We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Cancun to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Recently got back from staying at the Riu Cancun and enjoy this chain of hotels as there is always a high standard and expectation.
The beach was beautiful, golden sands and turquoise sea. Just think they need a few more parasols as it's very hot! People ended up using a second sun lounger to help with shade. There are always sun beds available and they are free to use which is good.
There are three pools, we only ever went in one of them, a nice quietish one which is tucked away on the right side of the hotel. We found the other pools too noisy and busy but if you like the party life style and noise then it's good for you.
The food choices were good as you could visit different restaurants to mix it up a bit. We also enjoyed going to the italian at lunch time, didn't have to book, as it was very chilled out and the staff were so friendly there.
The drinks were good and many lovely cocktails.
Location was great and could easily walk into town. Get trips yourself as booking with a holiday company is too expensive.
The hotel is suitable for families with older children, couples and adult groups. Not for little kids really as not enough space to run around.
Only negative was with our room. On the first day we got allocated a room on the 13th floor and we had no view at all, just a big wall. We realised it was because there is a ridge on the building at that point. We went to ask at reception if we could move but the receptionist was quite rude and said no as we didn't pay for a sea view. There was no option of a sea view when booking and all the rooms except the 13th floor had a good sea view so we ended up with the dodgy one! We then later told our rep and luckily she sorted it out for us and we were able to move rooms the next day, being able to look out the balcony and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,255
    1,853
    646
    343
    243
See reviews for
1,029
2,454
82
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have just got back from the Riu Cancun!!! What can I say about the hotel, well firstly it's another brilliant Riu, we have stayed in these before and you can not go wrong!!! The food, drinks and entertainment at this hotel are absolutely epic and I defy anyone not to enjoy it!!! The steakhouse in particular is a fabulous a la carte, just make sure you book early!!!

The hotel is brilliant with a rowdy pool, but we just went to the quiter one!!! Plenty a noisy Americans which is my only complaint as these get very drunk and we even witnessed one being sick in reception!!! This however is not the hotel's fault!!!

We moved room during our stay from the 13th floor to 7th floor because of a screaming baby next door!!! The reception staff could not have been any better, the view from the 7th was also a load better!!!

Things to do around, the Chichen Itza trip through Thimson was well worth doing, we also went to the market 28, the musuem in Cancun, the interactive aquarium and el rey ruins (a load of iguana here!). All are easily accessible on the buses which we can not reccomend highly enough!!!

All in all a fantastic honeymoon and holiday!!!

Try the Mango Gin special in the reception bar!!!

Room Tip: Do not go on the 13th floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fantastic hotel..staff are all friendly and helpful ,rooms large and comfortable down to the towels in the bathroom and the ones to take round the pool.Food is great and huge choice plenty of seating .The whole place is spotless and i would definitely say if you are thinking of booking it do it!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This place is amazing. The staff can't do enough for you, the food and drinks are on tap 24 hrs a day .. The rooms are spotless and the beach is stunning.. right in the middle of the hotel zone so all shops are close by . .would deffo recommend you visit

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ok the place is huge with good size bedroms and bed.
First room they offered us was smelling horrible (mold). After requesting another room, we had to wait until the next day and stayed for 4 hours with our lugagge in the lobby until we had the keys for the new one.
This new room was located in the main bulding and way better than the previous. Great view! But unfortunatelly after 1 day there we noticed some small cockroaches in the bathroom. Disgusting!
Quantity of food was amaizing, but can not say the same thing about the quality. Also, i did not like the waiters service as we always had to wait long times to get our drinks.
We chose this hotel because it was near the night atractions, but you can choose better hotels that are a little further because transportation along the boulevard is super easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We arrived on Day 1 grand reopening (unkown to us). Here are the POSITIVES: Clean. Gorgeous. Quick check in. Excellent entertainment crew. If it weren't for them, this hotel would be one giant beautiful nursing home. Great drinks. Great assortment of food on buffets. 3 pools with PLENTY of seating. Covered shaded pool chairs. Awesome location- can walk to clubs & shopping.

Here are the negatives:
NO WI-FI on day 1- because they didn't have it up & running yet.
Some restaurants were not open yet on Day 1.
On day 1, We couldnt reserve our dining choices for the week because their new system wouldn't advance any further than the current day. Since we had an excursion the following morning, by the time we got to reserve our dining choices..no spots were left.
Upon entering our sub-zero degree jr. suite, we promptly turned the air off. This caused entire room to turn into a swimming pool. Condensation was DRIPPING off of everything. Took staff 7+ hours to come mop.
We went to enjoy the pool that evening- only to be told that the pool CLOSED @ 6:30. WHAT?? that blew me away. 10pm, 11pm I understand that the pool needs to be cleaned at some point...but 6:30?
No remote control in room - took an act of God to get one to us.
Called for room service so hubby and I could enjoy breakfast in bed for our wedding anniversary. Front desk said they would have to send a menu up to us. 10 minutes later, we received a call stating that they didn't have room service up & running yet!
That same morning, the toilet stopped working. Can you say "straw that broke the camel's back?"
We spoke with the 2 hotel general managers who promptly did NOTHING.
We spoke with the front desk manger who kindly upgraded our room and promised us a bottle champagne.
Our new room was absolutely gorgeous- in perfect working order.
We never saw that champagne.

Halfway during our stay, one of the walk-in restaurants magically switched to RESERVATION ONLY - existing guests were never informed of this change -which meant that we wouldnt be eating there anymore because all slots were taken.

Lunch did not start until noon..so between 10:30-1200, we were limited to a very small breakfast assortment only.
If they started lunch at 11 or 11:30, it would suit their guests a little better.

A few days into our stay, the guest room hallways swarmed with workers..painting, scraping, and sealing the tiles. The odors were OVERWHELMING.

Overall, their grand opening guests were treated as GUINEA PIGS. We were there to show them what still needed to be fixed. They simply WERE NOT READY TO OPEN THEIR DOORS but they did so anyway to the detriment of their guests.
Beautiful hotel though! Once they get their affairs in orders, I'm hoping they'll get higher star ratings.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is located at the center of it all at the hotel zone in Cancun. Only a few minutes walk from shopping, nice restaurant and a vibrant night life. The hotel itself is well kept with only a few flaws worth mentioning.

The first thing I noticed was the lack of a phone in our room. This was very strange. I have travelled extensively and even the cheapest motels have phones in their rooms. I complaint about it and it took them 2 days to bring a phone to our room. They didn't even care to sit it on top of the night stand, instead they sat it on top of a chair. There was no alarm clock either, but I decided to pick my battles.

The spa leaves much to be desired. It was located in an odd corner of the hotel and you must climb about 50 steps to get to it, not very relaxing, is it!?If you wish to eat at any of the a la carte restaurants (Italian, Japanese, Steakhouse), you have to reserve at least 2 days in advance. They are very strict about that, so if you are only there for a weekend, you might be stuck with the buffet style option only. The Steakhouse restaurant is located outside which made it kind of uncomfortable to enjoy the dinner with the humidity and high temperature. The steak was very dry....in my opinion, not worth my time.

Free WIFI? NOT!!! The hotel advertises "free" in the hotel lobby, but what it does not mention is that you are limited to 90 minutes per day per devise. BUT BE AWARE....if you go to the lobby with your smart phone and log on to the WiFi to lets say check-in to Facebook and post a few pictures you just snapped and this process takes you 5 minutes and you log off, GUESS WHAT? According to the hotel, you have used your 90 minute allowance for the day. It's a scam! Their WiFi packages are very expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. The smaller building on the left is where the club and entertainment theat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#40 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.