIU nonetheless, even if we must bring our blow up mattress.

Room Tip: This resort location is absolutley perfect for the hotel Zone area, if you want to see the beautifua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls,MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited the Riu Palace the beginning of December for our anniversary. It has a beautiful lobby. Very traditional with lots of wood and art deco touches. I had requested room 545 because it was recommended on this site. They had no record of the request and said maybe we could have it the next day. So because we were there early we had to wait for a room. David at the front desk said he "would take care of us and not to worry". When my husband went back a couple hours later David didn't even remember our request. When we finally got a room it was 609. It was on the other side but was oceanfront and had a curved balcony which is what we wanted so I let it go. Rooms are good size with a sitting area. They did send champagne and glasses the next day. The resort is nicely laid out and the restaurants are pretty good with Krystal being the best and the Japanese the worst in our opinion. Drinks were pretty good in the lobby bar but they are lacking alot of better brands. Two of the staff that stood out was Adrian who was a wonderful and friendly waiter who made our anniversay dinner at Krystal very special. Also Abundio at the lobby bar who kept us fully supplied with drinks and always remembered us. The service was not up to the standards of The Royal in Cancun where we visited 2 years ago but still pretty good. One thing to note is that altho you can visit the other Rius you cannot go to their specialty restaurants in the evening. Not even by request. Also the beach is very rocky and extemely small in some areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am not sure where the other reviewer was staying?? We just got home last night. We had an awesome trip we were at the RIU for seven days. The food, staff, hotel, and rooms, were all excellent.. Yes the glasses around the pool were small but I don't think that really matters since you can go back and get as many as you want. The entertainment at night in the bar area was outstanding the staff really puts effort into the entertainment.. The beach was beautiful.. There are 3 bars around the pool including the one in the pool and the activities only last for about 1 hour or more.. But the staff is constantly taking drink orders. By the time you finish one drink they are at your side asking if you want another. We have traveled a lot and I found the RIU staff and hotel amazing and clean and the food was awesome.. We will definitely go back..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Also Known As:
Riu Palace Las Americas
Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Cancun
Riu Las Americas
Riu Palace
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???s resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???s private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. to Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. from a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.